pictures and other stories
written: 10:18 p.m. on Saturday, Sept. 23, 2006

Mallals semi-finals and finals:

The picture right on top: My posse. What was it Veronica said about the term 'posse'? Truly amazing, I can't remember right now.

I don't know how the 'sisterhood' thing came about; one fine day someone called us The Sisterhood and it's kind of stuck. And I like it because it reminds me of Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants which is a rather good movie; it also has a very nice connotation which aptly describes how much these three girls mean to me and how lucky and grateful I am to have them with me in law school. Seriously, without them, I'd just...I don't know, die. Or something similar along those lines. But I'm sure you get my point.

On a more shallow and narcissistic note, OMG my arm actually looks thin in that picture with Mag in which I'm wearing green! And that brown t-shirt I'm wearing in the other photos is a Veronica Mars shirt which I bought from Television Without Pity (see link in navigation bar) for like, almost S$50. I'm crazy, I know. It says 'Always Take Backup' with a silhouette-thing of a pitbull above. Veronica's dog is a pitbull named Backup. In the pilot, after telling Veronica not to pursue a case, Keith says to her, "And remember, always take Backup." To which she replies, "I always do."

Yes I'm Veronica Mars obsessed and I can't wait for Season 3.

I realised a while ago that the full frontal view of my face looks disgusting in pictures; hence I have since developed this irritating and vain-pot habit of turning my face to one side when taking pictures. Hence I look the same in every single bloody picture, except sometimes my hair is okay while other times my hair is atrocious. It's really a matter of Not That Bad versus Really Bloody Bad. I hate my hair. I want nice long, straight black hair, but no, it has to be not-that-long, not-entirely-black, and NOT STRAIGHT. The only reason it looks kind of straight is because I blow-dry my hair almost every day. I hate my hair.

Anyway, I want all the other photos taken on both Mallals nights! I stupidly forgot to bring my camera on BOTH nights and so I don't have any pictures of my own. The ones from the semis are from Rui's camera while the one with Mag and I was stolen from Mag's blog. Haha. I really like that pic though; we both look happy and healthy! And speaking of Mag...

Yesterday with Mag:

Shit, my pink border disappeared! I knew I shouldn't have stroked that last 1px of black. Damn.

The 'Y' Mag drew (so to speak) in that plate of soya sauce with like a lot of wasabi can't really be seen. It was quite disgusting but since it's a 'Y', I like it! (We ate at Sakae Sushi yesterday, by the way; hence the soya sauce and wasabi.) Mag was kind of on a post-moots, hello freedom high yesterday and she was her usual crappy self and it was fun-ny. Haha. It's all good.

So today's trial advo tutorial was...well, for starters, I was the last to arrive and was a couple of minutes late because I couldn't bring myself to get out of bed. When I finally dragged myself to the bathroom it was like, 8.15 a.m. And I take quite a bit to brush teeth wash face pee all that stuff. Haste doesn't exist in a person's vocabularly when she's forced to wake up at the inhumane hour of, like, eight a.m.

I actually kind of felt quite bad for not taking the tutorial seriously and not putting effort into my case theory thing. I did it at 1.30 in the morning after playing my RPG and I was rushing through it 'cause I was tired and wanted to sleep. It turned out that our tutor is this super nice lawyer dude who's like, super nice. My case theory was a piece of shite lah. But tutorial was kind of boring. And I don't want to do mock trials. I was hoping we'd get some murder case where I could be the victim or whatever and hence wouldn't have to do anything but obviously that's not happening.

I'm so lazy that I disgust myself.

Shopping with Ruishan was tiring, initially frustrating, but ultimately rewarding. We went to this flea market first but didn't find anything worthy of cash-parting. Then we went to Bugis Village where 80% of the shops were closed; maybe that was why we couldn't find anything. Next we went to Bugis/Parco/whatever Junction, where we walked around the second floor of Parco/whatever, and found nothing. Following that, we headed to The Edge (yeah I know, whatever) where we tried on some stuff but bought nothing. Finally, we trudged over to Icon where some miracle happened that enabled us to buy all our loot in one building! I bought this long skirt and a grey tank top for $50 in total (seriously, cheapest buy ever, for me) and Rui bought a pair of shorts and a pair of berms. She also bought a necklace and forced me to get a bracelet because there was some 3-for-2 thing going on at this jewellery store thingy.

Oh and I think we (along with Jean) must've spent about ten trillion years trying to get a cab from the road opposite, like, Serene Centre. Rui, Jean, Venetia and I went to Island Cremery for lunch after Trial Advo; hence the shitty location of the cab-hailing. After ten million years, when we gave up and started heading towards the bus stop, one Mercedes cab FINALLY materialised out of nowhere and stopped for us. The cabs that zoomed past before were all hired/occupied/busy. Can you imagine? We were standing in the hot sun at 12 in the afternoon for at least fifteen minutes trying to get a cab. Two 171's passed us. That was how long it took before the cab arrived.

And yeah it was my first time taking a Mercedes (I think it was anyway) cab and I sat in front and it was awfully cramped.

Lastly, I dislike getting nice tutors. That means my conscience won't allow me to slack off. I hate that.

Mid-sem break, how I welcome thee with open arms.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010