chinese and beauty and sad love songs.
written: 10:19 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 07, 2005

I was watching the Sentosa International Varsity Debate on Channel NewsAsia and I fell in love with this debater from this Chinese technical college (who was eventually named Best Speaker - like duh).

Oh my god. He is so eloquent and poised and amazing. It's not just the fact that he's PRC Chinese; it's the fact that he's PRC Chinese plus the fact that he has such an amazing command and control of the Chinese language that the language sounded like beautiful music when he spoke. Chinese is inherently a beautiful language, but when butchered by the average Singaporean it sounds like the most cacophonous of unwanted heavy metal; when coming from someone who understands what he's saying and knows how to wield it like a wand, it's just totally, amazingly gorgeous. And he's not even really that good-looking, although he definitely isn't ugly. It was the way he spoke and how elegant it was that had me swooning all over my sofa like a moron.

It was NUS versus some Chinese technical university whose name I don't remember. 3/4 of the NUS team was made up of PRC nationals; only one lone Singaporean member on the NUS team. I find that rather funny, I find that completely unsurprising. I feel a rant coming on but I don't particularly fancy delving into it right now, so suffice to say that the average Chinese Singaporean can't speak decent Mandarin for nuts which is another reason out of many others to get out of this place as soon as possible.

Sigh. That debater is so sexy. Intelligence and eloquence are such major turn-ons.

I'm thinking, If I ever attempted to speak to someone like him I'd make a total fool out of myself when I try to say something simple in Mandarin but fail utterly and miserably. I don't think I can get past the requisite "Hi how are you?" and onto meatier, more substantial stuff. Which is, like, really fucking sad. My Chinese sucks ass and I hate that. If I can speak like that PRC Chinese NUS debater who was the least fluent, I'd be the happiest person ever.

Deracinated hobo. This is the price we (I) pay for this whole globalisation thing.

And I think it's a price too heavy.

In other news, I'm in love with Wang Lee Hom's "Wei Yi" (One and Only One, whatever, something along those lines). I unearthed the lyrics today and I never knew the song was supposed to be that sad. I thought, judging from one line ("ni jiu shi wo de wei yi", you're my one and only one), that it was a cheesy romantic song about a couple happily in love but no, it's about a sad break-up and change of heart and how the speaker still loves the other person and says "I love you" to the other person over the phone when that person is not there. It is so fucking sad, I love sad love songs, they're so awesome and real and they don't rub irritating salt into my very raw wounds.

So, all power to break-up songs!

Ψһ
Wang Lee Hom

�ҵ���ն��N������
͸���ij��Z���^ȥ�Ŀ՚�
�����ҵ�������
������� �s������

�Ƿ�һ�w����׃����
��ǰ��Ը�� Ҳȫ��������
����ҟo������
�B�Լ���Ӱ�� �����ӱ�(�ӱ�)

BABY ������ҵ�Ψһ
�ɂ����綼׃��
��ȥՄ������
ȷ�� ������ҵ�Ψһ
���Ԍ����Ԓ�f
�Ґ���
�������
BABY ���Ѳ��ܶ�����һЩ
�䌍���ѳ��^�ː۵ĘO��


I'm not gonna translate that. Maybe Magdelene will like to do the honours, since she's (supposedly) Lee Hom's future wife.

Well, I'm Jielun's wife, period. Ha ha ha ha ha.

I need to shower.

I'm supposed to do this citation quiz and it's driving me crazy. I think that Carswell book sucks major ass because I don't know what the hell it's talking about and it's so technical I just want to chuck it aside why do we have to cite anyway it's so irritating someone should do the world a favour and abolish this citation thing once and for all.

Or rather, do me a favour and declare that citation and the need for citation is hereby null and void.

I didn't study today. I am so screwed.

this entry requires chinese simplief GB somethingorother encoding

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010