today's entry sucks.
written: 6:47 p.m. on Thursday, Aug. 11, 2005

The Nivea deodorant that was included in the Law matric package absolutely stinks. I think I'll give it to my brother, or place it inconspicuously in a hidden corner of his room...bwahahaha.

School was perfect as soon as I left the law faculty. I had a brief moment of epiphany today in the library when I was taking a break from reading my (very mind-numbingly boring) notes on reading cases and writing case summaries and the different types of courts in different countries and their functions and whatever else - suffice to say, nothing really registered and I don't know how to use the word 'jurisdiction', and that was it, precisely.

There's this whole issue about what is real and what is not. I wrote at length about this in my diary (writing is so much more preferable to reading about supreme courts and high courts and the house of lords and so on) and I can't write about the same thing twice, so suffice to say, then, that what I'm doing now, this whole law thing, it isn't real. Your real self, who you are deep down inside, the person you reject for something more financially-viable, that person isn't a lawyer or a law student. I know what I truly love, what makes me feel more alive than anything else in the world; and yet, at the same time, I need some sort of remedy to survive in this world.

And this unreal academic endeavour is the only solution to the whole problem of How To Survive In The Big Bad World. So, here's to four years of law school and here's hoping too that I'll get out of it relatively unscathed.

Whatever.

Legal writing tutorial was half-fun, half-confusing. Half the time I didn't really fully understand what the tutor was asking; the other half, the things that she was saying made perfect sense. And I answered a question wrongly - tremendously embarrassing mistake. The question was something along the lines of, "What ruling (or whatever I can't remember) did the court pass in this case?" The case was about this dude who injured his arm in an accident and went to see a sinseh but due to negligence on the sinseh's part, the dude had to have his arm amputated in the end. So I was like, "That a sinseh has to be held against the standards of that of a medical practitioner", nevermind the fact that we'd established already that that legal issue was overlooked by the court.

That was utterly stupid. It's so hard to think sometimes.

I blanked out half of this morning's Torts lecture.

Things are not going well at all.

And I have a 500-word case summary due this Saturday, 11.59 p.m., and I have next to no idea on how to go about doing it. I hated writing summaries in secondary school and JC and I doubt this is gonna be any different.

Like I said before, 'succinct' is a word that appears nowhere in my personal vault of 'words that have a permanent, meaningful place in Yelen's mind'. It's obvious, isn't it? I just go on and on and on and shamelessly indulge in my verbosity. The word limit includes the headings too.

Great I so cannot wait to get started.

On the bright side, I'm seeing Clarence tomorrow! Yayness.

Today's entry sucks. I bought this amazing chocolate chip cookie from the Grinning Gecko. Oh my god, I ate it on my way back to the Law library and inside I was swooning like mad over it. I am sooo in love. $1.40 for it, totally worth it.

I spent a lot of money on food today. The fried macaroni sucked ass though. It included two huge, unshelled prawns and the sight of it freaked me out.

Thinking about it is making me lose my apetite. Ugh.

Today's entry sucks.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010