dreams are made of joaquin phoenix.
written: 10:52 p.m. on Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006

Offer from King's College London for English Q300!

I spent my whole damn day mucking around with this current Joaquin layout. I was bored early this morning at 1.30 a.m. (after watching the Oscars which positively bored me to near-tears) and couldn't sleep so I opened Photoshop with the innocuous intention of seeing where I could go with the picture, and because I'm obsessive, I came home from school today and realised that I couldn't get started on anything else until this layout was done.

Turned out it took me THE WHOLE DAY to do it. Ugh. Never again. I didn't do ANYTHING school-related at all. I'm even too lazy to print out my speech for tomorrow's moots practice!

Since I'd have four hours in between Contract lecture and the practice session though, I think I'll just copy it out during that time.

My mooting date is 25 March. Eek. The only good thing about being one of the earlier classes to go (I think?) is that...I really want to get it over and done with so that I can focus on other things, which is a good enough reason for me.

Today was a horribly unproductive day, even in school. I was supposed to start paying at least 90% attention in Criminal from, like, last week onwards but today I was looking at pictures of Joaquin for most of the time. It also didn't help that the student presentation positively dragged and I only perked up when Siming was presenting because he's hilarious and totally full of crap. At one point in time I felt like throwing my half-eaten and horrible pandan cake at him.

(Speaking of which, I JUST REMEMBERED THAT THE CAKE IS STILL IN MY BAG! AHH!)

I'm glad he's my moot partner which means I won't be subjected to his intense questioning during practice sessions. Yesterday, he was almost as scary as the Year 2 guy who freaked me out last Wednesday.

Haha, Mag wrote a rant in her blog about animal abuse and the relative leniency of the law towards stupid and horrible people who do such things. Which gets me thinking: At some point in time you'd have to take a stand, don't you? Is it quite absurd that I'm more willing to excuse (using this word loosely, of course) murderers than animal abusers? Put in another way, I'm more forgiving of a person who kills another person - regardless of the victim's age - than of a person who tortures animals.

Maybe this is some sort of odd residue from my misanthropic days in secondary school when I readily proclaimed that I hated people and that I preferred animals to human beings. Maybe that still holds some water. I don't know.

Well, if you ask me, instead of making the law murder them animal abusers and murderers and whatever should do the world a favour and kill themselves. I don't support the death penalty, but if it's suicide - go ahead. I don't give a damn. After all, it's your individual choice.

My mom told me about some shitty story she read in the papers about this man in his 30's who was your stadnard high-flying career person but unfortunately suffered a stroke and is now paralysed. His wife is 10 years younger than him; when he was high-flying and all that jazz, their marriage was reasonably good. Now that he's paralysed, not only does the stupid bimbotic wife change her feelings towards the man she vowed to love forever (or however wedding vows go), she actually abused him. Physically abuse. Push him off the bed, hit him, push him off his wheelchair, really horrible things like that.

I'm like - what the hell? That's just disgustingly wrong. If you're suffering from depression, go and seek some bloody help!

But then again, having said that, it's not exactly desirable to be so quick to judge people like the wife in question. You only hear one side of the story and that side paints the wrong-doer in a negative light, but life should've taught all of us that there's always two sides to a story. Maids who kill their employers don't usually do it because they felt like it; usually there are a string of sad abuses that finally made them snap. And...well. Humanity is sad.

You know, I think a way to deal with the maid abuse/employer murder problem we seem to have here is to have potential employers undergo a psychiatric evaluation to ensure that they're not the types to violently and unfairly take out their anger/stress/whatever on their poor, defenceless maids. I think if you're going to hire a maid, you should have a basic level of respect for these girls as legitimate human beings; otherwise, life is simply going to be miserable for both parties.

I mean, yeah, you know.

On a completely different note, I think I'm sure that Joaquin Phoenix is my soulmate. My inane feelings towards him makes me feel like a 16-year-old schoolgirl falling in love for the first time all over again, he reduces me to such embarrassing proportions, the mere idea of him is enough to make me not want anyone else for the rest of my life.

I need a ticket to LA. We'd meet and fall in love and live happily ever after. Siiigh.

(No, it's not just looks. I think he's beautiful beautiful beautiful and that plays a huge role but it's also his talent and his liberal views and the fact that he's vegan and his non-conformist personality and all the little random things I know about him that I read from articles and interviews and for once, the whole is so much greater than the sum of its parts.)

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010