haze.
written: 6:04 p.m. on Thursday, May. 05, 2005

I. Am. So. Tired.

I went to Courts just now with my mom to buy me a new bed (actually we bought a Divant) 'cause my old one broke when I sat on it yesterday and I was like, trying so excruciatingly hard to force myself not to fall asleep mid-walk that I almost died. It also didn't help that it was raining - which made me very happy - as it's common knowledge that rainy weather = super conducive sleeping environment.

(By the way, my bed broke for like the ten millionth time. It was supposed to be replaced ten trillion light years ago but my dad wanted to save money and he managed to fix up the broken bits for a while but it finally all collapsed last night, and the Divant's coming only next week which means that I have to sleep in my brother's room. Boo hoo.)

School today was uh...let's put it this way: Murphy's Law didn't completely kick my ass. However. I unceremoniously embarrassed the living daylights out of myself first thing in the morning when I was attempting to hurry for flag raising.

So I was already quite late for school due to heavy traffic at Bukit Batok West (or is it East? I don't recall) Avenue 3 and I reached school at 7.35 a.m. Morning assembly is now at the field. I walked down the spiral staircase - I wanted to hurry but couldn't 'cause my heels gave me a lot of problems and in the end it gave me a nice blister, bastard - towards the canteen, thinking that I could go to the field via the canteen.

But guess what? I couldn't. They're currently building some extension or other there and I had to walk all the way to the bloody squash court to get to the field. And in the end? I was about 50 metres away from the field when the student councillor or someone else yelled the command for everyone to stand at attention; hence, I had to stop under the spectators' stand, in full view of pretty much half the school, until flag raising was over.

Yuck! I could've died; I really could've. I blame the extension work for this.

Apart from that, the three classes are all right. I didn't find out who the three naughty dudes from the Arts class are because I didn't encounter any today. I mean, some guy did walk out of class halfway to answer a phone call but I told him off very nicely without making a huge fuss out of nothing so it's all good.

Yeah. Didn't really know what to do today so I kind of made it up as I went along. Sad to say, the law of diminishing returns set in about three seconds after the start of my second class, which was a big Science class in which the buzz of attempted whisperings never really ceased but all things considered, it wasn't as ugly as I'd feared so yeah yay to me, et al.

But you know what? This is so tiring. You'd think that the shorter working hours and the fact that I effectively worked only four and a half hours today would be plus points, but this is even more tiring than StarHub. Maybe it's because I had to wake up so damn early this morning after weeks of getting up at 12.30 p.m.; whatever it is, I feel like I've been ran over by a truck (I swear I can see tire marks on my back) and I can't wait to sleep tonight.

Shite, I have to figure out what I'm gonna do tomorrow before I go to bed because I suck at ad-libbing and thinking on the spot. And apparently I'm supposed to mark their essays. NOOOO! I couldn't even figure out my own mistakes when I was doing GP last year!

All of a sudden I feel like going for a KBox session. Haha. Should I take part in the Singapore Writer's Festival? That writing competition? It was free two years ago but this year I have to pay fifteen bucks, and believe me, I can think of numerous better ways to spend fifteen dollars than to waste it on a competition which I know I won't remotely win. Besides, I'm too lazy to compile the pseudo-poems I've written into something that loosely resembles a theme, and I've not been writing either so the stuff that I do have are...crap.

So I guess I'm not taking part. Oh well, I've given up on that writer thing anyway.

I really liked The Interpreter despite its flaws and despite the silly romantic subplot involving Nicole and Sean. What I liked about it was its politics and its pro-UN sentiments. Silvia said something at one point about the UN which I thought was pretty true but I can't remember what it was right now and IMDB doesn't have it so... I think the UN is the closest we have to world peace right now - a thought which is potentially scary considering how divided it can be and how long it takes for it to intervene in an individual state's domestic problems. Sudan, for instance. The last I checked there still wasn't any UN intervention, and the ending of The Interpreter is something we can mostly only dream of.

But still. You have to believe that it can do something for the world because it is all we have (I refuse to rely on the United States, and I'm sure my sentiment is mutual; why should Americans die for a country that is not theirs?), whether you like it or not. If all else fails, 'united nations' have more optimistic connotations than 'league of nations'.

Oh well, I'm too tired for my political meandering so I shall leave it at that.

I'd talk about the changes that were made to the school like how the students are allowed to wear T-shirts to school now and even to morning assembly which was not the case when I was there but I'm too tired for that too so I shall leave this entry at that.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010