this entry subverts yelen's pretensions to bitchy-ness.
written: 10:12 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 30, 2005

I'd wondered for the longest time what 'pro bono' means; hence, I googled it today (well, finally Yelen) and came up with a couple of sites:

probono.net

Pro Bono Institute

Basically, in very simple and plain English terms, such societies and organisations provide legal services for the poor.

And hell I find that extremely attractive. It's such a noble concept and I'm amazed that people are doing it - it shows that there's hope for the world yet. It's also extremely important, I think. Prof. B said in SLS today that about 5% or less of criminals in Singapore have legal representation (I think?). Even if I heard him wrong it's still pretty clear as daylights that many criminals fall into crime precisely because their economically-barren living conditions force them to. Why are drug traffickers usually people from poor backgrounds? Because it seems to be the easiest area in which they can make a quick buck.

Now, I was reading some of my previous entries and I came across one in which I stated that I did not believe in altruism. I hereby fling that bullshit out of the window. I may get extremely irritated at crass and uneducated Singaporeans but when it comes to helping people who are less fortunate than me, be it with the simple and painless gesture of giving a buck to an old lady selling tissues by the roadside or otherwise, I think there is so much to be done that I could do if I put my heart to it.

I need some meaning in my life. I don't want to go on living this essentially hollow existence, simply flitting in and out of places and not making a significant and meaningful impact anywhere. I can tell people that I'm sympathetic towards the less fortunate, but if I don't do anything to manifest that purported sympathy I'd just end up looking like an ugly hypocrite. In this respect, I'm damn glad I chose this Law thing because I think providing free legal services to the poor is one of the most important steps a society can ever take towards equalising the rich-poor divide. Everyone deserves a fair trial, even criminals who'd committed heinous crimes, and one should not be robbed of the best defence one can find just because one is poor. I mean, if Michael Jackson weren't as rich as he is he'd probably be convicted of child molestation, among other charges.

Just to deviate a bit, I'd like to confess that I wrote something about how I wanted to be criminal lawyer in my Law admission essay (that thing you write that gets you shortlisted, not the admission written test). The more important thing? I really meant it. I said something about defending criminals and whatever else along those lines, which is funny, because I know people (ie. more than one person and I'm not targeting any specific individuals) who hate lawyers for doing that. My super idealistic belief in the essential goodness of human beings aside, another reasoning for that is this: Everyone deserves a fair trial because you are innocent until proven guilty. Accordingly, a criminal standing trial is entitled to the same human rights as the average civilian on the streets. I'm not sure how things work in this country as it seems that we adopt a decidedly different approach to many areas of the law as compared to other democracies (ie. the USA and UK), but let's just assume that one of those fundamental human rights is the right to a fair trial. Even if one is for the school of thought that a criminal is less human because of the crime that he's committed, you can't possibly apply that argument for an accused criminal because his guilt has not been proved and hence he is still equal before the law.

To put it pretentiously, I guess it's a matter of principle. Yeah. You could maybe blame "To Kill A Mockingbird" for this. I'll always remember that novel. Atticus Finch is my legal hero.

Also, for some fucked up reason, I feel sorry for criminals. Yeah. I guess I deserve to be shot for that but you know what, I don't really care.

I haven't done my Contract tutorial. Then again I don't know what I'm supposed to do. I mentioned something about needing files a couple of entries ago...and guess what? I still need files. BADLY.

I tried filling out the Notebook Loan Application form but when I got to the printing screen the browser froze on me. PIECE OF SHIT! Why can't they just like upload a Word document or something?! Thank you for making life so easy.

Now I'm considering whether I want to pay an additional $250 to upgrade the Acer 3212's graphic card to the Ati Radeon thing, which is the graphic card of this current laptop. My mom wanted it 'cause she needed it to draw some 3D perspective thingies for her work; otherwise, I don't have any use for it at all, considering I don't do gaming and you don't need a superior graphic card to watch movies (apparently, that is; that was what the Fujitsu dude said). Another thing that comes with the upgrade is some DVD thingy and since I don't kow what the hell that does...yeah.

Um I think I should at least read the Contract hypothetical. Honestly I'm quite confused about this topic, because lectures are twice a week and 45-minute per lecture and tutorials are starting like this week, and outside of class I don't do anything for it. I've read a grand total of one Contract case and I'm pleased to announce that I didn't understand a word of what I was reading. So, um, yes, I think I'm screwed.

I need to shower.

Pro Bono Society tea thing at 1 tomorrow. Nobody I know is going but fuck I'm going.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010