just some ramblings. heavy bo and jielun content.
written: 10:20 p.m. on Sunday, May. 29, 2005

Went for the Philadelphia Orchestra last night. Lang Lang's performance of Tchaikovsky's piano concerto was absolutely mind-blowing. It was amazing amazing amazing. He was feeling it and I was feeling it and I was just in awe of his prodigious talent and infectious passion for music. I'm not usually much into piano concertos; the orchestra nearly always drowns out the piano, which is a severe pain for what is the point of performing a piano concerto if you can't hear the damn keyboard? But not last night. Every single note was lucid and brilliant, and it was such a pleasure to watch him perform. I think Li Yundi is much better looking than him but who cares about looks when you can't even see the pianist's face from where you're sitting anyway? He's certainly won his accolades and hell, he deserves them.

Save for the Bartok piece, the concert was great. I can't remember the last time I enjoyed myself that much at a classical concert. I have nothing against Bartok or anything but god, his stuff was so hard to get into. It was like watching a Tsai Ming-liang film in which nothing ever happens and you're just waiting for it to end so that you can do other things with your life, you know? There was only one encore and as great as the encore was, one was just not enough! And the conductor - can't remember German names - was brilliant too. When Lang Lang was not on stage, I was watching him the entire time. Great, great tremendous stuff.

Bought 2 CDs from HMV at 2 for $36: Snow Patrol and Franz Ferdinand. Haven't listened to the latter yet save for "Take Me Out" which I downloaded but the former's pretty good. There's something about listening to nice, mellow music on a rainy afternoon with the air-conditioner switched on that gives me a very nice, peaceful feeling.

Yesterday, I also had lunch with a colleague of a friend of mine. The colleague of my friend is about 77 years old and they work for the US army. It was interesting. I was a total dork but I enjoyed listening to his stories. He thinks that George Bush is a total idiot and it was amusing, the way he was talking about Bush as though he were even more stupid than a 5-year-old child. Haha! Anyway, it was all good.

I have to buy Bo's single or else my life is over. He's #1 on Barnes and Nobles' chart, whatever the chart is. Wahoo. Well, not that it really means anything but it's nice to have him beat both Carrie Underwood and the American Idol album. I don't know whether to be happy or not that his single contains the AI single (Inside Your Heaven). On the one hand, the songs sucks nuts; on the other, however, he sings it so very well and beautifully that it so moves me. Oh well, there's always Vehicle to look forward to and we all know that he's made that song his own. I still remember being blown to smittens by him when he did it for 70's dance night; it was absolutely amazing, and that's a mere understatement.

I know I go off about Bo a lot but hell, whatever. I'm so totally into him right now because he's the bomb. He's got me into rock again and that's always a good thing, for the Chinese pop market is a piece of shit and mainstream English stuff...isn't my cup of tea. I'm just thankful for Jielun's genius and Bo's straight-forward, no-holds-barred passion for music. Thank you.

Speaking of Jielun, he won nothing at the Golden Melody Awards. Fuck you, GMA! My only consolation is that Best Mandarin Singer went to a deserving Stanley Huang. I may hate his "who's your daddy" song but he's still talented and I absolutely love his "Ni Sheng Bian" (By Your Side) which is on the Formula 17 soundtrack. The preposterous thing, though, is that Jielun presented that award even though he was nominated in the category. It's crazy. See what I mean about the Chinese pop market being a piece of shit? Everyone's ripping off each other and I'm convinced that there are only four good singers out there - Jielun (duh), David Tao, Wang Lee Hom and Stanley Huang. And I don't even like Lee Hom's music. I'm just giving him props for being around for ten years; for writing his own stuff; and for being sooooo gorgeous. I admire and respect Luo Da-you (sp) as well but come on, ask any other cat on the street who he is and most likely than not you'd be met with a "har?", in typical Singaporean fashion. I think his song "Lu Se Kong Bu" or something along those lines was hilarious though. It's a very harsh criticism of Chen Shui-bian and the whole pan-Green camp - very interesting, considering he's a native Taiwanese. I think I'm gonna help my dad find his songs to download sometime over next week since my dad claims that he can't find his CDs.

Finally, nobody wants to watch Madagascar with me. What gives? This is so depressing. I have nothing against watching movies alone but Madagascar is one movie that nobody should watch alone, for obvious reasons. Sigh. My life is fucking shit. It's time to get a boyfriend.

Hmm, then again, maybe not. Who even gives a shit anyway?

And apparently the Law campus would be moved to the Bukit Timah one. NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO! It may be nearer (I think) but I don't wanna spend four years looking at the same freaking faces! And being away from the actual NUS campus means that I won't get to see my FASS friends and I have so many friends there that I can't even begin to count the number. STUPID whoever that decided to award NUS the stupid campus. You talk about historical sentiments but fucked if I cared! If you're so nostalgic for the place, why don't you go back there and take up another degree or something? This is so irritating, I swear. And this is coming from someone who adores the Bukit Timah area!

Oh yeah, my brother's birthday today. We had lunch at Tian Jing Restaurant (Bras Basah Complex) and dinner at Jack's Place. The latter cost about $93. What an insane amount of money to spend on mere food, considering I bought Escada's Rock in Rio 50 ml yesterday for $81 and that can last me for about a year, minimum. But today's dinner? I'm just gonna shit it all out tomorrow and there goes the $93.

No, not a big food fan. Should be pretty obvious by now.

Working on a Bo layout. I hate the bit where you extract the image because it never goes smoothly for me and I don't have the required patience for it. Just the other night I extracted one quite nicely but the background was freaking white and some parts of Bo were white (due to the lightings) so I have to do it all over again. The most difficult part about this layout thing is definitely the extracting. I HATE IT.

Okay, it's 10.44 p.m. and I haven't showered and my mom wants to play Zuma so I'm off.

My whole family's playing Zuma now, and my dad is especially hooked. How funny.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010