the end of yelen's frictional unemployment!
written: 10:16 p.m. on Saturday, Jan. 29, 2005

Oh my god. My brother stole my Nirvana CDs from me. He's listening to Nirvana. Oh my god.

Well, Nirvana's exponentially better than Eminem...but still! He's listening to Nirvana!

Okay, so he's a year late, considering I started listening to them when I was 13-going-on-14 and he's now 14-going-on-15, but he's still listening to Nirvana.

It's a bit weird, but I don't really know why, and so, I can't articulately explain it or even try so I think I just won't bother.

In other news, I got a job. Wahoo.

The catch: THE PAY FUCKING SUCKS. $5/hour, excluding commission, but since I can't sell things for shit, I won't be earning commission anyway. I could work on Saturdays and get more money but I'm still too lazy for that. Initially, the woman wanted me to do a six-day week but I asked for a five-day one because - like I said - I'm too freaking lazy.

The upside: I'd be working at Takashimaya, on the level at which the expensive crystal-ish thingies are sold. I think I'd be attempting to sell decorative teapots and things along those lines - teapots with Monet and Van Gogh and Picasso (well, maybe not; I don't think people would particularly enjoy looking at Cubism while drinking tea) painted on them. In addition, I'm working from 10 to 3.30 p.m. on Monday...which means I get to shop after that. Wahoo!

The downside: The teapots thingies sound bloody expensive, and they're also imported from Europe, which means that they'd be, once again, freaking tedious to sell. Then again, I guess I could always fall back on my looks when all else fails. Bwahahaha.

The upside: I don't have to sign a [insert number]-month contract, which means I can quit anytime I wanna. And like I said before, I intend to quit within a month's time; I still really feel like doing waitressing. Yep.

The downside: I HAVE NOTHING TO WEAR. And this time, I mean it. The woman told me that I have to wear a white top and black pants/long skirt on Monday. I don't have black pants. I don't intend to own black pants. And the only black skirt I have is a mini skirt. And she said that I couldn't wear it. What a pain in the ass. What's wrong with jeans? Stupid Takashimaya. And I have to give $10 for some Takashimaya pass. Screw it!

Thinking about the attire makes me feel like not working anymore. Definitely bringing change of clothing; duh. I think the black/white combo is so unoriginal and boring. People should never wear black/white out on the streets, but then again, people are usually dumb so who's surprised?

What a pain, seriously. I don't wanna waste my hard-earned money on clothes that I don't remotely want, and I'm certainly not wearing my mom's black skirt. For one, it's too long; for another, it's too big. I'd look like I'm drowning in it if I wore it.

Damn. Why can't I wear my mini? It's so nice. And the white top too. Ugh, who wears white anyway?

Oh my god, I totally forgot that I wanted to watch Finding Forrester tonight. It's a Gus Van Sant, although it's not a good Gus Van Sant. But hey, there're basketball scenes, and it's still a Gus Van Sant, so what the hell.

And my new boss just told me that I'd be working from 10-1.30.

WHICH MEANS I GET EVEN LESS PAY.

ARGH!!!

Maybe I could get another job.

Or maybe not. We'll see.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010