saturday. life and shopping.
written: 10:38 p.m. on Saturday, Aug. 20, 2005

Major tiredness.

Amazing shopping spree. Bank account is haemorrhaging. It may be internal bleeding and that's exactly it, actually. Invisible flow of cash (actually it's credit), funds being depleted within the confinements of a bank or wherever my money is stored, it's all happening within the bank, I hope this makes sense at least.

What I bought:

Knee-length Esprit purple/orange layered Indian print-esque skirt, $79.90;
Some black top from some brandless store at Level One (is it?) of Far East Plaza, $22;
A pair of shades from Far East, $12.90; and
A pair of 3/4 pants from 2%; $48.

Because I worked at 2% though, they gave me a ten percent discount! I had to buy like XXL 'cause the cutting was so fucking small. Like, craziness. I mean I know it's from Hong Kong and all, and that Asians are generally small-sized, but come the hell on. My Esprit skirt is size 36 and that's slightly big on me.

Okay so the Esprit goes 'round the waist and the pants on the hips and I have gargantuan hips and all, but still. God the horrors.

Fanny is sooooo nice. I love her. I should go back there more often. Dex (the manager) asked me where I'm schooling and I said, NUS, and he was like, Wow. Haha. How interesting. I'm surprised they remember me! I mean, the last time I was there was to collect my pay cheque, which was a day after the release of the A Level results...like March 5? That seems ages and many uncountable lifetimes ago.

Time flies. I can hardly believe we're halfway through August.

I sprayed Mango's perfume on my wrist at Sasa. I hated it at first but I kept smelling it over the past few hours and fuck I'm in love. I'm more in love with Givenchy though (ok I've forgotten how to pronounce it; must ask Clarence again) and...I WANT NEW PERFUME.

My mom actually entertained the thought of freezing my bank account, ie. taking out all my money and putting it in god-knows-where. Fuck she's crazy, I tell you. I mean, okay, I know I kinda went overboard when I bought that Esprit skirt today but is it my fault that it looks so damn nice on me? I couldn't resist. And I've been eyeing it since last month, hello? It's so pretty and nice and hey I got 10% off!

Sigh. I need a source of income.

Anyway, the Wisma Esprit didn't have a new piece for my skirt and since it was 80 bucks I had to have a new piece or else I wouldn't buy it. I mean, it's 80 bucks. I'm paying fucking good money and so I expect a mint-condition item in return. The sales dude was damn nice though. He called up Liat Towers and reserved it for me! That's wonderful service. Esprit has amazing service, which isn't at all what I can say for Mango. I tell you, there's this stupid salesgirl there who's like, RETARDED. (Mango @ Wisma.) I took five pieces of clothing to try, she told me, only 3 at a time in horrendous non-English, I said, Okay, can I leave the other two here first?, she said, Okay.

So I went to try the clothes (they all sucked by the way) and after I was done I went out to the salesgirl. I asked, Can I have the other pieces I took?

And guess what? She totally misplaced them. They were like, nofuckingwhere to be found. How fucking retarded is that? I really don't know how in the world Mango and Zara recruit their salespeople. They SUCK. I couldn't be bothered waiting for her to half-heartedly attempt to unearth the jeans and some long-sleeved top for me so I just walked off.

BLOODY STUPID IDIOT. Die bitch die.

And she couldn't even speak English. Ugh. I mean nothing wrong with not being able to speak real English but hello, you're working at Mango and it's supposed to be from Spain and...okay whatever, that didn't make sense.

My point is, the guy at Esprit was very nice. The service at Esprit is generally awesome. I love shopping there, although I only like their EDC collection. I saw this amazing pair of jeans that was going for a hundred dollars. AHHH!!! Madness. Who pays a hundred bucks for jeans?!

Okay, rich people and things along those lines, yadayada, don't rub it in, thank you.

Clarence arrived at Orchard at around 5. We had dinner at Borders Bistro which he paid for (and which I feel really bad about). He went with me to Liat Towers Esprit to collect my skirt. He bought a bottle of white nailpolish. He still calls it 'paint'. He said he'd lend me a book by Ayn Rand (I hope I spelled it right) that changed his life. He got carsick on the bus. He wrote 'dai', Chinese for 'bring', wrongly at Borders Bistro. He made me laugh and he said the Esprit skirt is nice.

Above all else, he didn't forget. I'm sure he knows what I'm talking about; that's all that matters.

The only downside to today and how great it was is the uncertainty surrounding when we'd do it again, because a week feels like a million years and I can't stop myself from missing him so there you go. Our breaks and short days don't coincide either. And I still have Torts tutorial on Friday afternoons with a tutor whom I can't stand. But let's not get started on that.

We ran into Khai at Basement One of Wheellock Place (eh how to spell ah?), just as we were about to take the down escalator to the underpass and just as she got off the up escalator from the underpass. It was great seeing her! I love Khai to bits and she told Clarence that he's cute. Haha! I wanna watch Napola. If she watched it twice it must be damn good.

But wait closed memo due next Saturday which means my Saturday would be wasted on doing last-minute work to meet the deadline. Ugh.

I hate school I hate school I hate school.

Going to do my readings for Torts tonight.

I was thinking about how I could apply my reserving my Esprit skirt and things like that to Contract Law and then I got all confused. Yeah. Um, it just shows that I'm pretty stupid, thank you.

My gum, the left side, still hurts like mad like there's no tomorrow.

And I saw Julian Barnes's latest novel at Borders. It's $55.90. I wish my birthday were tomorrow.

I WANT THAT BOOK!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010