it's one of those days.
written: 8:23 p.m. on Monday, Aug. 15, 2005

1.

I love The Dandy Warhols. They rock, both figuratively and literally. Clarence finally lent me "Thirteen Tales from Urban Bohemia" and I love it to bits. Unsurprisingly, I still love "Sleep", and it's unsurprising because it's like, the first song of theirs that I've ever heard, way back in secondary school when "crazy/beautiful" came out and I liked the songs so much that I bought the soundtrack (a good buy on the whole). It's so haunting and eerily calm, the perfect suicide anthem. Haha! Needless to say, I totally adore "We Used To Be Friends", which is like the theme song of Veronica Mars with which I'm still quite obsessed, so it all work out damn good for me. Yeah. Right.

2.

My Legal Writing tutor did indeed take Literature in JC.

I think there's something about people who dabbled in some sort of art form at a higher-than-secondary-school level. Or maybe it's just me.

Whatever it is, I just knew it.

3.

I am so fucking tired.

I have SLS tomorrow.

And I'm supposed to sit right in front.

Oh, and to top it all off, I haven't got started on my readings.

I need that bullet through my head.

4.

Today, Rui and I were feeling out how it's going to feel sitting right in front of the whole lecture theatre.

We reached the unanimous conclusion that it sucks major ass.

5.

Spent the Torts lecture sitting in the centre of the second row because some dude was sitting, then napping, next to Rui in the four-seat row next to the wall; hence, there was no seat for me, boo hoo hoo. And you know what? After taking away the stressful possibility of the lecturer calling on you to answer a question or to comment on something about which you have absolutely no clue (pretty much applies to me half of the time), I kind of like sitting in front, away from the distractions, and it also helps that you're so up front that you don't really have anyone to look at except the lecturer. I mean, if you're behind your eyes start roaming all over the LT and before you know it, you're zonking out and at the end of the lecture you realise that you don't really know what just went on after all.

Oh my god I can't believe I actually said all of that. What happened to the good ol' days of strolling into lectures 5 minutes late and parking right at the end? Those were good days, my friends, damn good days.

Now, I feel weird if I'm not locked up in the freezing library mugging my ass off all day long.

Talk about a total reversal of the tide. Or something equally pretentious along those lines.

I won't be surprised if I burnt out before the exams.

6.

I was late this morning, like oh my god nooooo bloody way what a terrible sin gasp! I had this LAWR lecture at 9 a.m. and I reached school at 9 a.m. and spent five minutes (okay maybe 2 in actuality) walking from the Central Library block to LT 15. That explains why I didn't have a seat with Rui and Mag.

Wait, I had a point to this.

Oh yeah, now I remember what I was going to say. So yeah, I sat down and took out the necessary materials. Law of Torts, Syllabus and Tutorials (or whatever the heading of that stack of notes is). Wait a minute, didn't this British lecturer say that she won't be taking us for Torts for the next few weeks? Shouldn't this other dude lecturer be standing in front of me?

And why are we doing stare decisis in Torts?

Then, the realisation that Torts was after the first lecture dawned upon me.

I felt so stupid.

Oh well, good thing it wasn't like what happened to Tingren, when she entered some Year 2 Economics class and had to stay there until the class ended so that she didn't have to reveal her hilarious faux pas. Good thing all lectures are conducted in the same LT, period, so that I didn't enter the wrong one. I'd just die of embarrassment and that'd be the end of me.

How tragic that would most certainly be.

7.

I sat next to this guy on exchange from China during Torts today.

Man it was weird talking to a PRC Chinese. I spoke in English and he replied in English but I couldn't catch his accent and vice versa. Damn strange. He asked me to write down my contact in his notebook; I wrote my Chinese name in traditional Chinese which surprised him. Why is that? I mean, apart from the obvious fact that China uses simplified Chinese...okay, maybe that was it, period. But seriously, I don't like how my name looks in simplified Chinese; it's fugly. Like what the hell is an 'x' (literally) doing in my name, hello? It makes absolutely no sense, has next to no meaning, and is aesthetically-hideous to boot.

But I digress. The Chinese guy asked me what Civil Defence was.

This amazing genius had absolutely no idea.

It's some firefighting shit though, isn't it?

Oh well, who the hell remotely cares.

8.

Had lunch with Mel and Khai! Woohoo. Major awesomeness.

Mel rocks and Khai rocks. I was worried about Khai. I'm glad she had the realisation she had.

Well I've already written about lunch in my diary and I can't write about the same thing twice, so...I love Mel and I love Khai.

I love my friends.

9.

I'm trying to make this number thing reach 10. It feels more complete that way.

Oh I so need coffee. I was up til 1 a.m. reading the blasted stare decisis cases in England.

Fuck me upside down. I don't know what it is about English judges that induce in them the seemingly-irrepressible need to say one simple point in such a complex way that at the end of it I'm left with a confused and frustrated "huh?" Sometimes, when the case is retardedly absurd, it becomes, "What the FUCK?" Even better, Australian cases. Oh my god, those things will kill anyone with a reasonable level of tolerance for long-windedness. Four judges giving the same fucking judgement (oh I'm sorry I forgot that 'judgment' is spelled with one 'e' in Law) and each judgment goes on for like TEN DAMN PAGES. And some paragraphs span like FOUR FREAKING PAGES. Honestly, I was reading one judgment in the library this afternoon and after two pages I was halfway falling asleep. Save for the dissenting judgment, everyone pretty much says the same thing!

It's so frustrating and you hardly get any respite and everything hits you one after another, relentlessly. You finish this thing, want to take a break, but oh wait, you can't, 'cause you have this other thing to do.

Second week of school. I still feel like transferring to Arts.

And wasting time on writing online diary entries isn't helping my predicament much either.

10.

Agenda for the night:

Drink Nescafe coffee (assuming no one else has drunk it already)

Read SLS readings (I hate how I say 'read readings' but you know)

Watch America's Next Top Model

Sleep and try to feel happy

**

One last thing: Khai and I were talking about Jay Chou's recent brush with bad press, that whole nonsense about him flipping the finger to this stupid paparazzo and how he had to apologise after the incident.

We both agreed that it was stupid of him to apologise.

Like, hello, my dear Jielun, the only thing that surprised me about the report about your fight with that idiot from some lousy excuse for a magazine whose papers aren't even worthy enough for me to wipe my arse with was that it took you so damn long to do it. Six years of being tailed relentlessly by a bunch of good-for-nothing vultures that really don't contribute anything substantial to this world, and this is the first time you're saying "fuck you" to them? Oh my god, Jielun, you shouldn't have apologised. It was your prerogative and you can probably counter-sue them for trepass or something along those lines if they sued you for wrecking some stupid camera or whatever. I mean, you left that awesome message on your website, pretty much calling the paparazzi 'dogs' (which is actually a pun on the Chinese phrase for 'paparazzi' - gou zai dui, and 'gou' is Chinese for 'dog') and then you apologise?? I know you have an image to maintain but do you honestly think that your fans are going to stop buying your brilliant music just because you rightly flipped the finger to some ass who was invading your privacy? Of course, the media would probably slander the daylights out of you, like it always does, but you gotta stand up for your rights, man!

Okay whatever, I can't wait for his sixth album, it's reportedly coming out in like October, which is like what the fuck why are his albums coming out later and later dammit, last year it was August 3, in 2003 it was July 31, and now it's October?!?!

Thank you for torturing me.

Okay I need to do my work. Wahoo.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010