first day of school.
written: 8:06 p.m. on Monday, Aug. 01, 2005

Okay I only have enough time right now to write an entry and not reply to guestbook messages which are lovely and wonderful so thanks to all who signed! Will get back to you in due time.

Tomorrow is Flag Day. Tomorrow is Flag Day, and I am going. Tomorrow is Flag Day, I am going, and it's all the way in freakin' Bishan a.k.a The Other Side of the World. And I'm going.

Notice how the weather has been super hot lately? That's entirely due to this new phenomenon called Yelen Decides To Go For Flag Day. Weather changes mood (Nirvana, "In Bloom") because of me, because I am, like, soooo pertinent to the cosmic make-up of this world.

I should stop talking nonsense and get on with the important stuff.

So today was...largely spent on sitting around and waiting and talking to new people and becoming tired due to sitting around and waiting. The formal garb pissed me off beyond belief; the stupid twenty bucks shit-shoes gave me horrendous blisters at the heels of my feet barely twenty minutes into the whole event. We had to pay fifty bucks for matric package but they gave my OGL a wrong handphone number so nobody told me until this morning; hence, Rui, Mag and I had to walk all the way to the Arts faculty (I think? Should be lah) where Rui and I withdrew fifty bucks. And guess what? Not even halfway there my feet began to hurt like crazy, and it was so bad that I spent the rest of the freakin' day walking on tip-toe.

I looked bad. And before the Freshman/Freshmen Inauguration Ceremony there was even more waiting around standing up and everything (save for a few minutes where my OG sat down around some tables at Dome or whatever the cafe at UCC's called 'cause I don't really care to be honest) and I'm surprised that my legs didn't break, that I didn't get excruciating foot cramps, that, in short, I'M STILL ALIVE. I hate new, shitty shoes, especially shoes that I was forced to buy. Stupid man. I should've just worn the black heels I got last year for Jurong Junior's pseudo-prom. Whatever.

More formal-wear bitchings: My OG walked to the Arts canteen and everyone stared at us. Yay. I love being stared at; makes me feel all warm and tingly inside, /sarcasm. I felt so damn good when I changed out of that knee-smothering black skirt and into my denim mini at the end of everything. YAY and this time I mean it! I changed my shoes during the Inauguration Ceremony too, ha ha ha. Right.

I met several cool people - this girl who sat next to me in the moot court, she's crazy and funny; this other girl in my OG who's one of those genuinely sweet and nice girls whom you just know can never be hypocritical and I'm flag day-ing with her tomorrow, and oh, she likes Esprit too!; this other girl who sat next to the girl who sat next to me, who's crazy and funny too; and um...well, said 'hi' to several people but didn't really talk.

Okay I'm bloody anti-social! That is bad. Rui introduced me to the people she knew, most of whom were guys. This dude was nose-bleeding so severely that he stained his white shirt. Poor thing. During tea break Rui, Mag and I sat around and laughed and acted like total bimboes swooning over guys and stuff like that, really funny and fun stuff, but I didn't do much swooning, just laughed when Mag was telling us about this guy she likes. Yes, I was sufficiently amused, and I took so much mifen that I couldn't eat lunch later and bought like this shitty banana milkshake. As shitty as Jurong Junior was, at least the banana milkshake there tastes much better.

Attempting to write this entry makes me realise that the day's been largely a blur. Welcome talk by Dean of Law fac, video presentation (so damn funny and it totally rocked it did), jazz piano and flute, tea, lunch, sitting around waiting for shuttle bus to take us to UCC, collection of t-shirt to wear to Flag Day tomorrow, super-boring Inauguration Ceremony...

Seriously, I was totally falling asleep. I was just so tired and the Arts people made a lot of noise. Like, they introduced the president of the Arts club and my ears were bombarded by loud screamings and cheerings from the back. And I was sitting so far up that I couldn't see anything unless I leaned forward, which made my back hurt, and there was so little leg room as the matric pack took up a lot of space so my legs were super-uncomfortable as well. Not fun, not fun, they gave out tickets and collected them back, I would've liked to keep them but oh well.

Oh yeah, the Dean of Law said something funny about reading textbooks. Oh shit, speaking of textbooks, I have to go check the books my cousin sold me against the list they gave us today to see what I need to get. Yeah, just wanted to remind myself. Anyway the Dean was like, Just treat reading textbooks like reading a love letter. And inside I was like, Uh, I can't relate leh, never got a love letter before. Sadly, the analogy (can call it that?) was lost on me.

Anyway I saw A LOT of St. Nicks people. My god, it was like a bloody reunion or something! Saw Adeline Ng and Alison Loh! The former was in my primary and secondary school classes while the latter was my primary school classmate. I haven't seen them in forever. Saw a couple more SN girls in Law - in the interest of false, superficial and makes-me-puke political correctness I shan't comment further.

So I met up with Angela after the Inauguration Ceremony (by the way Mel, just read your blog; YOU ARE A GENIUS FOR SKIPPING IT COS IT SUCKED AND I HAD TO LUG A HUGE FOLDER-TYPE THING AROUND BUKIT BATOK AND NOW MY FINGERS HURT) and she's crazy! Oh my god, I'm so gonna miss her! She was like, "Singapore need many lors..." WHAT???? It's an obvious pun on 'law'; not sure if the 's' should be there but you get the gist yeah? And oh my god, Stephanie from StarHub is in her OG! I was so surprised to see her there.

Nice time talking to Angela. You can never have a dull moment when she's around, I swear. Her OGL's pretty funky. Yeah. Super Raffles Junior College. Right!

I just drank some green milk tea; bought it from 7-11, and now I feel sick. I gotta go do the dishes before my dad beats me to it. By the sound of it I think he already has. Shit.

I should do more household chores.

Then again, more like, I should start doing housework.

Yay my mom drove me to school today!

This entry sucks.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010