one sleepy yelen.
written: 2:23 a.m. on Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005

Part A: Episode 10 - One Angry Veronica

(As usual, spoilers are heavily included)

(Spoilers)

(I'm talking about spoilers)

(Watching VM spoiled is the dumbest thing anyone can do)

(In fact why do people read spoilers? Doesn't that kill the whole point of watching television/reading a book?)

(I repeat again for the third time: Spoilers. A lot of spoilers.)

Too tired and lazy to write in proper paragraphs so I'm gonna do the point form thing. Let's start with the bad.

The bad:

1. Veronica, Veronica...please tell me what in the name of Logan's sexiness are you doing? The confrontation-oops-sorry-I-change-my-mind opening scene was painful and utterly out of character. She gets pissed at D for not telling her about Meg's pregnancy for like, three seconds, and then she offers to help him forge a visitor's pass so that he can get into his pregnant ex-girlfriend's hospital room? And he still had the gall to say the pregnancy has nothing to do with him and V? Um, hello? If I were in her position I wouldn't speak to him for like, a week minimum.

2. Also tied to point one is the way the Meg thing was so quickly and anticlimatically (just pretend that's a word) resolved. We see Meg (whom I love by the way) for ten seconds in the beginning of the episode, and in the end she dies? The very thought of the Meg's baby storyline is making me very, very tired. And, you know, I couldn't care any less about Meg's crazy parents; Episode 7 dealt with it succinctly and VM trusts its audience to be intelligent and so if they pull some tying-up-of-non-existent-loose-strings by bludgeoning the Religious Freaks Mannings plot to death I will be very angry. I don't need to know if the Mannings were arrested, or what happened to Grace, things like that; because, really? Episode 7 was amazing and it's my second favourite Season 2 episode and it's perfect the way it is, so leave that storyline alone!

3. Tied to point 2: Obviously they're not going to listen to me though. Veronica is supposed to make sure that Meg's baby doesn't end up with the latter's parents. Seriously, I really, really don't care. Just let Duncan run away with the baby or something. Whatever.

4. Meg dying. How can they do this to me? Meg was about the other female friend Veronica had and they kill her? It's so painful watching Friendly Meg in Season 1 and the friendship between her and Veronica develop, knowing that Season 2 kills her. And have I ever mentioned how gorgeous Alona Tal is? She's drop-dead gorgeous. I'm a straight female and I like looking at her. This almost forgives the fact that Meg was wearing lip gloss in the hospital scene even though she was supposed to have just come out of a coma. Um, okay.

5. The Leo thing. They sacked Leo? I liked the sex tapes storyline but why did it have to be Leo? I was seriously hoping for a larger conspiracy that ties to the bus crash, but no. We get a heartbreaking back story about Leo (who is SO CUTE! But then again, much like V I would choose Logan over him) which had nothing to do with the main mystery and so I'm like, what happened to moving the plot along? I don't know, Leo being the culprit was a tad too easy for my love for the show's complexities that make me feel utterly stupid; this revelation only made me think it was pretty stupid.

The good:

1. LOGAN'S. CRYING. SCENE. Amazing choice of song, Ivy's "Edge of the Ocean"; it complemented the poignancy of the scene without overmilking the emotional release. And Jason Dohring is so fucking fabulous that I totally wish I were his wife. I just felt so heartbroken for him throughout that entire scene that I just wanted, really really really wanted, to reach out to him and hold him and never let go.

2. Tied to the above point, the consistency of Logan's character is astounding - and a little bit mind-boggling if we take into consideration how weird Veronica has been regarding Duncan. This show is called Veronica Mars, and not Logan Echolls, after all. Anyway, back to my original point. So Logan is basically the Donkey and Blame is his tail; that was the ongoing theme for Season 1, what with V blaming Logan for about 50% of the MotWs, and then blaming him for Lilly's death at the end. In Season 2 that running thread continues, with Logan being blamed for Felix's death/murder. And in this episode, he nips a sheet of paper from a file left in the interrogation room (or something) in the sheriff's department - Logan stealing is not a good sign. So for a change, I was the one pinning the tail on the donkey. I was thinking, Shit Logan, what are you doing? Why do you have to be so freaking dumb and self-destructive? Can you maybe NOT make my heart bleed everytime I watch you in Veronica Mars?

So I really thought he was up to something nasty, like maybe he was the one who stole the sex tapes and was extorting money for it (though, okay, that makes zero sense considering how rich he is but Sense does not exist when emotions are involved), but thankfully nothing catastrophic happened to him in the end. He bought the tapes from Leo...and well, burning them wasn't very clever but like I said in parenthesis, Sense does not exist when emotions are brought into the mix. He called Lilly the love of his life, so it was the love of his life screwing his dad on tape, and he just wanted to protect her memory and guys like that? Guys who actually feel things other than a freaking 24/7 erection? They are so rare and so damn precious, and when they are as hot as Logan everything can be fanwanked.

So yeah, the Blame Logan thing continues, and him buying the tapes and burning them is so, so, so wonderfully in character. He's recklessly impulsive and impulsively reckless, he doesn't think of the consequences, he lets his emotions lead him by the nose, GOD I LOVE LOGAN ECHOLLS. He is so totally the love of my life.

3. Logan/Keith interaction. I wasn't banking on Keith being the father figure that Logan desperately needs but after this episode, Keith is a very likely candidate. I'm hoping for more Logan/Cliff but Logan/Keith is awesome too. I was a bit surprised that Keith was actually nice to Logan, because the last interaction between them that I remember Keith was throwing Logan out of Keith's apartment. Logan really, really needs a hug.

4. SHIRTLESS. DON. LAMB. Oh, my, god. He. Is. So. Hot I was totally hoping that he'd take off that black singlet after he puts down the dumb bell and he does. Lamb is an asshole and everything but goddd you can't deny that he's hot, because he is. Yum yum.

5. The Return of the Wallace. ABOUT TIME, SHOW! How cute is a smiling Wallace? How sweet is Veronica + Wallace = BFF? How touching was that emotional hug Veronica gave him when he showed up at her apartment? How wonderful. I've missed Wallace.

6. Season 1 continuity. Graffiti-ing Veronica's car a la Shelly P. party aftermath: this means that Veronica is out with the 09ers again, which means less of boring "normal" V and more of Season 1, edgy and kick-ass V. YAY!

7. Veronica/Keith Christmas scene - so many different shades of Awesome! Veronica looked cute with that elf hat thing and it was so sweet when Keith pulled the Season 1 "I gotta show you this present I bought for you!" routine and once again Veronica's reaction was disproportionate to Keith's excitement and it was just so funny and sweet. They are the best father/daughter duo ever.

The okay:

1. The other MotW, the jury thing. Okay, so I admit I was wonderng why the hell this episode is called One Angry Veronica when she hardly got angry until I went to the televisionwithoutpity.com forum and read posts bitching/praising the parallels to Twelve Angry Men. Well, duh, Yelen.

That aside, it wasn't the most terribly exciting jury scene I've ever seen, and I really prefer trial scenes, and because I'm not American and because I'm a lousy law student and because even if I were not a lousy law student it wouldn't make a difference since I'm not American, I didn't really follow. Like, I didn't understand why they were pissed when one voted guilty while the other eleven voted not guilty until someone (I think it was Veronica) announced that they'd be meeting again the next day. Not knowing the logistics made a tad difficult to follow.

Also, I couldn't get my head around the facts of the case. I'm bad with names and so I didn't get who they were referring to when they were discussing the case.

The upside? Well, Veronica isn't going to Stanford, but she is sought-after by a college professor in a pretty good university in Neptune. And hey, if she's going to Stanford it means NO SEASON THREE which means THE END OF MY LIFE.

The rich, racist bastard being rude to Veronica and everything, and her reaction? Totally priceless. Ha.

It wasn't the most exciting MotW but it wasn't sleep-inducing. It was okay.

But um, too many closed-door scenes. I'm sorry, but the writers aren't Julian Barnes (who made boardroom meetings fucking meaty and juicy in England, England, with quotable quotes such as "I bow to no one in my love for this country [England]; it's a matter of placing the product correctly, that's all"). So.

All in all, I liked it, generally. For a Veronica Mars episode it was a bit dull but it's still better than anything Lost has to offer.

Was this comparable to An Echolls Family Christmas?

Absolutely not. I love that episode.

End of VM rants and raves.

Part B: Rain check.

I was going to talk about other things but I'm very sleepy right now and I gotta get up early in the morning to do stuff with my mom so maybe another time.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010