hilariousness.
written: 10:53 p.m. on Thursday, Oct. 12, 2006

I got home from Trial Advocacy tutorial like an hour or so ago, fully intending to do my Property tutorial once I got home, such that I almost skipped on dinner with the TG (again!) just to come home and do Property tutorial (and start my VM d/l hahaha), but it's been an hour and I'm still sitting here, doing nothing.

I'm so tired that I don't feel like doing anything at all. I tried finishing my tutorial last night but I got distracted by other things and the chapter in the textbook on proprietary estoppel was quite boring and so I gave up in the end. ARGH.

Well, anyway.

Trial advo was quite fun today! My TG mates said a lot of funny things. Here's a brief run-down:

1. KF was acting as the prosecution's witness, who is a maid alleging maid abuse by the employer. The prosecutor (forgot who it was; oops) asked something along the lines of, "What do you do on your off days?" KF went, "We happy happy in Orchard Road." HAHAHA.

2. Winston was acting as defence counsel. He asked his witness, "Can you describe for me your movements of that day?" HAHAHA. (To be fair, I think only lame people like me and Ruishan, plus all the others who laughed at the question, would find it funny. It's a very formal kind of phrasing but it was just...funny. Like, my movements? I'd just go, "Well, I got up from bed, and to get up from bed, I raise my head, then lift my back off the bed..." You get the idea.)

3. Winston (again) was acting as witness for the defence, who is this middle-aged woman, who also happens to be the accused. He was explaining what happened that caused the maid to have like some pretty bad injuries. Basically it involved the accused flinging soup in the direction of the maid. The dispute is over whether or not the woman flung it AT her (which the maid claims), or just in her DIRECTION, hitting a cupboard/wall near the maid and causing the hot soup to splash on the maid. Anyway, Winston said, "I made a gesture and the soup flew." HAHAHA. Our tutor laughed at this and made a comment about X-Men, which led to KF making some Star Wars comment that I didn't catch 'cause I've never watched Star Wars and I don't intend to, and somewhere along the line someone went, "May the soup be with you." HAHAHA.

Yep, that's about it. I intended to prepare for tutorial last night but I ended up doing something quite irrelevant and I forgot what it was but it was just a total waste of time, and so when it was an hour and a half before tutorial, I had a grand total of TWO questions - and they were the standard "please state your name, occupation and address" and some other random shit. So after CLT Rui and I sat outside the canteen and hurriedly wrote out some questions.

Thankfully, my tutor decided to save time by letting each person focus on only one part of the whole problem, so I did the part about the relationship between the maid and the employer. Venetia was my witness, and she talked A LOT, so I didn't even have to think of how to ask her about what I wanted her to say without suggesting the answer to her, which we're not allowed to do. She pretty much made my job VERY easy. Bwahahaha.

I think cross-examination is easier than examination-in-chief. The whole "cannot ask leading questions!" thing is damn hard. It's a serious case of How Powerful Is Your English? Or at least, that's the way I see it. And I realise that my English sucks because I had to think quite hard of how to phrase certain things so that it's not like, "Were you angry with her?" and it's more, "How did you feel about whatever?"

Bottom line? Litigation is like damn hard lor.

Anyway, something very hilarious and annoying happened today. The Company lecturer was HALF AN HOUR LATE. Oh my god. I was all ready to leave when it was fifteen minutes into lecture time and the lecturer hadn't showed up. In the end, someone managed to find him and got him to come down and it turned out that he was under the impression that lecture was at 2. Um, okay. It wouldn't have been that bad if he'd ended at 2.15, but NO, he compensated for the half hour and ended at 2.45! Poor Mag and Rui only had 15 minutes for lunch. And I couldn't go to the library to photocopy some Agency stuff.

WMS is damn blur lah.

Okay, this entry contains WAY too much Singlish. I need to stop hanging around Singaporeans. Which is like impossible. As you can see I'm writing a whole bunch of crap and nothing more.

In other news, I found David Anders' MySpace. Like, OMG, right? Except, it was a total let-down. Somehow I thought that he'd be, I don't know, as sophisticated as the character he plays, but at the end of the day he's just an actor playing a character, and it turns out that the actor is really quite ordinary. And his girlfriend (who's older than him!) also has a MySpace and she sounds...I don't know, not very smart. Haha, I'm mean.

Um, David Anders plays (played) Mr. Sark on Alias and I'm totally, totally, TOTALLY in love with Sark. He's the hottest villain ever. He's even hotter than Spike, and I think he's hotter than Logan Echolls. He's the type of "want to rip off his clothes and shag him" hot. Not only does Sark have this sexy as hell British accent, he's also extremely well-dressed. The ugliest and least-sophisticated thing he's ever worn is an orange prison jumpsuit.

That, and he's an international terrorist with no qualms about committing mass murder which makes him a cold-hearted bastard but who cares, he's hot! And that cold-bloodedness actually makes him hot.

So yeah, Sark is one of my favourite TV characters of all time and I guess I just don't like it when the actor is clearly separated from the character for me. Put in another way, when the actor becomes an actual person, not just "the actor who plays Sark", it kind of spoils the fun for me. So I'm just trying to forget that I ever read his MySpace and...yeah, buy Alias DVDs and drool over pre-Lauren Sark. Bwahaha.

Except I don't have any money. Booo.

Okay. I think I need to do my tutorial.

Wait, I haven't even showered yet. BAH. All I wanna do now is to sleep. Dammit.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010