uh-huh.
written: 6:22 p.m. on Monday, Feb. 28, 2005

Oh my god I cannot believe that The Aviator did not get Best Picture and Martin Scorsese was snubbed for the 2358385748674869th time! Clint Eastwood and Million Dollar Baby got it!

I don't doubt Clint Eastwood's genius as a director and shit, but I LOVE THE AVIATOR AND NO I DO NOT CARE TO BE OBJECTIVE. Ugh! My only consolation is that the Oscars has lost credibility years ago anyway, especially when they award Chicago eight Oscars, one of them being Best sodding Picture.

UGH, I say. I'm not even that irritated by the fact that the wonderfully talented Leonardo DiCaprio didn't get Best Actor, since 1) I already knew that Jamie Foxx would get it and 2) although I haven't seen Ray and don't intend to watch it, from the few shots I've seen, he was really damn freaking good. But I don't think Million Dollar Baby was as good as The Aviator!

THE AVIATOR! What a great cinematic experience it was, really!

And fuck, the Oscars bored me to near tears, I swear. What was with Beyonce singing three songs? Kirsten Dunst and Orlando Bloom were also crap presenters. And what was Gywneth (sp) Paltrow, She Who Cannot Act, doing onstage? And the most unforgivable thing? They kept awarding The Aviator a string of technical/small (so-called) awards but when it came to Best Picture, Barbra Streisand was like, "I'm so glad to be giving you this award, Clint!"

I was like, NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I bet Scorsese is real damn pissed. Hell, I would be too if I were him. How many freaking Oscars does Clint Eastwood already have?! Like ten thousand? And how many does Martin Scorsese, a.k.a. one of the best directors ever, have? Like ZERO! Hello? See the huge discrepancy yet?!

Blah blah blah, really. What a joke.

On the upside, I got to see...well, no one I fanatically care about, save for I guess Leonardo DiCaprio (give him a fucking Oscar already for being amazingly talented and misunderstood!), Johnny Depp and Kate Winslet (who should've won Best freaking Actress!). Uh, yes.

I didn't watch the pre-show thingy; my sleep was more important than that.

So anyway, enough about the stupid and retarded Oscars. I went for some job interview thing today, despite my StarHub job.

Okay, I guess I should've written about this before, but nevertheless, I was at Orchard Road one day, attempting to look for something to buy at TopShop, when some woman approached me and asked, "Hi, may I know how old you are?" or something to that effect.

Yada yada, and it was revealed that she's some talent agent thing and she wanted me to join her company. So she took down my phone number and told me that she'd give me a call.

I wasn't expecting anything, of course, given my inherently and eternally pessimistic nature. But on Saturday, while I was on the MRT headed for City Hall, I received a call from them, telling me to go to their office on Monday (today) and they'd tell me more about what they do. So I went down today with my mom in tow (as she was afraid that I'd get rape - yeah, I know!) and it turned out that they're some modelling agency thing, if you could call it that. But the best part is this: they'd give you some grooming/training/whatever session thing that runs for six weeks, and guess what? It's free.

But since I am me, something has to go wrong, and in this case, it's the StarHub job. The training thingy is on Sundays and I have to work on Sundays so blah.

Oh well, too bad. I don't have aspirations of being a model or anything; I think I'm too damn smart for that, if truth be told. Still, it's the novelty that's making me feel like I've just passed up something potentially interesting and cool. I mean, I wouldn't mind having my face on a Sony ad or on a bus, you know? Besides, I've always wanted to be famous more than I wanted to be rich; as in, given a choice between fame or fortune, I'd choose fame, thank you very much.

But like I said, oh well, too bad.

Needless to say though, I spent most of yesterday fantasising about What Could Possibly Happen if I went far enough with this thing. Like, oh my god, I'm cast in a Panasonic advertisement with Jielun and I'd steal him from Patty Hou, mwahahaha!

Yeah. Right. I know, how pathetic, but hell, a girl can dream!

I'm tempted to rant about how pissed I was when I read today's Life! and saw this week's (shit) Annoying Index which had Jielun at number one but...okay, I will, just for a bit.

He's not denying that he ever dated Jolin Tsai to protect Patty Hou; he's only reinforcing what he's been saying ever since 2002. Fuck off and die, whoever thinks otherwise. Damn, I wish I could write in or something and tell Hong Xinyi off for writing shit, but then again, what would be the point? I think I'll just sit back and silently support my darling Jielun. And I shouldn't have bought this week's I-Weekly; it only pissed me off further, and I spent two bucks to be pissed off when I can be pissed off without paying by reading Life!. Right. Stupid girl you are, Yelen.

But hell, they didn't have to put him on the cover!

You know, to be perfectly honest, I hate journalism. I don't know why I mailed in my application for the SPH scholarship either, but hell, I'd never, ever go into journalism. I'd rather become a teacher, for crying out loud. There's just something seriously wrong with profitting from someone else's misery, even if that person is a celebrity. Now I even feel sorry for Britney Spears!

Journalism is supposed to be objective, but most of the time, you have stupid, half-baked "journalists" writing stupid and nonsensical "articles" about the love lives of celebrities and injecting their own worthless conjectures, hence planting unsubstantial implications into the reader's mind. Instead of re-telling what somebody has said, stupid journalists would re-tell what somebody has said, and add after the close inverted comma his own take on what that somebody could possibly mean.

Like, no one is paying you to do that, you scumbag. Fuck off and die, really. I'd just be damn glad when Initial D hits #1 at the box office and the soundtrack hits #1 on the charts and Jielun's sixth album hits #1 and remains there for like half a year, as a huge 'fuck you' to the retarded media circus that's been trying to pull him down. Yeah, like anyone can ever do that. I take back what I said previously about this thing hurting his career; I don't freaking think so, because he's Jay Chou and he's Jay Chou for a reason. Nobody screws with him and his fans and gets away with it. You'll see.

Well, a short rant mutated into that, for which I must sincerely apologise...right. Whatever. I'm hungry.

Today's the release of the O Level results, which means that I'm going to the guillotine next Monday. I can't even joke about this properly anymore; I'm just...terrified, petrified, scared stiff. Silly, I know, since there's nothing I can do about it anymore, but I just have a bad feeling that something will go wrong.

After all, I am still me, and whatever I want will always turn to shit. You'll see. I don't think I'd even show up for the first day of work (which is next Tuesday).

Blah. Screw this. My laptop's heating up and it's burning my hand. I need a PC.

Class gathering of six people at my house on Sunday. Shitty turn out, but it was nice all the same. Baoyue positively went nuts over my mom's sushi; how interesting. I can't imagine ever organising an event like this though (Baoyue was behind this). I doubt I'd even be half arsed in the first place.

Shit. I need a miracle. Blah, indeed.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010