yes!
written: 6:05 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 01, 2005

AHH I'm so tired.

I wake up in the morning and I wish I were dead.

Okay that's a major exaggeration, but the truth isn't too far from that. I wake up in the morning and wish that I'd gone to bed at 8 the previous night because I'm always so tired every morning, such that it prevents me from paying attention durings lectures. And the weird thing is, this tiredness isn't remotely caused by late-night studying or whatever because I don't study (and I mean I DON'T STUDY). I spend most of my time surfing aimlessly on the Net or reading Julian Barnes/poetry...at night. Yeah. That should explain it.

I'm very disturbed by the fact that I haven't been making any real effort to prepare for lectures and tutorials beforehand and things along those lines. Whatever I try to do are so half-hearted that they don't count as effort in any way, shape of form. As a result, during Contract tutorial on Wednesday I was totally lost towards the end and I didn't even bother to pay attention. Hence, when the tutor asked me to advise Dude C for that long-ass hypothetical surrounding some dude who wants to sell his cars (what's a Rolls by the way?) and Dudes C and B called Dude A's house but got A's answering machine and B called first and recorded his message and then C called later but the machine was faulty so he recorded over B's message blah blah blah, I was frantically reading the stupid problem on the spot but I misread something and so I went, "Um, I think C's problem is that he made an offer which he didn't intend to make."

BLAH that was awfully embarrassing. Contract sucks. I find it rather boring and very abstract and I don't really care if A has breached his contract with B anyway. I don't understand why can't people be smart about things and just like, sign an agreement or something instead of relying on oral agreements. It's so dumb. And if you can't come to an agreement then don't enter a contract LAH WAH LAU. Honestly, it's the stupid people in the world who are giving first year law students major headaches. I mean today in Tort lecture we came across this case involving some dumb woman who tried to claim damages for economic loss from her doctor because her doctor failed to warn her of the chance that she might conceive and then she really conceived and subsequently gave birth. She wanted her doctor to pay for the cost of bringing up her child. Like who does such stupid, braindead things?! It defies all common sense and logic anyway! Even if you blame your doctor for your misfortune of having a child your common sense should logically tell you that there's no way a court in its right mind would ever grant you that kind of preposterous claims. Hello, were people back then really that dumb?!

And yeah since the previous entry till now I've read only one case for contract. So when the tutor was referring to cases and when other classmates were going "Oh yeah in this case this thing happened that's not very correct" blah blah shit I was like, "..." Checking watch. Is lesson over yet? Just kill me fucker.

I hate it when teachers pick on me to answer questions, especially when I haven't even prepared the question beforehand. I suck. I think I should drop out now and go into prostitution or something. I'm so not good at this studying thing.

The problem with uni is that there isn't one major exam for which you could mug for two months and get straight A's, unlike the A Levels. It's constant work, tediously constant work, constantly tedious work, and I just wanna die. Can you imagine the kind of back logged work I have to catch up on? Like Torts, I've finally decided to do my own case summaries for all the cases in the reading list - four weeks' worth and I haven't remotely started. And contract? I wasn't aware a reading list existed until about last week.

Shoot me in the head! Insert sad face here.

So yesterday was uh, pretty long. Um, contract in the morning and people who only have Contract lectures on Wednesday (eg. Rui and Mag, the lucky girls!) got a day off 'cause the Dean was/is still overseas. That is just so not fair! Oh well. Was falling asleep in Contract tutorial. After that immensely confusing session in which I felt extremely stupid, I went for the Pro Bono tea session and it was cool. Yes, it was. Janice (from LAWR TG, girl who resembles Lindsay Lohan before she lost weight and started looking like a digustingly sick stick) was there too and we hung out at the Arts canteen after that, primarily because I was starving and wanted lunch pronto.

I want to intern at CLAS next year. Criminal Legal Aid Scheme. Should be and would be interesting.

Then there was this LexisNexis training session which I was gonna skip until I ran into Janice. Anyway it was uh, yeah, cool. The computers at the Law fac are total shit though, no offence. They're still using mouse balls mouses (who uses mouse ball mouses or whatever you call them?) and the computer I initially sat at took like ten trillion years to load and it didn't even load in the end. And, well, I'm not used to looking at a huge chunky and clunky monitor so there you go. My laptop has spoilt me. I love my laptop.

I will love my new laptop too. I was almost late for Tort lecture this morning as me and my mom were filling out the notebook loan application form. I finally decided not to upgrade so the laptop will come without a DVD burner. I sincerely hope I don't regret it. I can't wait to have fun with the built-in Bluetooth, for i still have not found my Bluetooth installation disc and my rubbish pictures are screwing up my phone.

That didn't make sense.

I like my LAWR tutorial group. They're fun. Today Weihan asked me if my English name is Dolly. Like, um, hell no?! I asked him why he had that idea and he was quite vague about it; said something about some guy telling him that? Oh well. I think my friends will laugh their heads off at me if I suddenly called myself Dolly one fine day on which I suffer a permanent concussion. Dolly is such a dumb name anyway. The only English name that I almost had was Nancy, back in Taiwan when I was kid when I attended English classes. Of course, the classes weren't particularly useful; I came back to Singapore, took an English aptitude test in SNGS and promptly failed.

The ironies of life are totally hilarious sometimes.

I digress.

Hung out with Pei Glory and Mel today. Was fun. I'm gonna watch this theatre production called Quills with Mel. Quills as in Quills-Quills, Marquis de Sade Quills. I suspect it's a production of the play written by Doug Wright which was the play that the movie was based on, screenplay written by the same person. I doubt it'd be better than the film though. Geoffrey Rush was Sade and no one can come close to him in my heart.

I should've bought Sade's works when I was in Taipei.

Kenny said something nice about me: "I got to meet the lovely [Yelen] for the first time, whom I thought had a tiny resemblence to Andrea De'Cruz. Pretty sweet girl."

I hardly use emoticons and the like but:

:D

The Andrea De Cruz thing is a first though. I got Rose McGowan and Jessica Alba before, and more recently, Anne Suzuki. Weird, I know, especially Jessica Alba(first boyfriend's friend's comment - that was 3 years ago).

Anyway Kenny's cool. He responded to this crap I wrote in my Friendster profile, about how I'd date the first guy who can tell me which song "I love myself better than you" is from, which is of course Nirvana's "On A Plain". Haha! Um, was that an offer, what I wrote in the profile? Or was it an invitation to treat? 'Cause if it's an invitation to treat Kenny's reply is a mere offer to my offer for guys to make an offer which means I'm not bound by it. But if what I wrote was an offer then Kenny's reply is an acceptance which means I'd be bound by it, so if I breach that contract he'd be able to sue me.

Okay I'm not making sense. His blog is intriguing though. Mel has cool friends!

I keep thinking about how to sue people nowadays, or under what circumstances can I sue Mos Burger for being slow or McDonalds for being fucked up or some random guy next to me on the bus for standing too close to me. And it really happened, this last scenario. Like today. I was on Bus 96. It was FUCKING CROWDED. This weird ang moh man next to me. Jammed packed bus, right? So ten metres (or so, I can't gauge distances at all) away from the Clementi MRT bus stop he stood so close to me that he was practically touching my butt. GOD I WANTED TO KILL SOMETHING. And it was almost freaky because I walked to the end of the MRT station, and there he was; I sat down on the train and he sat next to me; I got on the train at Jurong East and he was in the same carriage; and I got off at Bukit Batok AND HE GOT OFF TOO. When I walked past him en route to West Mall he was looking at me. Thank goodness I didn't see him at Mos Burger or I would've sued him for trespass to person or something.

FREAKY MEN DESERVE TO DIE.

Okay they don't, but please, for the love of my sanity, stay away from me.

I have this megaly a lot amount of readings to do for SLS. And I haven't started on Terry Kaan's tutorial stuff. Oh and it's supposed to be group work but no one has contacted each other about it. Right. I think working in a group is counter-productive.

And I've decided that I like Terry Kaan. He's hilarious. He uses these seriously morbid examples as hypotheticals and he gives himself wicked names like "Terrible Terry" (like WTF you know?) and whatever else, really hilarious things that make me want to crack up and never stop laughing, but for some reason the people in my Tort/Contract TG don't really find it funny. Um, yeah. That's weird. Or maybe it's just me.

And he also gave this lucid explanation of what constitutes duty of care, the difference between that and standard of care, what is causation, yadayada, and prior to that I never knew that a defendant had to satisfy all four elements of negligence before he can be found guilty of negligence. So, more power to Terrible Terry!

Okay fuck I'm hungry and light-headed as a result. Boo.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010