crap entry.
written: 3:59 p.m. on Monday, Jun. 27, 2005

I watched Initial D again last night and came out of the cinema loving it to shreds. You know, it's just so stupid because I feel like a total Jay Chou fangirl now and I'm supposed to be logical, rational and fair, passing impartial judgement upon his first movie and yadayadayada.

Well, I did, but it turns out that my hypothesis about the movie was correct: it grows on you. I guess it also helped that I went in the second time knowing exactly what to expect and hence was able to enjoy the movie in its entirety. Chapman To got a tad less annoying but he was still irritating. And can I just say that Jielun looked SO DAMN HOT in that black polo tee that I wanted to eat him? Still love his songs as much as ever. And that butt, oh my god the butt! All guys should have an ass as hot as his.

Okay whatever. I'm bored and I don't feel like going to school anymore. It struck me recently that I still have no idea what I really want, apart from the momentary bursts of seeming-conviction when I come across clothes that I can't afford as of right now, Lord of the Rings 4-disc DVDs that're way too expensive, and food that taste like heaven but bring you down to earth by burning a huge hole in your pocket. But the thing is, I still don't know. I don't think I'd ever know.

Man, it's seriously time for something big to happen to me. I feel sorry for the few people who read this thing and bore themselves to death. I mean, since nothing ever happens to me (and I mean ever), the shit that I attempt to write about are always those few mundane things: Jay Chou (you're forgiven if you're sick of him because it's my fault), hot famous guys, some TV shows, blah blah blah fucking stupid bullshit. Like, boring much, dude?

I get it, but what am I supposed to do otherwise? Like I said, nothing ever happens to me. I don't know why but that's just the way things are. And you know, Nothing will continue to happen to me and this online diary will go on being a pointless, content-less sorry excuse for a "diary" that's really a waste of cyberspace instead and fewer people will read this and in the end I will end up being really sad and depressed.

Whoa, that just made no sense. But the bottom line is, I know that I'm getting out of this country as soon as I get my law degree, and I'm not coming back. I'm moving my parents too. I don't know where I'm going yet, but let's face it: a convertible in Singapore is a bad, bad idea, because before you know it, the fucking sun would've burnt a huge hole in your goddamn backseat. Like what the fuck?

This country is ridiculous. Now I find it hard to believe that I thought The Straits Times was this holy newspaper because it's nothing more than a pile of shit. It's funny how it desecrates (okay bad word but whatever) people like Edison Chen by publishing a so-called story without getting all the facts right, imply preposterous crap like "Edison Is Jealous Of Jay Because He Lost The Leading Role In Initial D To Him", and then goes on to whine about him being rude to the press when it's the press that has been unfairly slinging his reputation through shit. Whatever happened to professionalism in journalism? Oh, I'm sorry, I forgot that those two are mutually exclusive because journalism is this country is one major joke with a non-existent punchline. Most of ST's journalists can't write to save their lives, and let's not talk about utter trash like The New Paper (I feel sorry for the retards who buy that piece of crap and feel good about themselves because they are interested in current affairs) and waste-of-paper pseudo-publications like Today and whatever else. Why do we insist on celebrating mediocrity and excessively awarding it?

Wait, let me take a wild stab in the dark...could it possibly be due to the intriguing fact that the majority of the citizens in this country are perfect manifestations of the profound meaning of that word?

All talk about wanting to develop this country into a world-class city and whatever else are just that: talk and not much more. I don't think any of it had any basis to begin with. The truly smart people can't survive in this country because its inherent stupidity simply drags them down.

I am convinced that there's a greener patch of grass somewhere else. And I am definitely going to find it.

**

I just read Mel's latest entry.

ARGHHH NO I CAN'T TAKE GRAPHIC VIOLENCE! Reading Fight Club was enough to give me nightmares! (It's brilliant by the way.) It's weird, this new-found aversion to violence of mine, because when I was a few years younger I could take it all with barely a flinch, but now...I'm getting soft.

I don't know man. That passage you read to me on the bus still haunts me. Maybe a few more years down the road. We'll see.

**

A thought just occurred to me: To the self-proclaimed ang moh pai Chinese morons who don't listen to Jay Chou because he's Chinese, think that people who listen to him are all stupid cheena piangs, and that he's an unoriginal copycat because he sings in Mandarin, here's my middle finger for you to suck on. I don't care how offensive this is, but Chinese people who look down on those that speak the language (however badly in the case of most Singaporeans) and have the misconception that they're so superior because they speak English should just pull a Michael Jackson and then do the Chinese race a favour by killing themselves. You're a shame and embarrassment to the one billion or so Chinese people living in the world, and the longevity of our history as well. Know why? Because I can guarantee with my life that your English can't remotely measure up to the native speakers. Write a mini essay in English and I can point out all your grammatical errors, misplaced punctuation and spelling atrocities. If you have more time to spare, I can give you a crash course on why your writing is a piece of junk cheaply masquerading as something profound, and after that I'd give you something in Chinese to chew on. Perhaps a picture book to get you started.

How funny that would be.

And I really needed that rant to feel like I haven't lost everything that semi-defined who I am.

In other words, I'm not quite sure if I mean it, but I am sure that I can't be bothered with stupid pseudo-ang moh pai asses who laugh at Jay Chou fans because I am one rabid Jielun fanatic who should be locked up for his personal safety and well-being, and simultaneously, I'm one the most ang moh-fied person I know.

**

Why is most of today's rock music so crappy? I listened to a couple of Switchfoot songs and they were shit.

Oh well, The Dandy Warhols are kinda cool, judging from the three songs that I've listened to (We Used To Be Friends which is the theme song of "Veronica Mars" which I dig totally; Sleep; and I Love You). I was listening to a The Clash song last night and I decided that I don't get punk rock at all. What's the big deal, honestly? All punk songs sound the same, with a few rare exceptions (eg, London Calling by The Clash). It really doesn't take a musical genius to write punk song; seems like they repeat one verse ten million times and call that a song.

Whatever. Also, I find the Straits Times's School of Rock contest a major joke.

Again, whatever. I've spent too long on this crap entry so I shall stop rambling and post it.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010