no shit.
written: 8.35 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 16, 2006

Pictures from last night:



L-R: Law Year 3 Cousin (also known as Dude Who Passed Me A Nicely-Tabbed Companies Act, Hence Saving Me The Trouble of Doing It Myself), Engineering Graduate-turned-Pilot Cousin, Me


My Mom and I


My Cousins and I


Direct translation: Longevity Bun


Buddha Jumps Over the Wall (obviously another direct, bad translation), Or: Their Meat, My Toxic Poison


My kid cousins being kids and hiding from my camera


Demonstrating my gross lack of ability to teethless-smile without my teeth showing

I find it funny to post pics of relatives so I only picked the ones I'm in, because I'm so vain, and the one where my cousins were hiding their faces. Apparently the huge pot of Buddha Jumps Over the Wall (we REALLY need a much better translation for this) cost a heck lot, well over a thousand, and everyone hypothetically got to have two servings. However, being the anal retentive, must-stick-to-principles-or-else quasi-vegetarian that I am, I didn't take even a sip of the soup. There was shark's fin in it, as well as sea cucumber and abalone, all sorts of "goodies" according to my mom, but to me, they're foul and disgusting.

Oh well.

Dinner was at Wah Lok @ Ritz Cartlon; the occasion was my grandma's birthday. It was nice and for once I got to eat as little as I wanted. I think all I had was, like, the bun, two pieces of very nice tofu, a bowl of noodles, two small pieces of fish, one small bite of lobster (which was GROSS. The sauce and the way it was cooked was yummy, but the lobster meat itself was vile. I hate seafood), and...a lot of tea. I didn't even eat dessert because I was too fixated on trying to prevent my waistline from expanding even more, because I seriously think that I have the biggest ass ever. Or something.

Anyway, school was uneventful, save for the miraculous fact that I listened THROUGHOUT Property lecture today. It helped that NUS Plug and Play Secure Some Shit Or Other wasn't working again, as per usual, and so I couldn't surf the Net even if I wanted to. The thing is, I didn't want to, which is like, bloody amazing. And I actually kind of understood what he was talking about.

The MPA was super stuffy and hot though. Gross.

Saw this linked on Yuch's blog and I was wondering what in the world could prompt him to declare Singapore civilised and so I went to take a look, and suffice it to say that I pretty much choked on my water and didn't know whether to laugh or cry. It's news like this that make me very happy that I wasn't unfortunate enough to be born in Malaysia. I may bitch and moan and piss about Singapore, but if forced to choose between it and Malaysia at gunpoint, I'd choose Singapore in a heartbeat, AND buy a nice meal for the guy/girl pointing the gun at me so that he/she would never have to make me choose ever again.

And you know what the super ironic thing is? During one of the too-many GP classes we had in Jurong, the issue of Singlish was discussed in some shitty-ass comprehension passage (I still remember the lame-ass marker who marked my AQ and didn't give me full marks because my arguments, which happened to be my honest opinion, happened to coincide with the passage writer's, and so the lame-ass marker stupidly assumed that I was ripping off the passage. Yeah like I'd ever do that. I wasn't one of those retarded Science students without a brain and hence without an opinion on something as duh as SINGLISH. Seriously. I didn't believe in coming up with "original" arguments for the sake of coming up with "original" arguments). It was the usual Government Thinks Singlish Is Bad For the Standard of English Amongst Singaporeans nonsense that I'm really quite sick of. Tim Dore, my awesome Brit GP tutor, went off about how he didn't like Singlish (well, duh), but simultaneously found the idea of "banning" Singlish retarded. He was like, How are you going to ban Singlish? The police force can't possibly go around saying, "You said 'lah'! YOU SAID 'LAH'!"

Well, I'm sure the article would totally outrage Tim Dore's sense of rationality and logic. Because SERIOUSLY. The day Singapore does that is the day our glorious nation falls.

Not that I really mean "glorious". But sometimes all you need is examples of crappiness from other countries to instill some temporary feelings of semi-patriotism in you. (But then again, comparing to Malaysia...well.)

Sigh. Sometimes I really do miss JC.

The only way I can get to go for exchange is if I miraculously get 3A's for this semester, which is obviously not gonna happen, so I think I should just forget all about it. Whatev.

Driving was okay today. I got the nice instructor who's patient and encouraging and not mumbly and a total ass like the previous one, so wahoo. My left leg hurt like mad after though; I was doing low speed control or whatever it was, which basically involved controlling the clutch pedal and making the car go as slow as possible. He kept telling me to use my ankle but hell, my foot is too small (even though I'm a size 8/9) and I couldn't control the pedal properly and so I relied on my knee the whole time. Now my knee hurts. How pleasant.

Also, the latest VM is rather underwhelming but I love it anyway. Love Logan, love Veronica, hated that Veronica and Keith barely had any scenes together, and love the show for helping me gain knowledge. I actually kind of know how to read TV ratings and it's all thanks to Veronica Mars. Watching TV for educational purposes is SO underrated.

To be fair, I can't fathom how one can gain knowledge of any form by watching something as trashy as One Tree Hill, so it really depends on what you watch. VM, however, is absolutely tops in that respect.

I have to do my agency tutorial. I spent the weekend reading Treitel on Agency and even so I didn't finish it 'cause it was boring as hell. I'm extremely sleepy right now so yeah, major fun and happiness to me, it's time to tackle the damn tutorial question.

Sigh. Where's that gun when I so totally need one?

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010