damn irritated.
written: 7:37 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 20, 2007

As a note of general interest, my least favourite Jay Chou used to be Xin Yu which is on I can't even remember which album. But I think Ju Hua Tai, the theme song to that Zhang Yimou movie Curse of the Golden Flower, has since taken its place for reasons entirely unrelated to its melody, lyrics and composition. In fact, I think it's a beautiful, haunting song, but I just can't listen to it. Whenever my mp3 player randomly plays it my immediate reaction is to skip it, and I do. The last time I heard it in its entirety was at karaoke in Taipei in June. And it was only because my cousins selected it and it wasn't nice to skip it.

Oh, and I think PMS is in full blown mode right now because I am irritated at every single conceivable thing, even little, inconsequential and insignificant things, things that have done nothing wrong to me. Everything. So imagine how much I wanted to do something violent when it appears that whoever did the headnotes for SM Summit Holdings v PP doesn't seem to have a firm grasp on English and therefore seems utterly incapable of writing clear, un-convoluted sentences. Take, for instance, the following:

"On 8 August 1997, Business Software Alliance (BSA), the applicant in the criminal motion, through its solicitors, made a complaint before the magistrate and had applied for two search warrants in respect of the premises of the petitioners, in respect of copyright and trade marks offences allegedly committed by the petitioners."

Seriously, who writes things like that? Why would anyone not place BSA after 'the applicant in the criminal motion'? Doesn't it make more sense to do that? The first thing that came to my mind when I read that horrible sentence was, "Who the fuck is BSA?" I don't even know what the hell the second part of the sentence means. Attempting to get around its grammatical Gordian knot gives me a bloody headache.

Also, last night I was trying to finds ways to distinguish Fung Yuk Shing v PP from PP v Lim Kian Tat in an attempt to explain why similar fact patterns were decided differently. That is, apart from the fact that a certain ex-Chief Justice whom I shall not name ruled on Fung but not Lim. Res ipsa loquitur, I think.

Lastly, the WGA (Writers Guild of America) strike is really rather inconvenient, don't you think? I need my shows, dammit. STOP STRIKING AND DO YOUR JOB.

Irritated still, I shall attempt to finish up with Improperly Obtained Evidence, but I foresee myself getting more irritated because reading local cases on these things is really an amazing exercise in tolerance, patience and how to control one's anger and outrage. I'm amazed that I got through the Oppression part on Confessions without writing a rant-y entry about how I think it's all crap and completely unfair.

Next stop, anaesthesiasation. Just pretend that word exists.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010