the aviator and the cranky bitch.
written: 9:27 p.m. on Monday, Jan. 24, 2005

Words cannot properly describe how...

My head's hurting terribly right now and it's worth it because...

Oh, fuck it.

I LOVE THE AVIATOR TO BITS AND PIECES. IT WAS POSSIBLY THE BEST FILM I'VE SEEN IN, OH, SIX MONTHS?

Seriously now, you have no idea how moved I was by the film. It was so inspirational, so well-made, so brilliant; an obvious tribute to Howard Hughes, to his success as well as his idiosyncrasies. At first, when the film ended, I was like, "Right, I didn't get that." But a few seconds later, it became so obvious.

(Spoilers)

It ended with Hughes having another one of his attacks. Cue: the flashback, Hughes as a child, his mother washing him. Hughes as a child, telling his mother his ambition: I want to make big movies and build the fastest aeroplanes in the world and become a rich man. Hughes as an adult, having already fulfilled those dreams, in a moment of sickness, repeating like a mantra, "The way of the future."

Oh god. It was so genius. It's so obviously a tribute to Howard Hughes as a visionary who paved the way for modern aviation as well as Hollywood's usual business of spending millions of dollars on a shitty movie. The amazing juxtaposition of Hughes's childhood ambitions and the words, "the way of the future", show, first of all, the fact that big-budget movies and fast aeroplanes are the way of the future; and by doing so, it efficaciously conveys the impact Hughes had on the aviation world, as well as the movie industry.

What's wholly intriguing is that Martin Scorsese and/or Leonardo DiCaprio chose to end it that way: his contributions to the world, with his obsessive-compulsiveness (obsessive-compulsion? noun form?) looming in the background, as if to say that he was still a tremendous visionary, despite his mental disorder.

I don't know, that's how I choose to see it. It was so intriguing; I couldn't stop thinking about it. What an amazing labour of love on Leonardo DiCaprio's part. He's been one of my favourite actors for quite a while, but The Aviator and his performance was just...amazing, brilliant, incredible - mere run-of-the-mill words that don't do justice to the work that he's done in the film.

What I found so inspirational and moving about the film was how Howard Hughes never admitted defeat, not even when he was backed into a dark corner, raped senseless, and left on the streets to die. He refused to sell TWA to Pan Am, and he hit back at them with all that he had, despite his bankruptcy and his illness taking a turn for the worse. He just kept going, no matter what, with that amazing ball of confidence and charisma, and he never stopped believing in himself and his abilities.

Suffice to say, I was completely bowled over by the film. Still am, actually. Absolutely tremendous, and Leonardo DiCaprio is amazing, and that's only putting it mildly.

It would be nice to be like that: a fighter who never stops, even when he has nothing left but himself and his convictions.

Maybe that's enough. Who knows.

**

Yesterday. Work ended with zero sales. I'm like...fuck, I'm not gonna do this anymore. Just fire me. I even had a dog, but, yeah. The monstrous weather didn't help matters though, and they took the dog back in after a while because it was too hot. I almost died out there, and the zero sales is just...don't even get me started.

I was going to add an entry on Saturday but my connection fucked up on me. Forget it; adding it now isn't the same. But it was just this huge rant on stupid things that don't matter, so, yeah.

My head still hurts. It's been hurting ever since I got out of the cinema. That should be a sufficient explanation for this entry's generally-shitty writing.

Anyway, yesterday was a bad day for me, my bad mood spilling over from Saturday night. I was extremely annoyed on Saturday because somebody was supposed to call me but that person never called and it just pissed me off. And Sunday? Work sucked like hell, the weather almost killed me, and did I ever mention the zero sales? Yeah. Pretty self-explanatory.

And I still haven't received the call. Not even an SMS. I mean, all I want is to ask you if I could put you down as a character referee on my MAS scholarship application form. That is all. I just really don't get what goes on in your head sometimes.

Actually, make that all the time. He confuses me. Imagine how bad it'd be if I had to see him every day. He still affects me, like I'm still a schoolgirl, and I've had enough. This has got to stop. Come February 3 (I think), it'd be truly a year.

God, talk about the ultimate form of insanity. I don't know. I'm not thinking straight and I'm watching Desperate Housewives at 10 so I think I'm stopping here.

I need new skirts. I keep wearing back the same ones, but that's because I only have a handful of them anyway. Blah. My grandma gave me $500 for university and my mom deposited the cash into my bank account, to which I have ATM card access.

Great. I think I'd clear out my bank account in about two weeks, no shit. I can spend $500 in an hour.

I need to be placed under permanent house arrest; my freedom is hurting my bank account and my parents' pockets too much.

Oh, shit, I so feel like a RotiBoy right now. Parkway sells them and I was there on like Thursday. My mom bought five of the bread, fresh from the oven.

IT WAS THE MOST HEAVENLY FOOD EVER. Such amazing amazing amazing stuff! The bread practically melted in my mouth, and the coffee was sublime. No wonder people queue for hours for it at Chinatown! Luckily for me, it was around 11 a.m. when we were there so there wasn't a queue.

I should stop talking about it; it's making me very hungry. Sigh.

I wanna marry Leonardo DiCaprio.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010