my pride and joy.
written: 8:17 p.m. on Thursday, May. 19, 2005

(Sorry Rui for copying you!)

What a major, major relief. I'm so glad that the horrendous nightmare I had about being rejected by NUS Law was just that - a nightmare. Prior to this I got more and more anxious with each day that passed by with no NUS admission package in my mailbox, and I wasn't even going to check online at the right URL which Rui kindly gave me until Anticipation won over Paranoia and there you go.

It's gonna be an interesting four years ahead. It feels good to know that your efforts at cramming for the A Levels didn't amount to naught after all. My dad called my grandad to tell him the news and it felt like March 4, 2005 all over again and this is certainly novel but it's good all the same.

I need time to let the enormity of this to sink in, the fact that this is where my future is going to take me, the possibility that I may not like it, the probability that I will like it.

But for whatever this is worth, right now, I'm fucking proud of myself.

***

Malaysia, right? Johor Bahru and the Styrofoam factory in which my dad works as a manager. The mini tour of the factory, okay? So I was there. It reeked, the stench acrid and acidic, and this is extremely lame but here goes anyway:

It's been a while since I've been shown that much attention by members of the sex. One of them stood out: Asian, tall, his face all angles and sharp contours, decked out in a white singlet and khaki pants, and I looked back a few times and he was still looking back, so I glanced at him again and then he smiled.

It was nothing at all, you know? That was it. The end, period, a hello and a goodbye.

But all the same - thank you for making me feel attractive again.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010