a mundane entry. like all others.
written: 8:13 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 16, 2005

I love my new layout.

Save for a few flaws here and there (font size too small; looks cluttered; and reading black text against white background will kill a person's eyes after ten seconds), I really like it. I mean, it's Jielun!

But more importantly, this is the first time I'm using Times New Roman (like first time EVER first time) and that should count for something shouldn't it?

Okay blah blah it sucks, people are going to stop reading my online journal purely on the basis that the font will kill their eyes if they don't, but I spent like 2 hours this afternoon doing it when I should be doing my readings so I'll say what I please and be, as usual, entitled to my own delusions. Thank you very much.

I like Tuesdays. Because I only have one fucking 45-minute lecture on Wednesday, and it's Contract, it's much easier on the conscience when I waste my Tuesday afternoon away on frivolous, nonsensical matters such as the appearance of my online journal/diary, which no one reads anyway (except a few cool individuals - you guys are as cool as Jay Chou and I love you all). And wasting one afternoon isn't enough for Lazy Me, oh hell no; I go on to waste my evening writing in my online journal about how I'm wasting my time.

I feel like I'm in JC all over again. Well, except for the friends part and how you can still pull through studying last minute, things like that; but I'm doing what I did all the time back then - write about wasting time. That's like so insanely stupid. You truly wonder how I haven't choked to death on my stupidity already.

Oh, and my SMS memory is full again. Shit! I'm too lazy to copy down SMSes nowadays. This is why I really dislike SMS sometimes. If everything were written out in pen on paper, I wouldn't have to invest additional energy into writing out messages using my own strength and with my own time; all I'd have to do is to keep the note/letter nicely in a shoebox or a drawer, or tucked between the pages of my personal diary. Isn't that so much better? But no, we have to invent SMS and make my life even more inconvenient than it already is! Like, how absolutely wonderful, Human Being(s) That Came Up With This Stupid Concept of Pseudo-Communication.

How nice it'd be to receive a real letter every now and then.

And yeah I'd delete messages, except that I haven't copied them so there you go.

Anyway, as I was saying, I like Tuesdays because Wednesdays are absolutely slack; I also like Tuesdays because Tuesdays end at 12.15! Yay and everything. The downside to Tuesdays is SLS lectures. Oh my god, and for today, it wasn't as much about how I sat right in front as it was about the fact that I was falling asleep like 10 seconds into the lecture.

Okay, gross exaggeration over there; half an hour (out of an hour and 15 minutes) is more accurate. I really couldn't help my inability to stay fully awake and to listen to the lecturer with the most rapt of rapt attention. I stayed up till 3 in the damn morning this morning preparing for his lecture; in the end I was so tired that I couldn't even register what the study questions were asking for the Fletcher reading so I went to bed and fell asleep the second my head hit my pillow.

Oh well, whatever I managed to digest in the lecture today made sense and I wasn't confused or anything so I'll take the good with the bad.

Contract lecture by Dean was cool. Also super sleepy. First lecture in the morning; that should explain everything.

Stayed in school after SLS to...mug in the library.

Seriously, I feel so NOT myself that it's totally unsettling. So scary ass shit I swear. One can always argue that I don't have to define myself by my long and perpetual love affair with Slacking, but despite my new-found ability to really study, it still feels weird all the same. I mean, this is the second real week of school, hello? What was I doing during the second week of Year 1 in JC? Cutting classes with Mel and crashing other JCs (oh fun times!). Year 2? Post-Orientation Syndrome, otherwise synonymous with 'inability to study.'

I so do not have anything that even vaguely resembles a life.

Anyway, I was with Weihan and Shawn who were in the same OG with me and the former is in my Legal Writing class. Yeah. Had lunch in the Business canteen and it sucked. I hate fishball noodles that suck. And the Beijing stall stupidly put coriander in their hai dai (a form of seaweed, or maybe it's simply seaweed) and so it sucked too. I hate coriander with all my heart and soul.

Also, 'mugging' sucked because I was so tired and distracted and not-in-the-mood-at-all to do anything productive. So I got my mom to pick me up at 3 and came home, switched on the laptop, made an appointment with Chapter 2 for hair trimming tomorrow, did the layout, had dinner, came back, opened diaryland, and here I am.

Well, I felt bad for ditching Weihan in the library by himself but (and?) I wouldn't have stayed in school after SLS if he didn't ask me and um, well, my point is, I ditched the poor dude and I feel bad. Yeah.

It's funny how I was itching to type something while having dinner, and when I'm really doing it, my words are all wrong and mediocre and I suddenly don't know what to say.

Maybe this is like that weird phenomenom (I can never get this word spelled right) with hunger, how you lose your appetite the hungrier you get. Like, you know, yeah.

All things considered, Law is an easier subject to comprehend than Economics ever was. Maybe my not paying attention during Econs lectures had something to do with it, but whatever it is, it took me forever to get half of what was going on in Econs; but Law...it's pretty common sensical, once you take away the tediousness of getting your head around some strange legal terms or other. I don't fully get it yet but I'm not floundering in a sea of confusion or whatever other stupid cliche metaphors you can inject here, so...I don't know, I mostly bitch about how much work I have to do and how I don't understand what the fuck people from Harvard are writing about when they write Law articles, and you know me, if I don't bitch I'd cease to be me, so there are some positive aspects of this curious endeavour that I don't always mention.

Well I'm talking about it now. It's not easy, but if you listen during lectures you should get it pretty fast.

I think.

Oh yeah, some guy by the name of "Keith" signed my guestbook asking me why my entries always seem to suck, left an email address, but didn't reply to my email. What the? I don't know any Keiths in my life so he must be some random surfer. Why would anyone leave an email (assuming it's legitimate) address and not answer emails? Oh well.

Anyway, I'm really tired, I don't feel like touching anytihng Law-related tonight but I'll do it anyway.

I found myself missing someone a lot today.

Doesn't take too many guesses to arrive at the identity of that person.

Like, duh. I'm so predictable.

I made myself a wicked cup of tea today. Always use condensed milk for sweetening and evaporated milk for the milky taste.

Edited to add:

I got an email from yesasia.com asking me if I wanted to join this associate programme of theirs in which webmasters can earn commission by directing potential customers to yesasia via their websites. The email specifically mentioned an Initial D/Jay Chou specialty store.

At first, I was wondering why in the heck would anyone sane want to advertise for something Initial D/Jay-centric on a personal online diary; then I realised, oh yeah, my fanlistings.

Well, duh, Yelen.

From what little of the terms and whatever I skimmed through, it appears that all I need to do is to link to Yesasia.com using a spiffy Initial D/Jielun graphic. The only downside is, my FLs are currently hosted on Geocities and Geocities, needless to say, sucks major ass. That annoying advert they chuck at the right hand side of your site aside, I don't know if engaging in promotional activities with a profit-making organisation would violate any of Yahoo! Geocities' terms and agreement, and quite frankly, I'm too flippin' lazy to go and find out.

Bright side? I have my own domain name and webspace, all thanks to Ed who rocks like there's no tomorrow. Once I figure out how it works, I can transfer everything to my own domain and apply to the Associate Programme.

Down side? I DON'T HAVE THE TIME TO DO ANY OF THOSE THINGS. I'm still quite bad at HTML and computer-related jargon. I can already imagine tearing my hair out at attempting to understand the whole MySQL thing and whatever else script-like stuff. I've logged in to my domain exactly once. That's how no-time my life is, the piece of crap.

Must think of ways to increase traffic.

Short of stirring up some crap controversy by posting nude pictures of myself here, that is.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010