uh.
written: 5:56 p.m. on Thursday, May. 12, 2005

Last day tomorrow. I can't wait! I get to sleep in again for another month and a half! The part that I totally detest about relief teaching is the waking up early part, and the rushing for morning assembly part as well. They fucking suck, they do. I was late for morning assembly twice and I would've been late today if it weren't raining, considering I reached school at 7.50 a.m. and all.

It's all my brother's fault. He's a total girl. He gets up ten minutes later than me and he takes forever in his room to get changed. What's wrong with him? He wears a uniform, for heaven's sake, while I have to throw together a bloody outfit! Like, hello? He's getting it easier than me and yet he takes so much longer than me.

And it's so funny, too, for when I was still in school as a student, he used to be the one waiting for me while I fussed about with my hair and so on before going to school. I don't know, you'd think that having a uniform to wear would automatically translate to a shorter changing time but apparently, that's not true.

Right, anyway, I still have about ten million GP essays to mark by tomrrow and I'm thinking that it's completely impossible but hey, we humans have proven that the impossible is possible, a la Huxley, Brave New World and genetic engineering, so I guess I'll pull through somehow. It sucks marking essays, really. Most of them are of average to bollocks quality and I can die by just reading them, so let's not even talk about attempting to correct them. I also hate the part where I have to write comments because I always have to forcefully stop myself from writing things that are mean/sarcastic/Simon Cowell-ish/all as some essays are so bad that they induce such tendencies in me. I don't even want to give examples - that would entail me trying to remember the kind of crap that I had to read and make sense of and I don't wanna do that; the first time round was torturous enough.

So yesterday was uh, interesting. I had a class at 3 which I went for, only to find the classroom door locked. Like, fuck, right? So I stood outside for like, a minute, and when there were no sign of anyone whose faces I could recognise around, I just split. I was kind of annoyed because I could've been watching American Idol live via satellite and instead, I was stuck in school which was quiet as a tomb, marking crappy GP essays. Life is a bitch. But yeah, there was this volleyball final yesterday afternoon between Jurong Junior and some other JC which I assume everyone went for, so yeah, whatever.

Jurong Junior won, by the way. My cynicism tells me that it's probably gonna be an anomaly. It was certainly true for the football team; they got the championship in 2003, and the next year? We saw an early exit to end all early exits. It's hilarious if you ask me.

I didn't do anything with the Arts class today. Most of them were in a lazy mood and I was feeling exceptionally lazy and hence, I was like, "Do your own work", and I rapped a bit with the four people sitting in front. Was fun. I also found out that one guy in the Arts class is the nephew of my 2004 civics tutor, whose son is Ben's friend (and Ben is like a very good friend of mine) and currently relief teaching in Jurong Junior too, and so everyone knows each other and I'm just amazed at how small this damn country can be. It's not the world; it's Singabloodypore. Another reason for me to split as soon as possible.

I am a quitter and I am not ashamed. Give me a reason to stay in this country and I'll give you ten against it. The students did an essay on freedom and some people seem to genuinely believe that we have ample freedom of speech in Singapore. Yeah, right. I don't wanna get into this too much but I feel sorry for that A*STAR scholar, Chen Jiahao, who had to remove his blog because of some comments he made about A*STAR, their policies and management (or whatever), which were deemed defamatory by the organisation and hence they threatened him with legal action. I think it's a load of crap. I mean, he's a scholar, right? Since he's a scholar, it means that he's intelligent, and I don't believe that an intelligent person is capable of making obviously-defamatory comments about the agency without keeping them constructive. It seems like the word 'defamation' can be used by anyone against people who - gasp - dare to criticise things with which they find faults. As someone who fervently believes in freedom of speech, that just smells like shit to me.

Okay, enough. I want to play Zuma. It's addictive, it is. Yeah. So, last day tomorrow! I can't wait to sleep til 12.30 on Saturday.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010