fun times.
written: 11:34 a.m. on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2006

Witnessing for Mag last night was super fun. I did to Boaz what Hannah did to me, but worse. BWAHAHA. You see, the thing about cross-examination, at least Cross-Examination 101, is that you're supposed to ask the witness only yes or no questions, so as to pin the witness down to a certain characterisation or whatever that will support your case theory. Therefore, if you get a witness that refuses to answer just yes or no and instead keeps on talking and talking and talking and basically refuses to shut up, you're pretty much screwed and your job becomes that much harder.

That, in short, was what I did to Boaz. Haha. But he responded to my babbling really well and didn't let me completely derail his case, so kudos to him, too. His closing submission was, um, kinda really hilarious. Chloe and I were looking at each other and trying damn hard not to laugh. He's super entertaining. He opened his cross-examination with, "Are you a flirt?" I was like, "?!?!?!" and before I could answer he retracted the question. Mag's cross-examination was fantastic, way better than mine, and she did a good job, too. I'm amazed she managed to get off her weird caffeine/chocolate high in time for the mock trial, 'cause she was babbling nonsense pretty much non-stop while we were waiting in the lobby of the law firm.

Bolts and screws, eh Mag? Ewwww.

Dinner at Sushi Tei after that. Uh. It was like, after 9 p.m. My stomach was full from digesting gastric juices. I ordered food anyway, just for the heck of it, and as usual I didn't finish my food. Wasting food sucks but I so cannot help it. Really. If I could finish my food, I totally would, but I. Just. Couldn't. Period.

Eating is such a chore. And the sushi I ordered wasn't very nice. Oh well.

For some reason I started to have this serious migraine at the left of my head halfway through dinner, and I used that as an excuse to cop out of after-dinner drinking with everyone else (there were like, 10 of us). The migraine was the material reason I wanted to go home, but if I didn't have a migraine I doubt I would've gone anyway, because I'm a nun and everything. But anyway, Chloe and I took the bus home together and we had a very nice conversation, the content of which I won't divulge, so suffice it to say that it was nice nice nice. Haha.

I'm not being very eloquent this morning. Actually it's already 12.03 p.m., but I woke up an hour ago so it still feels like morning to me.

And last night I lazed around in my parents' room upon reaching home, as usual, and had a nice chat with my folks. I think I babble way too much. But it's nice to be able to talk to your folks about guys and all that jazz, though there are some things I'll never tell them. My dad thinks I should learn to play hard to get, to which I was like, "I don't think people should play games. If you like someone, you should just say so!" And I think I do adhere to this conviction, 'cause I've always been the one taking the first step and babbling my feelings/whatever for another person in the past...but that was kind of because things totally weren't moving along and I was impatient and, well, verbal vomit and all that.

I should be more mature about things. But on second thoughts, I like being empowered by that sense of fearlessness when I pull something like that, when all notions of the possibility of rejection is cast out of my mind and I'm here, in the moment, facing the guy, telling him I like him. It's about control, about doing things your way, about not sitting around and waiting for the guy to come after you, especially if it's never gonna happen. What's the point, then? I guess there isn't really one, except the Iagoism of doing it because I can. And often enough, that's more than enough for me.

Of course, when things turn bad the shit really hits the fan, but at least I know I did what I wanted, and all that.

Having said all that, however, I don't foresee anything like that happening for, I don't know, the next few months, or something. To be quite frank I'm too lazy to do anything drastic and a part of me can't be bothered and another part of me is tired of being yanked around and mostly I'm just trying to be rational and mature. Yeah, that's what I'm trying to do. There's this thing called priorities and I think right now the upcoming exams are on the top of the list so I should really be sticking with that.

So says the girl who's going out later on in the afternoon. Well, I'll deal with what needs to be dealt with when I come home then. I'm aware that was what I said yesterday but I didn't know then that I'd be going out today so whatever.

And...I forgot what else I wanted to say.

Oh yes. I suddenly feel like going to Chinatown tonight. Maybe I will go to Chinatown tonight. I need a change of perspective.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010