i hate bad, unfunny and boring pseudo-comedies.
written: 12:16 a.m. on Thursday, Oct. 13, 2005

I am tired and only doing this because I want to charge my laptop battery and I only charge it when it's less than 5% alive so as to preserve my battery life and prevent scenarios in which I'd be bitching and moaning over how the battery is half-dead after like one minute for what is the use of having a laptop if the battery is shit?

I'm rambling.

I absolutely hated The 40-Year-Old Virgin and the fact that I wasted 5 bucks and two precious hours of my life that could've been spent on watching Gilmore Girls instead. What can I possibly say, except that it was mind-numbingly boring and totally not funny? Two reasons for my presence at PS GV Hall 3, 6.45 p.m., along with I don't know how many other Law students and a nice proud banner hung below the projector screen declaring that Law School has Booked the Theatre for the Day: 1) It's five bucks; and 2) Ruishan wanted to go and I didn't have any violent objections and tada.

It's so typically Hollywood. A never-ending bombardment of crude sex jokes that only guys can laugh at, the stereotypical objectification (for now this is a word okay?) of women as 1) sex objects; 2) sex objects that like being treated as sex objects; and 3) "naughty sexy bitchy"...I don't know, sluts?

Okay, so Paul Rudd is extremely hot (albeit rather fat which is not good but hey just keep your shirt on and all is fine) and that scene in which he bared his butt was probably the best in the entire shit-movie, but that's entirely beside the point. I am, to be quite frank, tired of sex comedies that recycle one plot ten million times and so have since lost their effect on me. The only sex comedy that I can think of off-hand which I laughed heartily at was probably American Pie - which I watched on a plane when I was 15.

THAT WAS FOUR YEARS AGO. And I'm like, I'd really like to see a complete reversal of gender roles in brainless movies like this one, i.e. girls on the prowl for hot guys and girls treating guys like sex objects, blah blah shit blah, girls drooling over hot guy-on-guy action, something different for once.

Such formulaic trash get so damn old and it just dragged on and on and on and the funniest scene in the movie was when the 40-year-old virgin told the Love of His Life that he's a virgin because he's waiting for her. Like, whatever. I just started laughing because it was so corny and so typically Hollywood, such a huge cliche that doesn't mean anything to me anymore.

I'm sorry (even though I'm not), what can I say? Stupidity doesn't appeal to me, I can't relate, that's it, no more.

Well, the movie sucked but the company was good and that's about the only good thing about last night. I laughed a lot more with Ruishan, Kelvin and Weihan than I did while watching the stupid movie, because they're just sooo funny. I kinda went hysterical at Mos Burger after the movie finally ended when the guys were talking about a friend of his and the way that friend laughs and Weihan was like, "He's like Santa Claus, ho ho ho."

I know, it's not funny at all but hell, I found that hysterically hilarious anyway, and I was all, "Did you hear what he said? Hee hee hee. He said - ha ha ha - ho ho ho!"

Ruishan looked scared of me. But I was merely behaving the way she always does!

Anyway, Ruishan and I, along with Mag, KBox-ed at Clementi after Contract lecture and it was super fun! One should not go KBox with guys as it's just weird. Don't ask me why, for the one time that I did go with someone male...well, let's not talk about that.

Ruishan was sitting on top of the sofas and I don't even know what to say; it was hilarious and we were criticising Jolin Tsai and Rui tried to sing YMCA?! and I love Jielun and his brilliant songs and I want his 6th album now and it was fun, have I mentioned that? It was fun.

Rui and I tried studying at Coffee Club but it wasn't very successful.

I finally bought Arthur & George like oh my god like!

I'm really fucking tired.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010