yelen's job-hunting non-adventures.
written: 5:40 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 28, 2005

What I really really really want right now: Three pieces of clothing from Mango's new collection, namely the light peach skirt, the long-sleeved green shirt with a weird-looking pinkish flower on the top left corner of the shirt, and a sleeveless green top with a motif of a zebra printed on it.

I am so obsessed with shopping and clothes that I could just kill myself for it. What a far cry from the person I used to be, who wore jeans all the time and hardly owned a single skirt, let alone wore any, apart from her school uniform. But even that didn't count: it was a pinafore.

But hey, I really couldn't care less. What would be the point, right?

**

I was supposed to go for a job interview today, but I didn't. I went to the place and all - my first time taking the North East Line, and I think it would be the last. I hated transferring trains at Dhoby Ghaut - what a severe pain in the ass. It totally reminded me of Taipei Main Station (in, obviously, Taipei), which is not a good thing, considering how much I hated the transferring-of-trains process of the Taipei Metro while I was there. I still prefer the fuss-free City Hall/Raffles Place interchange - all you gotta do is to walk across the platform to board another train.

But anyway, as I was saying, I took the NEL to Chinatown, attempted to locate Far East Square, but found myself walking towards Clarke Quay station. Right. Checked the locality map there, and realised that I was walking in the opposite direction, a realisation that bloody pissed me off since the weather completely sucked today and I was already beginning to sweat by then (and I hate sweating). Luckily, my keen animal senses finally located Upper Cross Street and I was able to reach Far East Square in one piece.

Upon arrival at FES, however, another calamity struck: I COULDN'T FIND THE FUCKING CAFE. So I took another ten thousand years to find the place, and when I finally did, I left Far East Square almost immediately, without even letting them interview me.

Why?

First of all, THERE WAS NO AIR-CON. How the hell can I survive as a waitress without air-con, especially since I'd have to walk from Chinatown MRT Station to Far East Square in the blistering heat in order to go to work? Talk about immediate suicide!

Second of all, I thought it was a cafe, as in a coffee-cafe, a la Starbucks and Coffee Bean but without the hip factor. But...IT WAS NOT. It served some Japanese curry thing and I was like, "What the hell?!" And then I thought about how I'd have to take long and boring and arduous MRT rides every day just to get there, how much it'd cost, how I'd have to put up with the stupid North East Line, how I'd just die working without air-con...and that was it. I split; no looking back.

Sigh. There goes another potential job opportunity. But the pay was extremely measley at $5 an hour anyway.

Yes, I know I am extremely picky, but I won't settle for just anything. I only have two basic requirements, actually, and I think they're very basic and simple: 1. Air-conditioning is a must; I am (unfortunately) living in Singapore, where it's hot and humid and horribly annoying all year around; and 2. The place I am working at must be presentable, but the definition of 'presentable' is, of course, arbitrary, and entirely up to my whimsical self. But to put it quite simply, 'presentable' means Orchard Road, City Hall, a nice shopping mall that is not all the way in Tampines/Hougang/Ang Mo Kio/ten Earths away from where I live. Yes, it takes me ten million years to get to Orchard Road and about a thousand bloody bucks wasted on MRT fare, but it's Orchard Road, and not Ang Mo Kio. Duh.

But guess what? I was at Zara, and I saw someone from JJC. Nazirah (I think I spelled it wrong) works at Zara. Oh my god. And she gets paid $1000 a month. OH MY GOD. The job probably comes with staff discount and things along those lines. OH MY GOD! She gave me an application form and I filled it up, but I don't think they're gonna call since I'm inherently pessimistic, and also severely lacking in job experiences. Oh well.

But wait, all's not lost! I flipped through the papers today, as usual, and came across an ad looking for sales people to work in a departmental store at Orchard. I called the number, arranged for an interview date (tomorrow, 4.30 p.m.), and it's at Takashimaya.

I LOVE ORCHARD. But here's the twist: me being me, after I hung up, I immediately thought about the probability of me being seen in a butt-ugly uniform, and my excitement also immediately died down. And although working full-time pays a lot more, I'm too damn lazy to devote my holidays to work. And if I have to sign a contract, that'll suck even more, since I'm planning to leave after a month anyway.

Oh well, I'll go down tomorrow and see how it goes. Hopefully it's not a scam; I'm so sick of being scammed by idiots who can't even speak proper English.

And this is strange, but I suddenly really feel like doing waitressing.

Yeah. I don't know what's wrong with me either.

**

I was supposed to shop at Tangs with my mom today, since she has Tangs vouchers worth $110 in total. I was even at Orchard and everything, waiting for her to show up after getting her architecture stuff done at some building along Scotts Road.

But poor me, I never got to shop. My mom called me whilst I was walking towards Zara and announced that my uncle has invited us to lunch to celebrate my aunt's birthday, which is today.

Oh well. On the bright side, lunch was good. I love Chinese food. Who the hell can ever get sick of that steamed prawn dumpling thing? (I'd write down the Cantonese name, but I don't know how to spell it and so I wouldn't even try.) And an interesting piece of news was announced but since nothing is really quite confirmed yet, I shan't divulge it now. It involves my aunt and...yep, that's about it.

Right. Today's entry is frightfully boring. But for once, I'm not in a self-effacing, "I am going to fail my A Levels and become the laughing stock of Jurong Junior College" mood, and I'm certainly not thinking about the A Levels. What's the damn point anyway?

Then again, I'm not going to chase that thread of thought - it'd simply see me meandering around my conviction that There Is No Point To Life and that We Should All Die Now but I'm in no mood for it today.

I can't wait for Chinese New Year. I love getting money, especially getting it free. Ha, ha, ha.

Yes, I know there's no such thing as free [insert name of commodity], let alone 'free money', but whatever, okay?

**

Oh, and one last thing: Jielun's Incomparable Live CD 2004 shot right to the top of the RIAS Regional Charts. Number One after the first week of its release.

Honestly? I'm fucking proud of him and I don't care how fangirl-ish and teenybopper-ish it sounds. So there.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010