we roll in the summer.
written: 5:46 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 27, 2005

Note: Important edit below.

One awesome MSN conversation:

Bob: [His display pic is] from eternal sunshine of the spotless mind the scene where they are lyin on the frozen lake

...

Me: OHHHH
Me: i love that show
Me: i bought a set of buttons of the show from ebay

Bob: everyone should love that show if they dont they are well misguided

Me: ha. i know someone who found it boring and actually fast-forwarded through it

...

Bob: whom

...

Me: that guy i was gushing over a few months ago?

Bob: horrendous

Me: exactly. i told my friend khai and she was like, 'why are you still hung up on him?'
Me: well said.

Bob: precisely anyone who is unable to appreciate a charlie kauffman show deserves to be hung

Me: i was just about to ask you if you find people who don't like eternal sunshine really stupid until you said, 'everyone should love that show if they dont they are well misguided'
Me: EXACTLY.
Me: people are dumb

Bob: they are of intellectual inferiority

Me: hahahahahahahaha
Me: thank you for that

Talking to Bob restores my faltering faith in humanity, squashes a nagging voice in my head that I'm alone in judging others by their taste in films (or lack of taste), tells me that I have company in this sniggering arrogance of mine, and that all is not lost.

It would've gone on even longer but it was 11 p.m. and I wanted to watch Quan Min Da Men Guo and so I said my goodbyes and that was that.

**

So okay, this may sound really strange and out of character, but I hereby announce that I adore the Singapore zoo. If I had to pick one thing that would convince me to stay in this country forever, the zoo would be it. It's major awesomeness and coolness and it's fun! I was there yesterday for less than a couple of hours with my dad and grandfather and I was standing, like, two inches away from a couple of ducks (I love ducks and I love cows), and I touched this furry animal whose name I don't know (it has a black and white tail and well that doesn't tell you a lot does it) and it was so awesome and it made me forget my life for a while.

Then I had fucking Ben and Jerry's ice-cream, chocolate fudge brownie (or was it chocolate brownie fudge? I swear, I'm mildly dyslexic, except I can spell really well so I suppose I'm not), and it was the most amazing chocolate ice-cream ever. I am so in love. Time to stake out Cold Storage and get myself a tub.

Some kid cut the queue, some woman cut the queue, the cashier was taking forever to collect money, I was tempted to tell the woman, "Next time you could maybe try queueing up" but yeah I'm too nice for that, the kid I just wanted to smack, I mean seriously who the hell pays like $2.10 for a bottle of Coke and tries to use a S$1000 note to pay for it, god what a moron, despite all that though the zoo was great.

I never knew the penguins there were called Jackass Penguins.

Yeah. Penguins are so awesome and adorable and cuddly and cute. I think I wanna watch that Madagascar Penguins movie. Should I? I mean the penguins were the only thing that kept Madagascar from sucking, so, yeah.

I'm supposed to be writing essays today but I haven't even typed one freaking letter. Deadline is this Saturday.

Is there a way to get a refund if I don't wanna take the SAT's anymore?

Fuck it, really.

**

I think my navigation bar looks weird and this layout was supposed to be more orange but staring at it for hours straight strained my eyes and I was tired and so I stuck with this.

I want to buy a pair of boots.

The problem with shopping for shoes, though, is that I don't wear leather shoes and the more decent-looking and comfortable shoes are always made of leather. It's fucking annoying, it really is, I think we totally should have a shoe store that sells only shoes made of faux leather. What's the deal with real leather anyway? If you can opt for a more compassionate option WHY THE HELL DON'T YOU DO IT? I watched an episode of Alias where Sydney fought this hot Japanese bad dude in a slaughterhouse and the backdrop was cut-up carcasses of dead cows and it was disgusting and I usually love Alias fight scenes but for that one I hid behind a pillow and waited until it was over to continue watching.

Nevermind.

**

I can't wait - and I mean it - for this week to be over. As soon as Saturday turns into Sunday I'm free...for a week until school starts but I'm choosing to see that as one of those not real things that I'm not gonna deal with.

College Day, please die. Yale application, please cease to exist. When did I get so fucking bad at writing essays?

I know I've been saying this a lot but I really do not want to talk in front of a thousand people. My insipid speech is also like at the end of the freaking programme so thanks for making me sweat for two hours instead of letting me get it over and done with.

I'm so lazy that I don't even feel like replying to messages. For whatever this is worth though, I read every single one and they all make me smile so thank you.

I read this entry today and I liked it.

But I want to write more like Julian Barnes than Chuck Palahniuk.

I was supposed to read Arthur and George this month but I haven't got round to doing that. Instead I've picked up Metroland (JB's first novel) and I read the first chapter.

I didn't know what I was expecting from his first novel. I mean, he's obviously brilliant and a total genius, but that was still his first novel. I thought maybe it'd be a little easier to understand than his later ones, but no. Three pages that made up the first chapter and I was like, "Huh?"

He hits me over the head repeatedly with his words and the intricate pictures he paints with his words. I would fucking sell my soul to write like him.

**

I bought Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind AND Ghost World buttons. Now I'm just waiting for them to arrive.

Pointless entry. Whatever.

Edited to add:

Can anyone tell me how to make that portion that's jutting out as illustrated below go the hell away? It's severely pissing me off.

HELP!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010