yelen's spendthrift day!
written: 8:32 p.m. on Tuesday, Mar. 29, 2005

To Billy who signed my guestbook: Yeah, I get it, but my confusion is over why there aren't any prerequisites to do an Economics major in FASS, but to do the double honours, you need an A in Math. I mean, what's with the double standards? Oh well, I think I'm gonna call the prof and embarrass the hell out of myself tomorrow so...thanks anyway, dude.

Right, so I went shopping today and I spent about $220 on four pieces of clothing and a handbag. I hate myself.

Well, I don't, actually; I'm pretty pleased with my purchases, save for this yellow long-sleeved top I got from Mango which I'm thinking of exchanging. When I came home and put it on again, it suddenly plunged about ten thousand inches lower in the chest area than what I'd initially saw reflected in the mirror in the changing room. I really hate that tag thingy they fasten onto the back of shirts; you can't really gauge how low-cut a top is because the stupid tag thingy pulls the shirt back. It's shitty. I mean, I kinda suspected that the yellow top was gonna be rather low cut but it's really nice and I couldn't resist; hence. All thanks to my lack of willpower and sense, now I have to go back to Wisma and bloody ask for an exchange. Crap.

I also deliberated over whether to get the handbag or not for quite a while, but in the end I bought it anyway since I severely lack in the willpower and sense departments. Hell, it's freaking sixty bucks. Who pays sixty bucks for a puny bag? I pointed it out to my mom on Monday when we were there and she was like, It's too small, what can you put in it?

Which is true; I can't fit a book in the bag at all. But does that matter? Noooo. All that mattered was that I was freaking in love with it and I bloody wanted it, nothing less.

It's a good thing that StarHub pays better than most jobs you can find out there; otherwise, my parents would totally kill me, as would my conscience (I think).

I bought a size 40 denim skirt from Mango. It's too big but I loved the way it hung loosely around my hips and didn't make me look fat. Bwahahaha.

This entry sucks but I have an excuse: I drank three cups of milk tea today and I'm feeling heady and hit-by-a-bus like and I'm also having my period which just exacerbates everything so there.

I watched Swing Girls today. I prefer Waterboys (well, duh) and I knew that Swing Girls was going to end exactly like how Waterboys did but I enjoyed it anyway. It was fun and entertaining and the fish guy from Waterboys was in Swing Girls too! I think that actor is hilarious, although I never quite caught his name. It is impossible for a bunch of girls with no musical background to become jazz sensations overnight, but that's not the point, really; the point was just...entertainment. And you know what? It was great entertainment. Money well-spent.

So yesterday work was extremely dull and time seemed to slowly crawl by, even more so than usual. I think it had something to do with the fact that I was working the PM shift on a Monday...whatever it is, it felt really bad. MX and I don't laugh anymore when we walked past the Jielun Lookalike, but she was cracking lame jokes yesterday about my Jielun jersery, which I wore to work. She was like, "Hey, you should let the Jielun Lookalike see your shirt; he'd be damn touched that you're so supportive of him."

Like...whatever... But it was funny though, for whatever that's worth. Also, I noticed that over the last couple of days, the Jielun Lookalike hasn't been wearing flowery shirts, but has donned polo T-shirts instead. Maybe he overheard us that day and got embarrassed, ha ha ha. Right. But you know what, he's so senior and permanent that he has his own table with his name on it. It's like...I don't get it. How can anyone stay with a data-entry job for such a long time? I've done barely a month of it and already I think I'm halfway burnt out.

But then again, I found out, to my absolute shock, that there's this other temporary staff like myself who does like eighty freaking upgrade forms a day. EIGHTY, FOR FUCK'S SAKE! I absolutely cannot stand the fact that someone does double of what I do everyday; it's just unsettling. I so have to up my productivity and cut down on my errors that occur from my zoning out in the middle of an upgrade. I mean, just yesterday alone I made two major errors: I provisioned a contract form, which I was not supposed to do (I didn't notice that there was a 'c' written on top of the form until I'd finished the work order) and I didn't notice that some ass customer wanted to upgrade his cable TV to a value pack on the next billing cycle and not the date on which he swapped his analogue box for a digital one until I'd completed the whole freaking work order. Like, shit! I told my in-charge and she gave me a weary look and was like, "Okay, I'll see what I can do."

ARGH! How can this be happening to me?! But god, the stupid Falcon system is so damn slow that I get mighty pissed off from all the waiting. Hell, yesterday I had seven pending forms, for crying out loud! I closed a work order at like 4.45, but at 9-something, it still wasn't complete which meant that I couldn't do the stupid swapping of equipment and all.

Okay, I don't know how to explain the things that I have to do, so...yeah. The bottom line is, I HATE HOW SLOW THE STUPID SYSTEM IS and the fact that I NEED TO TYPE MY USERID AND PASSWORD LIKE TEN MILLION TIMES BEFORE IT LOGS ME IN. The only thing about the job that's keeping me sane is the company, as in my group members and all. We're like damn noisy. I mean, yesterday Chicken was listening to some stupid song in the Sec. 5 kid's iPod and laughing so damn loudly, as if we were the only ones left in the office (we weren't). It's crazy.

I should change my layout and reply to emails but I'm too lazy to. Oh, and halfway through my shopping today I was attacked by monstrous menstrual cramps. I love my life, really.

Just kidding. I'm not bitter at all right now.

I can't wait for work on Thursday!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010