laptops rule.
written: 2:54 p.m. on Monday, Sept. 05, 2005

I love having a laptop because it is so fun to sit at the top of the central forum with Khai opposite you and update your journal even though you don't have anything much to say beyond the fluff that you've just typed. And now I will go on to announce that my laptop battery is dying in about twenty minutes' time.

I had a lot of fun this morning with my laptop in lectures. LAWR lecture on Citation - I was reading Nirvana lyrics on this random Nirvana site I found while surfing for "Nirvana's Heart-shaped Box". And speaking of that song, I downloaded it a few days ago, fell in love with it, googled the title, and promptly found out that the song is on "In Utero" - which happens to be a CD that I bought from Taipei 4 years ago. I am so smart that I truly amaze myself sometimes.

In Torts lecture, Rui was giving me her awesome emoticons on MSN. It was fun. MSN was lagging like shit though; it took a few million years before her emoticons showed up on my window. I found out that I'm easily amused, the way I was swooning over her emoticons...or maybe it was just because it was the whole idea of being in lecture that was doing fucked up things to my head.

Having said that, I actually like Torts. It's fun. Although I didn't really read the Nervous Shock cases in detail and promptly forgot 99% of the one case that I did read, it was still fun anyway and more importantly, it made sense. I've had enough with shit that make no sense.

Nowadays I don't really want to think/feel.

And I should post this before my battery finally dies on me.

**

Back home and I am tired as usual. Note to self: Remember to put in HTML tags for paragraph breaks.

Today, LAWR tutorial ended at 4.30. Like how absolutely amazing is that? It usually ends half an hour after the stipulated end time; sometimes it drags till 5.30. Last Thursday we ended at 1.30 when the one-hour-fifteen-minute class started at 11.30.

Wowness. I prepared for tutorial in fifteen minutes. No wonder my brief answer sucked so much ass and I still foresee an F- for my closed memo and no it's not remotely significant to me that there's probably no F- and that F is the ultimate fail grade one can get because I am sure my point is driven home with more zest and gusto if I say F- instead of F for reasons which I am sure are obvious to the average discerning mind so I shall stop babbling and proceed to the next paragraph.

I need a job. Or some way to make extra cash. I am so fucking broke that it breaks my heart when I go into malls and see really nice clothes and try them on, only to remember, excruciatingly, the fact that my bank account is currently at the point of no bloody return when it comes to Perpetual Depletion. The other day I was pissed at my mom 'cause she didn't want to buy me this new Jay Chou book I saw in Popular - yes, laugh at me for being so childish, but I was thinking more along the lines of, "Fuck I don't have money to buy this stupid book myself lah and I really want to complete my Jielun collection lorz!!~~~!!!!111!!~" Or, more likely it was PMS. But my POINT is, I NEED MONEY! Oh bloody hell, it sucks being unemployed...then again being employed sucks too. Like I tell anyone who cares to listen, I want money to fall from the sky straight into my lap by just sitting on my arse and willing the sky to rain money on me. Yes, and I'd have exclusive rights to this intriguing but totally welcomed phenomenon. Yes, I would. I'd be the happiest girl alive. Yes, I would.

Once again I'm babbling. I was babbling to a couple of guys in my LAWR TG just now and they didn't really get it. Oh well. One of them thought I was from Hwa Chong JC. Gee, I wonder why? I think I look smarter than I really am so that's quite funny.

Yet again I'm babbling.

I think Xiaxue should delete her blog and save Singapore from the eternal embarrassment that this country would no doubt be doused in if foreigners chance upon it and make the discovery that it's supposedly Singapore's #1 blog. But then again, her title is probably fitting, considering how absolutely stupid Singaporeans are and how un-worldly and apathetic and void of a real opinion they are, how they're so ready and willing to sit on their fat, useless arses and let the government control EVERY SINGLE DAMN FACET of their useless lives, and most importantly, the same people who think Dan Brown is a genius writer are probably the people who read her blog and think it's Literature. Oh, pardon me while I laugh my ass off. I don't want to get started on Dan Brown and how absolutely trite and bland his "writing" is...then again, I think I do. I DON'T GET THE DA VINCI CODE NONSENSE. I can think of millions of worthier writers who should deserve the fame that he got, purely on the basis that they have greater awareness of the nuances of the English language than Danny would ever dream of having. Seriously, people who liked The Da Vinci Code...are just bloody weird Science stream people. No offence against Science stream students but nobody who's ever read a formidable work of Literature can ever think that he's a good writer. You may like his content but didn't he rip off his plots and mysteries from a myriad of other sources? And popular fiction is so disgustingly mediocre and shit that I could just puke. Who reads John Grisham and and and I can't even think of other popular writers anyway?!?!?!?!?! And Science bloody retarded Fiction - I get so INSULTED when people plonk it under "Literature". IT IS NOT LITERATURE YOU BLASPHEMOUS IDIOTS! It is...I don't know what it is, it's a weird genre with weird writing that I'd never get.

I can fall in love with a person merely by the words that he writes. I want to marry Julian Barnes and Chuck Palahniuk and Oscar Wilde (even though he's dead and he was gay) and Seamus Heaney and Jim Carroll, all these great writers, I'd turn lesbian for Joyce Carol Oates, whatever it is, my point is, words mean a lot to me. I may sound like a pretentious prat saying this for I'm not exactly a real writer, let alone a good one, but fuck it, I love the written word as a form of art, I don't like being succinct, I don't like being brief, I want to go on and on and on and write however I want to, just because I can and because it makes me happy. I like writing convoluted sentences because they rock, I like adjectives and metaphors and similes, supposedly-extraneous words that change the meaning of a sentence simply because they're there. And I know I sound like I'm bashing legal writing again and I think to some extent I am, but then again I recognise the need for brevity in legal writing and legal documents and yadayadayada so I don't take issues with that, and um, I don't know what I take issues with, I just wanted to say all of that.

I'm babbling a lot today. And, I miss Clarence.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010