"you got a trophy for a rim job?" - veronica mars
written: 7:04 p.m. on Thursday, Dec. 29, 2005

1. Replies to messages:

To Lyn: Thanks for the heads-up about div layers. If only I knew what that meant. Ha, I'm such a loser. Could you kindly explain a little? By the way, are you Khai's friend? I wanted to leave this note on your site but your "contact" link wasn't working for me.

To '?' who left a note on 13/12/05: I know my general intolerance of the stupidity of the masses is a horrible character flaw, but I can't help it! Sigh. I'm working on being a better person...really, I am. Thanks for the message!

To Angela: WHATEVER LAH.

To Mel: Are you MEL-Mel or another Mel?

**

2. I'm changing my common application essay topic to the 'topic of your choice' option. I was going to do the 'creative work that's had an influence on you' one and chose JB's England, England but I struggled like hell with it 'cause the novel didn't influence me as much as greatly impressed me, and any idiot can tell that there's a marked difference between the two terms. So I'm doing the free-for-all, except I really don't know what the hell to write about. Please, anyone out there, give me some suggestions!

I'm thinking of writing about my interest in literature and film and creative TV shows (of course I'd mention Veronica Mars) but I don't know how to make it stand out from the other 857837658673856234285429 essays that the admissions people will be reading. I mean, I'm dying to write something narrative but I don't know what to write about. Like, my life? Totally UNinteresting. And it does NOT help that I was trying to write at like 4 p.m. just now and sat here for two hours and came up with nothing. Writer's block is stifling but this time, it's fatal.

Insert growl of unbridled frustration here.

3. I had to force myself to stop re-watching my VM DVDs this afternoon to get started on the application essays. I just wanted to mentioned that.

4. About my HTML problem a couple of entries back: I should've elaborated, but yeah, basically the problem is, when I have a huge chunk of italicised text the entry width would increase by a few pixels. Ordinarily, without the huge chunks of italicised text, it looks fine. I was trying to fix the problem but I couldn't, and I don't know how to use tables because I'm stupid so yeah. Does that help any?

5. Cambridge mails their decision letters out on New Year's Eve and I'll probably receive mine when school starts. Needless to say, I'm expecting the worst. I probably have more hooks than the average applicant, since I've already taken my A Levels AND I'm in Law school (apparently it's supposed to mean that I'm totally awesomer than everyone else), BUT that written test was a total piece of shit and that, I think, would be the sole reason for my rejection. But let's not forget, too, how badly my interview went. Like, I was holding back and the worst question was "What do you want to know about Cambridge" because I didn't ask anything and looking back now that I think of it I have a million questions to ask about the school but of course none of it matters anymore.

If I get in, I'm going, without a doubt. If not...

6. I'm gonna try real hard to, like, do well next semester at law school. Like, if I still hate it, at least I'd have okay grades to apply overseas again as a transfer student (an idea towards which I'm not particularly enamoured, since I doubt any LS professors know my name); if a miracle happens and I end up not hating it, having good grades to boot would be pretty sweet.

Or something. I'm rushing through this entry 'cause we're supposed to go for dinner and I'm supposed to change so it's a good idea to stop writing now and post this.

7. Before that, I am not thinking about tomorrow.

I am thinking about tomorrow now and oh my god speaking in front of an audience oh my god I wanna die oh my god I'm getting an urge to cut my speech by 50% so that I can get off that stage ASAP and oh my god I still have nothing to wear and oh my god you know what I really couldn't care any less. Whatever, five minutes and that's it, over and done, and it's a "hook" on the Y@le app so think of it that way and stop whining, self.

8. Yeah I'm gonna go change now.

9. Yeah again - I hate my entries too.

10. Oh and I received Stereophonics' "Just Enough Education to Perform CD" in the mail after like forever and I love it. Hoozah!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010