geeky law stuff and my declaration of love for my country.
written: 1:22 a.m. on Sunday, Nov. 25, 2007

Chili Peppers sue Showtime over Californication

"The Red Hot Chili Peppers are suing Showtime Networks, claiming they stole the title of their series Californication from the band's album and single of the same name.

The lawsuit alleges unfair competition, dilution of the value of the name and unjust enrichment, claiming the title is "inherently distinctive, famous ... and immediately associated in the mind of the consumer" with the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

The Chili Peppers's landmark album sold more than 14 million copies, received a Grammy nomination in its year of release (1999) and was named on of Rolling Stone magazine's Top 500 Albums of All Time.

Proving its "enduring popularity" the band cite that the single of the same name has been legally downloaded nearly half a million times.

The band have filed for damages on five counts in the California Superior Court.

"Californication is the signature CD, video and song of the band's career, and for some TV show to come along and steal our identity is not right," said the band's lead singer, Anthony Kiedis, in a statement.

The television series stars David Duchovny as a novelist suffering from writers' block and a mid-life crisis.

The show features a character named "Dani California," which is also the title of a Red Hot Chili Peppers song released in 2006, according to the lawsuit.

The suit seeks a permanent injunction barring Showtime and the other defendants from using the title Californication for the show, damages and restitution and disgorgement of all profits derived by the defendants."

From here.

OMG HOW EXCITING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I actually know what those terms mean like how totally awesome!!!

I really do want to take Restitution though, but perhaps in Year 4 because I aim to take a maximum of one exam per semester. And I'm going to do Chinese which has an exam so that already fulfills the quota.

I fucking hate exams OMG. I did nothing the entire day. I've decided to not do my own notes for Pers Prop, read the muggers, and attempt to come up with critical whatever and ever to copy into my exam script. Because I really, really, REALLY cannot think during an exam. It's insane. Because if the Evidence paper were to be an assignment, I'm pretty sure I would not get a C. Exams are utterly ridiculous especially the way I never fail to get a complete mind block when my brain needs to work at its full capacity the most. Two years of law school and nothing has changed, and I don't have time as it is to make up for the wasted time that is my first two years.

Ugh. This cannot continue. Evidence cannot repeat for Pers Prop. Did I mention that Evidence was worse than Company Law? I never imagined that anything could be worse than Company Law but the Evidence exam showed clearly that such things are not stuff of the imagination. So frustrating, flushing eight fucking credits down the fucking toilet.

Anyway, on a lighter note, I saw this video on Jolie's blog and my senses were completely affronted and I just had to pass on the trauma and share the love. I present to you: MDA (Media Development Authority? I hate all these stupid acronyms) Senior Management Rap.

I had to stop watching after the first "verse" because it was just way. too. painful.

I LOVE SINGAPORE. LIKE, SO TOTALLY.

Edited to add:

I ended up watching the whole thing and started laughing uncontrollably. Note especially the dude in the Superman outfit, that random shot of some random woman's hair blowing "seductively" past her, and this painfully hilarious line towards the end that ends with '24/7'.

SERIOUSLY. Singapore is SO awesome. Such videos are further proof of how truly, wholly and utterly Uniquely Singapore we are.

I LOVE MY COUNTRY. Thank you for making me laugh my ass off and cheering me up!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010