crap writing.
written: 10:05 p.m. on Sunday, Jan. 01, 2006

I spent New Year's Eve trying to crank out two awe-inspiring and perfect essays in record time.

Best case scenario? I only managed one.

Worst case scenario? Both essays are worse than trash.

I'm feeling pretty good about the Yale supplementary essay I wrote, but I don't like how it doesn't have a clear focus and how it's quite all over the place. I mean, yeah, the first sentence rocks hard and the last sentence is fucking brilliant but everything in between is either really good or really bleah.

Still, that one is a lot better than the subpar piece of trash I wrote for the common application form. I had the perfect topic but I horrendously messed up the execution. It didn't help that I spent about three hours literally typing and re-typing the first freaking paragraph which consisted of me shifting phrases and sentences around.

I'm so stupid. I can't write a decent, convincing, well-written essay to save my arse. I should just die now.

And to top it all off, I fucking slept at 7 bloody a.m. this morning because I was dumb enough not to figure out why my freaking form wasn't submitting. I even resorted to sending a slightly pissed off SOS to the tech people and when I found out what was wrong, I felt so stupid that I could've died. I think I must have spent at least half an hour on that.

The lesson to be learnt? Never put off till tomorrow what you can do today. Never do that 'backed into a corner to force yourself to write an essay' thing, for when that happens, the only thing that will definitely happen to you? A brutal rape.

There goes that US$75. I could buy two long skirts from Esprit with that money. God, the travesty.

**

I need grammar lessons. My grammar is atrocious. I can't tell when to use the past tense and when not to anymore. I can't tell when to use 'can', when to use 'could', hell I don't even know what 'subject-verb agreement' means. When I do the questions in the Writing section of the SATs all I'm relying on are my instincts - which can definitely be wrong on too many occasions than I care to imagine.

And I'm seriously crushing on Kim from America's Next Top Model 5. I'm downloading the episodes; can't be bothered to wait for them to air on TV.

I was gonna do a recap sort of thing but I'm honestly too tired to even think properly so forget it. Anyway, what does it matter.

So, my New Year's resolution.

Uh, what's that?

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010