some rantings.
written: 9:40 p.m. on Tuesday, May. 31, 2005

I watched Monster In Law with my mom yesterday; she wanted to see Jane Fonda. In short, it was an abysmal excuse for a movie, and that's me being nice. If you're into cliche-ridden, plotless comedies that are not remotely funny, I'd recommend this movie. Yeah. Go for it. Whoever gave the greenlight to this project should seriously consider entering film school (and note that I said 'entering').

Whatever.

Will be hopping over to HMV tomorrow and demand that they let me pre-order Bo's single. Also, will be going for the Law tea thingy - should be interesting, both good and bad. I wonder how I'm gonna do the whole elite thingy again. I might've gone off quite a bit about how it's so very me in the past, but now, when I think back to secondary school days...I'm not so sure anymore. People may think that I'm an elitist at heart but I'm really not; all I'm interested in is being different, to go against the mainstream and to be oh-so-very anti-establishment. How in the world can you be anti-establishment if you're part of the elite? After all, the elite is the establishment.

In all honesty, the most pretentious word I'd use to describe myself would be 'alternative'. This may be a huge laugh considering I currently have Jay Chou on my layout and I still love him very much but there are always exceptions to things and Jielun happens to be one such exception. I don't know why this is but I can't seem to completely accept things that are popular. In fact, I still think that things that are popular are pretty much crap. This doesn't explain my new-found Bo Bice obsession, but I think the thing about Bo is that his style made him popular instead of the other way round, ie. popularity did not make his style. He did what he loves best on American Idol and it just so happened that many Americans like it too, hence his popularity. So Bo is another exception, because he's actually anti-mainstream. I mean, southern rock isn't exactly the number one style of music you're hearing on the airwaves, you know?

Anyway, back to the whole elite thing. I have a feeling that once I'm in that system again, I'd tire of it very quickly. Especially if the girls are going to be all St. Nicks-like. Nothing much against SN, but I still hated it and that remains a fact until today.

Would be interesting to see how I attempt to fit in; if I attempt at all. Ha, ha, ha.

Anyway, more Bo-related shit: Foo Fighters and Dave Grohl and some other crappy pseudo-rock bands dissed Bo on Total Request Live for being on American Idol. I repeat: Davey G. a.k.a. Mr. Nirvana Drummer Whose Band Foo Fighters Nobody Really Cares About dissed Mr. Harold "Bo" Bice whose fanbase is larger than FF's and Jimmy Eat World's combined and who is only beginning to embark on an amazing career for being on American Idol.

Total Request Live, I repeat. MTV's TRL with Carson "I Can't Host" Daly. Riiiight. How credible, Davey. The only reason I can think of for rock bands to diss Bo is that he was discovered on American Idol. It's not cool/hip to watch AI because it represents the mainstream - that, I get. But the catch here is, Davey and Gang dissed Bo on an MTV show; not only that, the show is TRL, a.k.a the one-stop avenue for teenyboppers to cry and scream at NSYNC, BSB and Britney Spears.

Oh, yeah, that is soooo rock 'n' roll. Fuck off, really. Your stupid band did a damn Mentos advertisement and you're responsible for that mediocre and insipid "Learn to Fly" piece of shit that dominated the airwaves. Don't talk about being truly rock when you've already sold out ten trillion years ago. Davey, Kurt Cobain would be so ashamed of you if he were alive today. He may not approve of Bo, but I'm pretty sure that he won't be dissing him on Total Fucking Request Live.

And Jimmy Eat World - who the hell cares about Jimmy Eat World? Their songs are crap anyway. My bro was playing one of their stuff just now and I thought they were Sum 41/Simple Plan/Good Charlotte/Blink 182/who cares 'cause they're all the same anyway.

I'd rather watch American Idol and admit to it than to do the same for TRL. TRL is so stupid and so anti-rock. And anyway, who cares about the Foo Fighters when you have Lynyrd Skynyrd endorsing you by performing with you, right? And not once too, but twice.

Anyway, I'm not against everything commercial; if I were, I wouldn't love Jielun as much as I do. But, I am definitely against bands who are so commercial that it's written all over their poseur tattoes (sp) and yet still try to be rock. Gimme a break.

I think I should write things of some quality from time to time too. Nowadays though, I can't even be bothered to try.

Screw it.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010