some things never change.
written: 10:48 p.m. on Friday, Mar. 14, 2008

I didn't think it was possible, but my love for David has just increased exponentially. This is truly the sweetest story ever. I got all choked up and teary when I watched the video, on the brink of actual tears.

Basically, he wore an orange wrist band when he performed Eleanor Rigby. I noticed it and wondered what it was; it wasn't mentioned on the show at all. The link above reveals that a news reporter visited the set and talked to David. The reporter was wearing the orange wrist band for his 7-year-old daughter, who has leukemia. David asked him about it, the reporter told him about his daughter who is huge David fan, David called the girl on the reporter's cellphone "immediately" and asked the reporter for an orange band to wear when he performs Eleanor Rigby. The reporter describes his daughter's reaction upon seeing the wrist band and upon receiving the call from David in some considerable detail, and let's just say that David Cook can cure leukemia too, the same way he's curing Bell's Palsy for me.

No, wait, scratch that - he is the cure. Have I mentioned that I'm totally over the bad boy thing and that I now totally dig guys who are total sweethearts? Have I mentioned how in love I am? Because I am totally in love.

***

In other news, I watched the last six episodes of Season 1 of Veronica Mars from 8.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. this morning for what was probably the ninth time. I started watching Season 1 of VM for the ninth time around the same time the palsy started because I needed to watch something while I ate breakfast. And I was reminded again of why I was so totally obsessed and in love with the show, particularly why I totally loved Logan/Veronica. I think they're truly the best couple ever, and Logan, for all his bad boy tendencies, is a sweetheart deep down inside. He was totally there for her, his heart laid bare on the table. I think any girl would be lucky to meet a guy who's simply willing to do that.

Apart from that, Veronica Mars is simply amazing. No matter how many times I watch it, I still get choked up at the same scenes. It's really too bad that Season 3 was quite crappy and Season 2 was quite incoherent, because Season 1 was pure perfection. The way the characters developed, the relationships between the characters, and the actors that brought them to life (minus, I'm sorry, Teddy Dunn as Duncan Kane), it's impossible not to be invested in their stories and to feel for them.

So yes, I still love Veronica Mars as much as ever, though I haven't got the Season 3 DVD set. No money lah, and wah lau, everything on eBay damn expensive! Bleah.

***

I've been slacking like nobody's business for the past two days and it's been really good. Relaxing and stress-free. Totally awesome. I think every semester should be like this, though I could use with an actual social life right now. Ever since I woke up with half my face gone, the only places that I go are school and the doctor's. Sad, isn't it? I haven't been meeting up with friends at all, even people that I used to see quite frequently.

I don't know why it is exactly, but I'm not really that bothered by it. I think, as long as my face isn't 100% back, I wouldn't feel like going out. The first thing I'm gonna do when my eye is fully functioning again is to wear contacts - and I think that has got something to do with it. I'm more or less used to the wearing glasses in public thing, but honestly, given the choice, I would leave the glasses at home. I haven't even wanted to shop because why bother shopping when I'm wearing glasses, right? I just feel like my life can't get back to normal until my face gets back to normal, which probably doesn't make sense, but that's just the way it is.

I'm tired of monitoring my face but I still do it anyway and get annoyed when I still don't see any significant changes. Bleah stupid piece of shit. I'm not really super angsty over it or anything, because half the time I'm busy gushing over David Cook and actually transcribing his song lyrics (only half successfully; he tends to mumble) which only goes to show how free I am, but when I do think about it, it just gets on my nerves. Er, no pun intended. Today marks Day 24 of the palsy - that's almost a month. Enough is enough, but apparently, not so much. What does it take for the nerves to get back to doing what they're supposed to be doing, anyway?

In any case, I'm watching the Queen/Ben Elton musical with Kenneth on April 3, so no matter what happens or doesn't happen with my face, I'll need to venture to somewhere other than school and the doctor's. Hopefully I would have regained 80% functionality by then, especially the eye thing. I miss my contacts, dammit.

When all's been said and done, at the end of everything, I'm still vain as ever.


before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010