this entry truly sucks.
written: 4:11 p.m. on Wednesday, May. 18, 2005

Just watched American Idol and I'd like to say something:

BO WAS AMAZING. That second song he did was so beautiful, haunting and emotional that it blew me away. I've always liked him and I have from the beginning but today's performances (especially the second a capella, sp, song) only made me like him even more. I think he should quit American Idol now, get into the recording studio and cut an album. Stop wasting time on the show because I want that CD, and I want it NOW! I mean it's so obvious that he's going to win. As much as I like Vonzell and as much as I think Carrie's a very good singer, Bo really won it today and there's no doubt at all, in my opinion, that he's already won the show.

And since I'm hardly ever wrong about anything, one can definitely expect him to win next week. It's funny though, because I didn't have a favourable first impression of him, ie. before he made the top 24 or whatever and basically before he performed for real. I thought he was run-of-the-mill and uncharismatic. But guess what? After that first amazing real performance on AI when he did Drift Away, I've looked forward to AI every week because of him. What's amazing about him is that he rocks, both figuratively and literally, and when he performs it's so natural, unpretentious and without any tricks or gimmicks that you genuinely feel like you're at your first rock concert and the novelty and the energy are so great that it completely blows you away. I can't possibly do justice to the greatness that is Bo Bice but hell, I just want to tell the world that I think he rocks and that I am so buying his album.

Anyway. I'm reading Fight Club now and I think it's fantastic. God, it's a fucked up book but that's why it's fantastic. So far I'm sensing some homo-erotic undertones which thrills me like you can't imagine but then again I'm only at like Chapter 4 so I'll still have to read on to see how it all plays out. Chuck Palahniuk's style is...interesting. It's different and it's a bit stream-of-consciousness and I like it, without a doubt. Fight Club is so much better than Diary though. Diary got more and more preposterous and it got to a point where I couldn't even suspend disbelief anymore, but Fight Club...I'm loving the raw, edgy emotions, the cynicism and the anarchic, leftist belief in dying in order to live. Amazing stuff so far.

I spent half a day in Johor Bahru yesterday. My mom and I drove with my dad to his office in JB. Although I only bought a great tote bag and spent about an hour shopping, the mere fact that it was something different from my daily mundane, routine activities means that I had a good time. And this is despite spending most of my time doing nothing in my dad's office and attempting to read Fight Club in a room where three people are talking. Usually I can't read with noise around me but I succeeded pretty fairly yesterday because Fight Club is so mesmerising.

But this is not about Fight Club. I should stop digressing.

Had a little tour of the factory while I was there - it produces styrofoam bowls and plates and boxes and things along those lines (I can't remember the collective name for these things right now). The stench was horrendous, absolutely acrid and it lingered in my nostrils hours after I left the place. Poor Daddy; sucks to have to put up with that kinda crap 6 days a week. I hope he doesn't go in there too often, but then again, his table is right next to the door that leads to the factory and you can feel and hear the vibration of the machines at work. I think it's horrible.

Fuck, am downloading an 80s song right now and it stopped at 96%! What in the world is wrong with the person whom I was downloading from?! Couldn't that idiot go offline ten seconds later?!?!

Yep, just wanted to complain.

So it was a good day yesterday. Went for a piano recital at night with my mom and her friend and her friend's friends. I thought it was good, all things considerd; the pianist, a Polish Chopin expert whose name I don't exactly remember (Jasnus something and I probably spelled that wrongly), told the audience, through a translator, beforehand that he was experiencing numbness in some of his fingers. It was a shame, for I would've loved to hear him play the Sonata. But then again, anyone who can play the piano fluently is 'good' to me. Ha, ha, ha. The Polish ambassador to Singapore was there too, which I thought was pretty cool.

My last day at Jurong Junior ended on a quiet note and it was all good.

It's 5.45 p.m. and this entry sucks and I haven't said all that I wanted to but if I continue with this it's only going to get worse so this shall be it.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010