help yelen. now.
written: 12:23 p.m. on Wednesday, Feb. 02, 2005

The only thing that's keeping me from quitting the current job is the oh-so-comforting thought that it's ending next Tuesday. Words cannot describe how mind-numbingly boring and legs-numbingly tiring this damn job is, and I'm not kidding when I say that I can feel my brain cells dying one by one each day. In fact, I think my IQ has dropped about ten million points already.

And half the time, I had absolutely no idea what I was doing. Like yesterday. Some guy was trying on a shirt. I was loitering around, purportedly giving assistance (in fact, I was trying to look busy so that the manager dude could stop breathing down my neck all the time), and then he asked me to get him a bigger size for the shirt. So I was like, "Okay, sure, be right back!" I strode towards the men's section, took one look at all the shirts on display, and instantly forgot which one he wanted.

Seriously? Men's clothes all look alike; the only thing that enables me to tell them apart is their colour. And it just so happened that the dude wanted a white-based shirt, and there were so many of those that I really forgot which one he wanted. In the end, this other salesperson working there got the shirt for him.

And let's not even get me started on how fucking crammed and dark and messy the storeroom is. It's been two days, and not once have I found a particular piece of clothing that a particular customer is looking for. How annoying!

I would write more but I woke up at 11.30 this morning, which means that I slept too much, which means that I'm having a mild headache now and the words aren't coming. Somebody ought to pay me a surprise visit; it gets so boring when you have nothing to do.

And they have this notice pasted on the wall above the cash register about VIP cards and shit like that, and it's so grammatically-unsound that I get this almost-irrepressible urge to correct all the gramamtical errors whenever I glance at it. Example: "To all the VIP card holder."

Help me. I told the manager dude about it last night and he was like, "I know there are many grammar errors but the office doesn't really care." But it was the way he kept saying "I know there are many grammar errors" that led me to suspect that the truth is actually the exact opposite. Maybe he just doesn't like being showed up by an 18-year-old kid. Bwahahaha.

Having said that, he's okay. Passed a few patronising remarks when this other girl was talking to me yesterday, and kept asking me to follow customers around the shop (which is fucking stupid because nobody does that, and the people who do that instantly see their customers walking rapidly out of their store) and things like that, but he's still all right. Kinda weird but hey, who isn't weird nowadays?

Right, time for lunch. I'm so bloody hungry. And I'm sick of eating Burger King for dinner; I don't even like it. Will be walking around more today to look for food. I ought to be taking longer breaks, really. I swear, my dinner breaks never amounted to more than twenty minutes - how preposterous. And yesterday, despite waiting for Bus 171 for about twenty minutes and boarding it at 1.55 p.m., I reached Far East Plaza at 2.25 p.m.; I was five minutes early. Instead of starting work early, however, I deliberately walked around 7-11 and Future State to waste time.

Only idiots will go early, okay? I was late on my first day; was buying my Mango tops and the stupid sales people took ten years to get me the sizes that I wanted. Mango sales people suck, and so do Zara's. Esprit - depends on where you go. The Raffles City one has pretty nice sales people and um, yeah, Suntec's Top Shop has nice sales people too and I don't know why I'm talking about this.

I'm hungry. Going to eat.

I CAN'T WAIT FOR NEXT TUESDAY.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010