some kind of silver lining.
written: 4:20 p.m. on Sunday, Oct. 22, 2006

I've spent almost my entire weekend trying to figure out the trial advocacy problem and fortunately, I'm not at a complete loss anymore. The sad thing is, I only properly started on it last night which means the first half of my Saturday was wasted on mindless and pointless net-surfing. How very me.

I haven't written my opening and closing submissions. My characterisation (okay, not a very legal way to put it but to hell with that) of my client was quite weak and so my exam-in-chief questions more or less suck, so I have to re-work that. BUT! I'm quite pleased with my cross-examination questions. I was working on them at like 2.30 a.m. this morning (I was SO awake because I had coffee at night) and the questions just came one after the another and now I think I have too many questions. But I'm also kind of worried that some of them may be too...I don't know, accusatory and inferential, and because I never listened during lectures, I don't know what constitutes crossing the line. I tried reading the lecture notes that were uploaded but not unsurprisingly, I didn't understand WHAT THE HELL the the Evidence Act was on about.

But hey, who cares? If KW wants to object, that's entirely his right. Of course, I won't be liable for wanting to kill him if he makes it difficult for me. I actually told Simon to be nice to him. How nice am I, right? I think so too.

I'm feeling better about this trial thing now. As much as I know it doesn't bloody matter and that it's really a complete waste of time since I don't even get graded on it officially, for me, it's about pride. I'd rather waste time on this thing than to go there and look completely bad next to KW. It's really not like I don't feel stupid enough in class; I don't need to feel even worse when it's just gonna be Me v Some Really Smart Person, you know?

It also helps a lot to know that I'd be eating Ben and Jerry's, either by myself or with Simon if he wants to, after the trial is over. And we all know the wonders of Ben and Jerry's ice-cream - namely, it's really freaking good.

Anyway, I haven't done my Company tutorial. I haven't even read the chapter on shares and debentures. I HATE COMPANY. And my tutorial is bloody at FOUR P.M. tomorrow. On the bright side, I have Rui for company, so all is not lost.

Also, I just want to say that I love Mag muchly and that she's a great person through and through.

Actually, it pretty much goes without saying that I love all my friends, so there you go.

I bought Ringside's CD off eBay and I received it a few days ago and I'm bloody in love with it. It's great. Joaquin directed one of their music videos for them and naturally I went to take a look and absolutely fell in love with the song, Tired of Being Sorry. Because I have this habit of buying a CD for one song that I like a lot, I got the CD from eBay and I've been putting it on repeat for the past few days.

I particularly like this line from Dreamboat 730: "I think I need my head checked and painted black."

Because nowadays, I think I do need my head checked and painted black. Won't go into details, but suffice it to say that I should stop doing stupid things and just live my life undisturbed and peaceful. I'm too weary of anything else.

Lastly, something super funny that everyone must see: click. It was SO FUNNY that I laughed non-stop for like five minutes. Ah, I love China. Talk about a truly constant source of amusement.

I keep posting bad entries after bad entries. Sigh.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010