contract and its final annihilation of the poor person that wrote this entry.
written: 8:31 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 04, 2005

Contract is utterly confusing. I'm all question marks and bewildered exclamation points right now. I suspect that I'd be a lot more sure of what I have to do if I'd actually read the cases instead of merely googling them and getting a rough idea of what they're about and nothing more.

Put me out of my misery. It's obvious that I still don't know what I'm doing and I'm really sick of talking about it so let's move on.

Well, I don't have anything to say.

I didn't pay attention during SLS and was downloading The OC torrents instead and image-googling Chungking Express. I was ten minutes late for Contract lecture because 1) I refused to get out of bed; and hence 2) we were stuck in a traffic jam. I was all, "Shit I might as well not go for Contract since I'd probably reach there at 10 anyway and what's the point if the stupid lecture ends at 10.15?" in my head, I was falling asleep in the car, I was peeling off the paper from my banana muffin and I got carsick, I was cursing at the retards who strolled their way across the road at NUS Central Library and no I don't care that it was a fucking zebra crossing because if it were me I would've walked faster instead of taking my own leisurely time without considering other people's convenience.

People suck. I would've leant on the horn and refused to relent if I were the one driving and flipped the finger at the three idiots who glanced at my mom's car and didn't have the basic courtesy to quicken their steps

Die, inconsiderate assholes, die.

Okay, I lied; I did pay attention during SLS, sort of, but I didn't say anything, as usual. Some guy was telling some boring grandfather story and not getting to his point (as usual) and I really don't give a shit what he has to say so I think he should just shut up; other people, however, said interesting things. It's infinitely and interminably interesting how national service is regarded by some as being "fundamental" to this society when another member of the lecture group (i.e. yours truly) holds the passionate view that all armies in the world should be abolished and that national service fucks up perfectly normal guys.

Well, then again, inherent the later part of the last sentence is a glaring contradiction and oxymoron: "normal guys". I'm sorry, I forgot: guys are not normal. If anything...

Oh, forget it. I'm sure everyone has understood my 'guys are fucking useless' sentiment by now.

Anyway, back to my original point, other than 'national service is crap'. Today's readings were on freedom of religion and worship in this country. Long story cut short, we were given two cases on two Jehovah's Witnesses who got into trouble with the authorities because of their faith. One refused to serve national service and another, a teacher, refused to put his right fist over his chest/heart (though I'm sure they would like to believe it's the latter) and recite the pledge during morning assemblies as he regarded it as idolatry.

I'm not good at recitation of facts, am I?

Call me ignorant (and I'd agree with the charge) but I never knew that you had to serve three years in prison/detention barracks/same difference for refusing to serve NS. More importantly, I didn't know that Jehovah's Witnesses that refuse to serve NS are thrown into jail. If I were one I'd just get out of this country and never look back, for why remain in a place that insists on persecuting you for your beliefs?

I'm generally anti-religion but putting that aside, I do feel sorry for them. They're not allowed to congregate in a church, not allowed their preferred Bible, and even though I can't stand evangelists and am against people openly preaching their religions to others and it's not only because it's fucking annoying but also because it simply smacks of disrespect, I think that, ultimately, you have as much of a right to preach all you want as I have to ask you to shut up.

Maybe I've been brainwashed by the Big Bad West (whatever), but sanctity has to be given to freedom of worship in any society, and not just this one, but any society in the world that claims to be part of the modern world. I don't agree with some of the things that are done here; having said that, I can't profess to have any alternatives that I can think of either.

I know. I should follow my own mandate and leave a place that you have more complaints to dish out than praises to sing - and I do want to leave. Call me pessimistic but I'd refute that and call it realism instead, for I can't envision anything changing significantly in this place anytime between now and the day that I biologically die.

And for someone who's pro-suicide, the mere notion that suicide is illegal here...just makes me want to laugh.

On a totally different note, I hate reading bad English and purposely-misspelled words and SMS shorthand in blogs so much that I can't even express it properly in words. The minute a person writes badly (be it grammer, SMS shorthand or whatever) online I'd think that he's an idiot, no matter how smart he may actually be. If you're really that clever then write in proper English for the love of world peace.

And I feel even worse now, thinking about how I'm trailing behind and eating the dust of all these people who don't punctuate don't spell correctly don't know how to use a comma properly don't have a flair for writing don't have any sense of irony and this shouldn't be happening but it is and it's terrible because I don't know who to blame.

You for fucking up my life? You for making me choose this? You for pushing me away from what I've always wanted? You for being culturally barren?

Or just you, a.k.a. me, for being who you are?

As a final piece of evidence to how far I've fallen and how badly I've broken my spine:

i no mood tu stardie larz~~~~~

(I had to think a while about that.)

Edited to add:

It'd be very helpful to my attempt to do my contract tutorial right now if a summary of the Unfair Contract Terms Act and the Consumer Protection (Fair Trading) Act materialised right this very instance.

And I'd like to say that I have no idea at all how to do Question 2 of the tutorial, something about banks and their exclusion/limitation clauses. And no, I still can't tell the difference between the two.

I should drop out of school right now.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010