oh the irony of it all!
written: 2:27 a.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 14, 2005

My College Day speech is a generic, cliche-ridden, badly-written bore; I sound fake and robotic saying it; in fact I'm reciting it and I recite badly; I was aiming for something less run-of-the-mill but Dore cut out about 50% of the cool stuff (okay, just the more stylistically-indulgent portions which are actually rather meaningless in the context of the situation); and I can't imagine speaking in front of an audience in the freaking Suntec bloody Ballroom.

Just wanted to say that.

Also, for non-Singaporeans, College Day is this extremely...then again, I shall exercise self-censorship and not complete that thought. Basically it's a prize-giving ceremony that awards the top students in individual subjects as well as overall academic performance. It also gives recognition to students who have excelled in their co-cirricular activity (i.e., not me). The valediction (my speech) is typically delivered by the top top top student, like a hundred A's and fifty Special paper (if you take S papers this means that you're totally awesomer than everyone else) distinctions and grade A for CCA and all that jazz.

I wasn't the top student; I was the top Arts student. (Two streams: Arts and Science. I know, the education system isn't exactly overflowing with interesting subjects. People get to do Politics in the UK and Government and Journalism in the USA; if I had such options, I wouldn't have got a bloody C because I wouldn't have been left with the screwed up choice between Geography - the physical half of which I didn't understand for nuts - and Maths, which was the lesser of the two evils but my mortal enemy. Um, I'm ranting. Anyway.) Apparently though, the College Day Committee thought that the top students from the Science stream, the real top students with the million A's and all-round achievement and things which don't describe me, can't speak well, and that the valediction should be delivered by someone who can speak well.

Apparently, they thought that person is me.

Give me a moment; I need to bask in the irony of my situation here. I am the girl who was blasted in front of her Secondary 2 class by her English teacher because the exercise was speech-making and she literally rambled through the one she written on silverchair and Daniel Johns. I am the girl who was kicked out of drama, also in Secondary 2, by said English teacher because I had (and still have) a speech problem. I am also the girl who almost cried on Monday at College Day rehearsal because apparently, she was reading her speech too fast and couldn't get it right no matter how many times her teacher repeated himself.

So basically, I suck. I'm counting on the adrenalin rush to help me survive.

Unrelated, but needs to be said: Pete Yorn kicks ass. Love the CD to bits.

I'm sleepy. I should...go sleep or something.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010