you learn something new every driving lesson.
written: 9:23 p.m. on Wednesday, Oct. 04, 2006

Still can't get past my inertia and start studying for Friday's Company test (note: start studying, which implies that I haven't started, which is 100% true), so here's something I stole from JoMel.

7 Random Things About Me

1. I am incredibly, indescribably lazy.
2. I'm in law school and the only thing I want to do is to write. (Creatively - which, by definition, precludes legal documents.)
3. I'd much rather have a 3000-word assignment than to sit through a one-hour test, open book or not.
4. My nose is extremely and irritatingly close to, well, being irritated. It hasn't stopped dripping for the past few months and the skin on my nose is totally peeling. Mag told me to get a nasal spray but due to my incredible and indescribable laziness, I haven't got round to doing it. Oops.
5. On a hotness scale of one to ten, I am a five.
6. I like all kinds of hot guys.
7. I have been single since forever and the funny thing is, it bothers you less and less as the years go by. I take that as a good thing; I really do. Because I can't see myself doing the I Wuv You Beary Much thing and still be me.

7 Random Songs (edit: 7 Random Songs I Like, since, unlike JoMel, I'm not getting married. Haha)

1. Someday We'll Know by the New Radicals
2. Sway by The Perishers (OMG Sway!! Totally a Logan/Veronica moment)
3. Momentary Thing by Something Happens (THE definitive Logan/Veronica song, despite the downer of the title)
4. The Chemicals Between Us by Bush (Love the lyrics, love the song)
5. Headwires by Foo Fighters. Just as an aside, I bloody hate Learn to Fly.
6. Fan Fang Xiang De Zhong by Jay Chou. I didn't want to include any songs by him 'cause I'm still irritated with him but this song is the best song he's ever recorded and it was during his pre-sellout, pre-breakthrough, just-starting-out days and I love Jay Album so well, credit where credit's due.
7. My Favourite Game by The Cardigans. I love Nina's voice.

7 Things I Like

1. Literary books. I think I've read a grand total of five popular fiction-ish books in my life, not counting the YA stuff I read when I was younger. Because of that, I can't pick up a popular fiction-y book (e.g. Devil Wears Prada, Michael Critchon however it's spelled, John Grisham, etc) now and 1) read beyond the first few sentences; and 2) not roll my eyes and wonder how these drabby, unimpressively written books can ever get published. I'm one of those irritating people who read books for the writing style and not so much the content (at least, the superficial content, i.e. plot). Julian Barnes can choose to write about why watching paint dry is the most fascinating thing ever and I will still read it. A lesser, popular writer can write about the cultural tug-of-war that goes on in an Asian American or whatever and if the style is bad or just mediocre or normal I wouldn't even give it a second glance. This logically leads to:
2. Good writing. And I think my standard of 'good' is very high.
3. Shopping. Clothes. Runway pictures. I love/like looking at clothes, trying on clothes when I'm not feeling lazy, and buying clothes when I actually have money to spend. It's like a thing with me.
4. Obsessing, watching and loving Veronica Mars
5. Hot guys
6. Thunderstorms and heavy rain
7. Role-playing games, especially free RPG's. And yes, sometimes I actively search for these, and now I actually know what RPG2KM and the like mean. Hahaha. I'm a dork.

7 Things That Scare Me

1. The Future
2. Not ever graduating from law school. Going into the law profession (noooo). Which translates to:
3. Never getting out of this country. Ever.
4. Meat and the thought of eating meat again. Actually, it's more repulsive than scary, but yeah.
5. Swimming past 6.30 p.m. when the pool lights are on, or swimming at night when it's all dark, or swimming in the day when the sky is dark and the wind is strong and the water is moving really quickly, like waves. All of them are scary. I'm a relatively experienced and skilled swimmer and all that and yet, things like that scare the shit out of me.
6. Horror movies. I want to watch a Hitchcock (sp?) film, in particular the one that Cathay Cineleisure is screening soon, also because it's categorised under film noir and I want to watch a real noir film...but I'm scared. Haha.
7. Being bad or mediocre at the things (actually, thing) I love doing more than anything else in the world.

7 Things I Say The Most

1. What the hell? (Incredulous tone and everything)
2. Shit
3. You are damn lame (to Mag and/or Ruishan)
4. I hate law school
5. I actually don't really know.
6.
7.

**

Apparently, my turning - round sharp bends, round mild bends, whatever - sucks. Nobody told me. Damn.

I also got to drive on the main roads today! And um, I was completely unprepared and the instructor sprang it on me out of nowhere and I was all, "������" (Are you kidding?!) But I drove a grand total of ONE round around the driving centre and the instructor was helping me with the steering wheel half the time. Haha. My turning sucks, like I said. And...my moving off sucks. Like, sometimes I tend to let go of the clutch pedal way too fast and so the engine stalls and it's super embarrassing. I think I stalled once on the road but I can't remember. I do know, however, that I stopped at the red light and I was the FIRST CAR and when the light turned green I was trying to control the clutch pedal and like release it slowly so that the engine wouldn't stall and I was so slow in moving that some ASSHOLE driver behind me pressed his fucking idiotic horn at me.

Okay so it was like a light tap but for crying out loud, give me a break. It was my first time outside and I'm a shit-ass "driver" and I can't multitask which means I was concentrating so hard on the clutch that I forgot to turn the steering wheel (I had to turn left 'cause I was in the turn left lane).

I'm such an idiot when it comes to driving. Really, I am.

But it was fun driving outside when the roads were pretty clear. Unlike driving around the circuit, the road goes on for a quite a bit before you have to stop/turn/whatever else that requires slowing down, so I didn't feel intimidated into drivng reeeealll slooooowly (like, engine braking along at 2nd gear. HAHAHAHAHA) and I got to go up to fourth gear and it was fun! And I bloody didn't know that I don't always have to press the gas when I'm moving off. Grr, I can't believe no one told me!

Oh, and I suck like hell at gauging distances. The instructor kept telling me how many metres away from the curb I must stay when doing whatever and I was all (in my head), Uh, how much is one metre? What is 1 metre? Outwardly I nodded, pretended I knew what he was on about, and said, "Okay, yeah. �Զ�."

Lastly, I have extreme difficulties trying to stay in the centre of my lane. I think I mentioned this before but yeah I always like veer right and left and all that and basically I can't drive straight. If only driving were as easy as riding a bike, or even walking.

Even so, I'd much rather scare myself to death driving than to piss myself off taking the bus. So there you go.

**

The Dean was hilarious today. He was talking about this case regarding ratification by a principal of an agreement made by his agent with a third party which the third party has already got himself out of, and the Dean was like, If you want to know why I think the case was wrongly decided, read this article by - and I quote - "this obscure academic Tan".

His surname is Tan, by the way.

Everyone laughed. It was SO FUNNY. I've always liked and understood his lectures so imagine how bummed I was when Mag told me tomorrow's his last lecture. What gives? So my Company managed to be somewhat salvaged for, like, three days, and that's it? That's really great. REALLY.

And speaking of Company, I haven't started studying at all. I really wish they'd given us an assignment instead. In fact, why do we even have exams? They're the least practical thing a person can think of. Universities shouldn't have exams. I get so much more out of writing an assignment than cramming for exams and writing only like 50% of what I want to write during an exam because of lack of time. It's so retarded and I don't understand at all why we continue to do it. Talk about mind-boggling.

**

Gotta study now.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010