first day at work - kill me now.
written: 9:51 p.m. on Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005

Work today was excruciatingly boring. I didn't do the thing that I was taught on Tuesday 'cause they ran out of forms; instead, I spent 8.5 hours typing people's addresses, birthdays, phone numbers, names, identification numbers, so on and so forth.

It was such a no-brainer job that I'm secretly laughing heartily to myself for being paid $7 an hour to let my fingers do all the work while my mind wanders off to so many other places and starts pondering about things like, I don't know, uni and stuff - in this respect, it's great, because if I were the boss, I'd probably pay workers like $4 an hour or something for a job so easy.

On the downside, it was precisely because it's so duh and easy that I got really tired and bored of it after like an hour, so much so that I genuinely felt like quitting early and hence breaching the contract, which means that I'd have to pay StarHub back the money they paid me for training or whatever. It's excruciatingly boring and mind-numbing to be doing the same thing for the whole bleeding day, and it doesn't help that the task is not fun in any way, shape or form.

Hopefully I'd get to do something different tomorrow. Even better, hopefully I'd get to do roadshows soon - unless they're in Orchard Road or whatever, without air-con. I think I'd rather type numbers and addresses in an air-conditioned office than to do roadshows in the sweltering heat.

Anyway, I think I processed the most number of forms today out of all the people in my team. Haha! Everyone was given a stack of forms (for StarHub's prepaid card or whatever it's called; I don't know the details and I'm not interested anyway) to process and I was the first to finish everything. The in-charge told me to take from the other temps, and so I did; I finished my share before we broke for lunch while the others were still struggling to complete half the stack. Haha! In addition, I came back early from lunch (they - which includes the in-charge - took a little over two hours when lunch is only one hour) and had nothing to do so I took some forms from a couple of girls and I was almost done with all of the forms when they finally came back from lunch and yeah.

Ha, I'm so brilliant, aren't I? Now I know what I can do if uni doesn't work out (touch wood) - I'd be the best typist/clerk/admin person shit whatever there ever was! (And the most over-qualified, but whatever.) At the end of the day I had the thickest pile of processed forms. Bwahahaha.

Of course, I might've unknowingly made some mistakes somewhere someplace somehow but to heck with it, it's not like it's so important or anything, unlike the upgrading of cable TV to digital TV thingy that I learned on Tuesday. That one's more fun because it's more complicated. And the upstairs office doesn't have barcode scanners so I had to painstakingly type out mobile phone numbers after mobile phone numbers when I could've simply used the scanner to...well, to scan the barcode if I was working downstairs instead.

Also, my morning really sucked, in the sense that I only fell asleep after 4.20 a.m. (I checked my watch) and I had to wake up at like...6.45 a.m. Fuck, right? Yeah, I think so too. On my way home, I fell into deep slumber on the bus - I can't remember the last time I slept so well on public transport. Taking the MRT in the morning sucks too; the train was so crowded that I was ready to yell bloody murder if anyone brushed their hand/shoulder/random body part against me.

Actually, somebody did, but that man was simply gorgeous so I just let it slide. Ha.

So yeah, that's about it.

Watched "Chase" just now. It's based on that award-winning script or whatever and I watched the adaptation on Blueprints (I think) before. I thought it sucked. But now? Utt is the lead actor! Ahh! I love Utt; I think he's adorable and sooo cute. I was also wondering who in the world Linda Liao was and why she looked so familiar until I found out that she's an MTV Mandarin VJ. She hosts MTV Fresh and I've watched a few episodes and I thought that she was really cool. I didn't know she went to school in Canada though. My dad kept complaining that she's ugly and that her voice sounds horrible and that she's an insult to Taiwan throughout the show - how annoying! My dad's crazy, really. He positively re-enacted Gabriel's rejection scene after he watched it. Crazy, I tell you. It's funny though.

Anyway, the show looks much better than the Blueprints shit so far, although I really think that the hole in the wall bullcrap is...well, is bullcrap. It's pretentious shit, man. What the hell are you trying to prove? And it's not like it's done in a sophisticated, nuanced manner or anything, which causes it to be utterly annoying.

But the hamsters were adorable though. Sigh. I love hamsters.

American Idol results later on.

I like Amanda Avila (I think that's how you spell her last name). I think she's gorgeous! Sadly though, she hasn't performed as well as I thought she would after the auditions and I don't think she'd make it very far. Oh well. I like Nadia Turner too. And Bo Bice; he's freaking awesome - love that voice. Anwar Robinson's amazing as well.

I, however, absolutely cannot stand Constantine and Anthony Federov. YUCK! Constantine's mug pisses me off and he's nowhere as good as Bo Bice, and what the fuck is up with his grotesque double chin? Anthony has got to be the most boring sod to appear on American Idol since...Amy whatsherface from last season. You know, the girl with the stupid pink/red/blue/yadayada hair? Yeah. When he was doing his routine yesterday I just pissed my pants laughing, I swear. He can't dance for nuts, hello? Travis Turner is fucking sexy though, but too bad his vocals aren't as good as his moves. He's a bit Usher-like, except that Usher sings a lot better.

Usher is HOT.

I need to eat my prunes so this shall be it.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010