why don't you slide?
written: 7:01 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 30, 2005

I spent the second half of today's SLS lecture googling ways in which I can download Veronica Mars, Season Two, and I downloaded BitComet and a torrent for the first episode of Season Two and I started the download in school and I almost had a heart attack and almost went into cardiac arrest because the download speed was so excruciatingly slow. 1kb/s, hello? The fastest it got was about 10kb/s and I don't understand why my upload speed is faster than my download speed and why my total uploaded is more than my total downloaded for how can I upload something which I've yet to download? I'm at home now and the current download speed is 27kb/s.

I thought it was supposed to be faster in school? Oh well. Whatever.

Every single pre-SLS day, I tell myself to listen in SLS and not MSN my time away or Internet my time away, but whenever I'm actually in SLS lecture I find myself blanking out anyway, no matter how interesting I found the reading material. Early this morning at 12 midnight I was reading the stuff on the Internal Security Act and this 1987 case in which a few people were arrested on the allegations that they were propagating Marxist theories and aiming to subvert Singapore's political sovereignty. They were accused of being a threat to national security. And the more I read the more I wanted to just get out of here, and I was also thinking about how I'd potentially get into trouble with the things that I say and the opinions that I have (at the risk of sounding self-important), and I was going to write a few paragraphs on the things that I read but on second thoughts, maybe not.

Besides, I don't want to look stupid for saying things of which I'm not totally sure, just in case really smart people chance upon this (I almost typed 'chance across' - something is interminably wrong with me), and so I shall stick to shallow, pre-pubescent whinings about how long the reading was and how I was operating on battery power and hence had to rush through it as I was too lazy and sleepy to switch to A/C power, and how I didn't read the stuff on Jemaah Islamiah as that, surprisingly, bored me.

My Veronica Mars download is currently 35kb/s!

Anyway, I wanted to write my client advice letter yesterday afternoon but I came home and decided to watch my remaining Alias Season 3 episodes instead. My original intention was to watch a couple. That original intention eventually morphed into me watching episodes 18 to 22, all in one sitting.

MAN I love that show. The plot's getting rather convoluted and stuff like that but for once, it doesn't matter to me, 'cause all I wanna do is keep watching to find out what happens next, what the whole secret is, and hell I don't even care about the Sydney/Vaughn thing as I think Vaughn sucks and I'd be happy to see him dead, and I think Sydney/Sark is totally hot (as does Khai) and I think Lauren/Sark was hot too and I actually liked Lauren but she died, unfortunately, and I thought Arvin Sloane was really dead but duh, they resurrected him, and I was sad when he was lethally-injected 'cause I like Sloane too but I think he's evil again and I'm trying to download Season 4 and why am I talking about this?

I just read this on a Year 2 JJC Arts student's blog who was in one of the classes I relief taught:

"One of them turned out to be working for Cadbury before enlisting. Apparently, when they pour the cocoa beans from the gunnysacks into the mixing pot, small baby rats start appearing. Here's what the employees do. The ex-Cadbury-worker-now-turned-NSman told his friend that they would kick all these small baby rats into the mixing pot... !!!"

OH MY GOD somebody sue them for breaching their duty of care to consumers!

Okay, there wasn't a real point to the above; it was the first thought that came to mind when I read that. Pre-law, my first reaction would've been "OH MY GOD THAT'S SICK". This just goes to show how...I don't know, nevermind.

Just so I can go off somemore about what a lazy bum I am and how I'm not doing my work properly, after I wrote the previous entry I went into the living room, switched on the TV, switched to StarHub cable channel 52 and proceeded to watch Quan Min Luan Jiang Zhi Quan Min Da Men Guo. It's this hilarious Taiwanese satirical TV show that cracks me up like hell. Last night's episode featured Jay Chou and it was sooooo funny. The actor that plays him is hilarious.

Today's entry really sucks.

I stayed for the Return Concert.

Now I wish I hadn't.

Well, on the bright side, Audrey, a.k.a. the girl who always talks during SLS lectures, sings very well and the last band was not too bad. They played the Goo Goo Dolls's "Slide" which I love and thankfully they did it justice; otherwise I would've walked out, I really would've.

I owe many people emails.

I feel fat and I know I'm even fatter.

Terry Kaan is bloody hilarious. He gives really outrageous examples in class and today we did pure economic loss in Tort tutorial, and he was illustrating the whole relational economic loss thing and saying things like, "Terry Kaan went to Vietnam. He went there because he�s a chicken enthusiast and likes to collect chickens." (And it's an exact quote.)

LIKE WHAT THE HELL? And there was this other weird comment about him being the 'professor of Vietnamese chickens'. And how he bought back a million chickens and they all had bird flu, and this caused Singapore to shut down so can the whole of Singapore sue Terry Kaan?

If I were more outgoing I would've said 'yes' just for the hell of it. But my point is, I found the stuff he was saying so funny that I burst out laughing, like literally LOL-ing, and it was embarrassing because I was the only person laughing.

I don't know why my TG mates don't find him funny, but I guess it's just me. I'm either really lame or...really lame.

Can I just make my last pointless, irrelevant and off-the-point comment before I post this entry and go for dinner?

I LOVE VERONICA MARS AND I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE DOWNLOAD TO COMPLETE!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010