ahh yeah.
written: 5:35 p.m. on Sunday, Jul. 31, 2005

From here:

You entered: 7/14/1986
You were born on a Monday
under the astrological sign Cancer.
Your Life path number is 9.

The Julian calendar date of your birth is 2446625.5.
The golden number for 1986 is 11.
The epact number for 1986 is 19.
The year 1986 was not a leap year.

As of 7/31/2005 5:28:30 AM CDT
You are 19 years old.
You are 228 months old.
You are 994 weeks old.
You are 6,957 days old.
You are 166,973 hours old.
You are 10,018,408 minutes old.
You are 601,104,510 seconds old.

There are 348 days till your next birthday
on which your cake will have 20 candles on it.

Those 20 candles produce 20 BTU's,
or 5,040 calories of heat (that's only 5.0400 food Calories!) .
You can boil 2.29 US ounces of water with that many candles.

Your birthstone is Ruby
The Mystical properties of Ruby

Ruby is said to open one's heart to love.
Some lists consider these stones to be your birthstone. (Birthstone lists come from Jewlers, Tibet, Ayurvedic Indian medicine, and other sources)

Carnelian

Your birth tree is

Fir Tree, the Mysterious
Extraordinary taste, dignity, cultivated airs, loves anything beautiful, moody, stubborn, tends to egoism but cares for those close to it,rather modest, very ambitious, talented, industrious uncontent lover, many friends, many foes, very reliable.

There are 147 days till Christmas 2005!

The moon's phase on the day you were
born was in its first quarter.

**

The bolded part is so true, in my humble opinion. Not quite sure about what 'industrious uncontent lover' means though, especially since 'uncontent' is not a word. Hahahaha.

I'm in my room right now, having the air-con switched on, my MP3 player playing Life in Mono. Uh, I can't think too well with music on so any potential grammatical mistakes and incoherence are definitely regrettable.

Right.

It's so damn hot today! I wanted to go swimming to cool down until I decided that switching on the air-conditioning is a much better alternative. Haha! I'm on the last day of my period (I think?) anyway so uh, not too good to swim.

Okay so I'm lazy and I'm just making lame excuses. Anyway, moving on now.

One major and significant hazard of having a phone (ie. a non-cellphone) in your room: When weird people call the house at 8 in the morning, you're jolted awake despite having a damn nice dream only seconds before and that is seriously annoying. This morning my stupid phone sounded its shrill and ear-piercing ringtone; I checked my watch and it was bloody 8 a.m. What kind of idiot calls someone at 8 a.m.?!

Turned out that the 'idiot' was my granddad from Taiwan. Haha! I didn't answer the phone; was too groggy and lazy to and just let it rang til it died. He called back a few more times until my mom answered and had a go at her for it, something which made me laugh my ass off even though it's really not that funny.

Ah yeah, so I talked to Clarence before I slept and forgot to unplug the phone. I was going to watch Alias after the conversation but was too sleepy to sit in front of the laptop for 45 minutes and watch Jennifer Garner kick ass. Damn, I was hoping to finish watching Season 3 before school starts...oh well.

Shit, Ben's blog isn't responding. What the hell?! He changed the layout! Oh my god brown scrollbars!!! So pretty! Hey you haven't answered my email dude! What gives?

Anyway, went to Jurong Point this morning with Mom to buy ugly shoes to wear to school tomorrow. Found a pair of cheap ugly shoes, $19.90, think I bought a size too small 'cause my toes feel extremely crammed up and jammed together in it, think I'm gonna come home tomorrow with horrendously blistered feet, but size 9 was a bit too big so yeah, girls with big feet have horrible lives. I would know.

Mom insisted that I buy a long-sleeved white blouse as the small slip of paper they gave us on matriculation day stated that we have to wear long-sleeved and white, but uh, the one I got? Totally fugly. Like, disgustingly, outrageously hideous. Mom told me to tuck in, I tucked in and immediately pulled it out. OH GOD WHO WEARS SUCH THINGS? And why can't formal-looking skirts come in hipsters? So irritating man, I swear.

Oh well, the bright side? The skirt is still gorgeous. So bringing clothes to change tomorrow.

I bought a short denim skirt from some Pepper Plus thingy-thing and it's sooo sweet. Love it to bits. And it's cheap too, like 28 bucks! Considering I spend at least twice that amount on Mango/Esprit skirts, I think it was quite a steal. Wahoo.

Mom tsk-tsked at my purchase though. Even though I spent my own money and all. Some things just never change.

I came home, washed some clothes, felt very restless, and then at 2.52 p.m. decided to call Clarence to come out and hang out with me for a bit. Went through the surprisingly fuss-free hussle of telling my dad that I was gonna hang out with him, he called me back and he said, "Let's go to town."

Huh town?? But when he said that he was gonna drive, I immediately agreed.

Yay Clarence's car! Damn fun, but the shittily-hot weather made me slightly carsick. Didn't help, too, that he takes really sharp turns that made me giddy. Haha! But it was fun though, riding in his car. He goes a hundred and ten on a 60 highway; damn awesome! I'm surprised he hasn't got caught for speeding yet. But he seems to be on a lucky streak so next time I'd tell him to drive faster.

Today's trip to town was the shortest I've ever taken, ever, and I mean Ever ever. He picked me up from my condo at like, 3.20, and got me home by 4.45 p.m. It's so funny, so strange, he's the reason it was even possible. Who goes to town just to buy Star Wars monopoly and leave immediately after?!

But it worked for me, 'cause I told my dad that I'd be home at 4-something and everything. And he was going to play football with his friends at Barker Road at 5 anyway so yeah. And of course, there's nowhere to go near our houses, save for like, what, the fucking Rail Mall but there's absolutely nothing to do there anyway. He couldn't have came over to my house 'cause my dad's home and I don't want them to meet, and me going over...haha, dad would flip and forbid me from seeing him for the rest of my life.

So town was a great choice. We went to Tangs first but they didn't have the Star Wars edition. He asked this saleswoman for it and she was like, "Moe-noe-por-lee ah?" HAHA! You know, the typically Singaporean way of saying it? Yeah. I shouldn't laugh since my mom says it that way too but...too funny lah!

That saleswoman pissed Clarence off 'cause it was obvious she didn't know anything, but he still said 'thank you' before walking off, although it was a pissed-off 'thank you'. Haha! He bought some kueh (is this the right word for it?) at Tangs's basement and I ate like half of them. It was good though, yummy and all, especially the pink one with the coconut bits, whatever it's called.

Clarence makes Yelen fat. Yeah, he does. We still haven't figured out how to carry out that weight transfer procedure, five kilos from me to him. They should make this possible, really, so that people like me who want to lose weight can just pass on our fats to people like him who want to gain weight. And you'd think it'd be possible by now, what with the advances in Science and Technology and whatever-else you got out there.

He found and bought what he wanted at Isetan, after asking, "Where's Isetan?" while we were at Tangs. Left immediately after that. He parked the car at the Pacific Plaza shit-carpark and missed the exit sign like twice, so he had to u-turn twice in the puny, shitty carpark before getting out of there successfully.

In the car, his friend called, he said, "Tell [insert name of his friend] he's spastic."

I found that hilarious, I really did, was laughing uncontrollably and splitting my sides and all, and you know what? I can't begin to fathom why.

Glad I spent an hour with him today before school starts tomorrow. Somehow it seemed important that I did that; that probably explains my restlessness upon reaching home from JP.

Oh yeah, school starts tomorrow (and I say that as if it's an after-thought when in fact, it's the only thing I've been thinking about for the past couple of days). Still don't feel mentally prepared. Not that I have a choice either way.

Okay, I will talk about How To Lose A Guy in Ten Days which I saw on HBO last night. Funny movie with cliche, typically-romcom-esque ending. Bad ending but I'm not surprised. Kate Hudson is funny. Matthew M. (can't spell his name) has very charming dimples.

But um, what's with the whole 'have sex on the first day you meet someone' thing that seems to be pervasive throughout all of Hollywood? Does it really happen? How can you conceivably fall in love with someone after ten days anyway? I don't get it. Hollywood is bad-weird.

Ooh I'm starving. Hopefully the 'ding' of the elevator is my parents coming home from Bukit Timah with food.

Will write tomorrow about first day of school and how ugly I look in formal wear.

PS. I miss Clarence.

Edited to add:

That 'ding' was not my parents. Help me.

And, I wanna watch the fireworks on National Day. As in, I absolutely have to or I will die. Yes. If nobody goes with me I will be very annoyed. And an annoyed Yelen...is not a pretty Yelen, let's just put it that way.

That's all.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010