we all love it when yelen rambles.
written: 4:21 p.m. on Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005

Man I wanna be part of the Student Exchange Programme. I just found out that the Law faculty has some SEP partnership with New York University. That was my dream uni until I decided that it wasn't good enough! (Ha, ha, ha...okay the truth is it was too expensive and I bombed the SATs and I missed the deadline, hence.) That would be so fun.

I don't have anything to say so this is already a screwed up entry. For people who actually read this, I kind of feel sorry for you when I'm always churning out pointless entries that go on and on and on about Bo Bice that mustn't be very interesting to non-Bo fans.

Oh, I get it. This means that I should start promoting my diary at Bo forums and yahoogroups!

Well, not that I frequent a lot of them; only a couple. It's been fun, nonetheless.

Strangely, I'm not as excited about the JieluncomingtoSingaporeohmygod thing as I oughta be. I'm thinking about the crowd which is gonna be massive as hell and when I think about the crowd I think about how I'm gonna be tres pissed off and when I think about how I'm gonna be tres pissed off I just don't feel like going.

On the flip side, this is my last chance to do something totally braindead before school starts, thus forcing me to be smart again, so I'm still not passing up another chance to see Jielun in person. Or just to catch a glimpse of him, to be more precise; whatever it is, it's Zhou Jielun/Jay Chou and I still love him as much as I did last November.

As I sit here and contemplate what else to write so that it'd fill up the impossibly-wide entry box of the current sexy and red-hot (no pun intended) Bo layout, I realise that my life is such a boring piece of shit that I have nothing interesting to say at all. Like, at all as in zilch nada and everything else along those lines. This is pretty sad. I have zero social life and it doesn't seem to bother me...no, it doesn't. It's probably disturbing that I don't care about not having a truckload of friends or going out with said truckload of friends like 8 days a week but whatever it is, I don't care. I think I was born leaning towards a reclusive lifestyle.

Speaking of recluses, J.D. Salinger rocks. I still like The Catcher in the Rye, despite Julian Barnes's books taking over the #1 spot on my list of favourite books. I've finished Fight Club sometime back and I don't remember if I've said this already but anyway, I thought it was amazingly well-written and thought-provoking, as well as horribly unpleasant and horrifically graphic. I am no good at reading about violence or watching violence on-screen; was watching Scorsese's Cape Fear on Star Movies the other day, my second time watching, and I positively cringed my way through the scene in which Max Cady gets some girl who's having an affair with Sam into bed and then goes on to handcuff her hands behind her back and abuse her. I used to be okay at taking in violence but nowadays, even the minimal violence in 3-Iron make my hair stand.

I have to say this: Robert De Niro as Max Cady made him a likeable character.

Or maybe that's just me, but whatever it is, I was kind of rooting for him. He is HOT, I swear. That scene in which Cady is called to the police station after Sam's wife's dog is poisoned to death, the strip search, man man man that has got to be one of the hottest scenes in cinematic history ever. I don't care what rabid Scorsese fans say about his remake of Cape Fear; it's awesome, I enjoyed watching it and it's a very well-made suspenseful movie and Scorsese was spot-on in casting Robert as Max. Yay.

He's getting so old though, De Niro is. It's funny when people age, especially celebrities. Somehow you kind of forgot they're humans too and you're surprised when they age with you.

I can't believe that the last non-movie I watched was Monster In Law, but there you go: an extremely tragic fact of my life that should not even be in existence.

I guess I could talk about the stories that are making news headlines but oops, I haven't been reading the papers, save for Life!. Oh well, I just saw Jielun on the Taiwanese version of Saturday Night Life, only done on a smaller scale. The actor playing Jielun was funny but I think he's funnier as Fei Xiang. He had the white hair extensions thing going on though, which is so spot-on as Jielun sported them during his Incomparable concert. Yeah, it was funny. After that was Kang Xi Lai Le with Ah Mei's sister...I forgot her name, and Landy Wen. I never knew that Landy Wen's an Aborigine. Interesting.

Oh, the sister is called Saya. I think.

This entry is pointless. I just like to ramble aimlessly from time to time. Yeah.

I don't feel like going back to school anymore.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010