still the same old story.
written: 3:35 p.m. on Sunday, Mar. 23, 2008

OMG. DAVID COOK'S COVER OF "CREEP" IS THE MOST AMAZING THING I'VE EVER HEARD.

Why/how does he have this uncanny ability to make me love songs that I hated until he sang them? First it was Bryan Adams' "Everything I Do", and now it's Radiohead's "Creep" which was the Radiohead song that I thought I never wanted to hear again because EVERYONE loves Creep and it's the most overplayed Radiohead song ever. But OHMYGOD David singing Creep was amazing. When he got to the "she runs" climax portion (except he left out the 'she' and sang 'run'), I almost died. Pitch fucking perfect. And the way his voice was so soft and delicate in the beginning - ahhh I can't stand it. Why is he so amazing?

David Cook, you fucking slay me. I CAN'T STAND IT.

***

Okay, right, in other news, I went shopping this morning with my mom and I bought three CDs: Pearl Jam's Ten, Athlete's Beyond the Neighbourhood, and The Strokes' Is This It.

Ten came out in 1991 and it was Pearl Jam's debut album. They've had a handful of studio releases since, and I was looking through the stack of CDs and I noticed at Ten was the cheapest album at $14.95. I told my mom, "This CD came out in 1991 and it's the cheapest!"

My mom was all, "Okay, then you can slowly wait for the prices of the more recent CDs to drop."

1991 is like, 17 years ago? Oh my god. Why am I buying CDs that came out ten million years ago? Somehow I managed to miss this album when I was in my poseur rock phase in secondary school. It's never too late to make up for past mistakes.

I haven't listened to it yet but I downloaded Even Flow sometime back and I loved it. It was stuck in my head for a few days at one point in time.

Also, if I had to name a singer whom I think David sounds like, I'd probably say Eddie Vedder (Pearl Jam's lead singer). But even then it's only a very vague resemblance. All the same, I can totally hear David singing Even Flow in my head.

I've figured out why I love David Cook the way I've never loved any other American Idol contestant. It's because he does music that's naturally up my alley. I can hear him singing some of my favourite songs and he has in fact already sung songs by some of my favourite bands, and I totally LOVE his original songs (his solo stuff more than his band stuff). I still love Blake, but I had to adjust my musical preference to suit his pop-ish album (I still like the album though). I loved Bo Bice, but his CD was shit and he's really more into the Southern rock genre than anything else. David is potentially mainstream without being New Found Glory (whose name is currently on my mind because HMV was playing some album of theirs which totally polluted my ears. Then they switched to some stupid compilation of radio hits which was arguably worse than New Found Glory), Daughtry, My Chemical Romance, and everything I hate about today's "rock" music. He fits right into my genre of music, basically.

It also helps that he comes across as intelligent (though not necessarily intellectual) and that he actually has a good command of English. He writes well and uses proper punctuation, spelling and grammar which I know because I've read his blog entries, he writes meaningful lyrics, he uses words like 'epitome' and 'euphoric' in his bloody American Idol intro videos, and he does crossword puzzles when he's bored. He has a sexy voice AND a sexy brain. AND he's sexy. Not to mention articulate. He was in debate in high school and debaters are, of course, hot (unless they're physically repulsive). It's not my fault for being obsessed; it's his fault for being awesome.

I bought a ticket for the Bob Dylan film, I'm Not There, which stars Cate Blanchett and Christian Bale (OMG hotness) and which is showing at the film fest. It's on April 9 at 9.15 p.m. April 9 is a Wednesday. Wednesday night = David Cook on American Idol night. When I saw that April 9 was Wednesday, I actually hesitated and had second thoughts about buying the ticket, despite freaking out like you wouldn't believe when I was flipping through the programme and saw that they were screening the film. I've been wanting to watch it ever since I heard of its existence, and yet, because Wednesday night = David Cook night, I was half-thinking that maybe, you know, I can give watching it a pass and get it on DVD. Because Wednesday night = David Cook night.

In the end I told myself not to be stupid and I bought the ticket. Which a tiny weeny insignificant part of me kind of regrets, because Wednesday night is David Cook night.

Soooo waking up at 8 a.m. the next day to watch the show. And since it'll be taped, I can fast-forward through all the irrelevant nonsense and get straight to my husband. Yay.

Anyway, I've decided that I cannot stand wearing specs anymore so I'm gonna call my neurologist tomorrow morning to ask him if I can wear contacts yet. I stupidly forgot to ask him such a crucial question during my appointment yesterday. And yeah, apparently I'll need another freaking six weeks to recover completely but I'm tired of obsessing over numbers and time lines so I'll just obsess over David Cook and my stupid presentation for next week which I STILL haven't started on.

Also, I've kind of changed my mind about the letting people read my crap thing. Still too insecure.

I purposely forced myself not to mention David in yesterday's entry and I'm very proud that I succeeded.

I find it quite cute that my dad was worried that Ma Ying-jeou would lose after watching some Frank Hsieh rally which drew a large crowd. He's damn funny lah. I asked him to buy Brokeback Mountain for me 'cause they have it uncensored on DVD over there and he apparently can't find it. I was like, "Seriously? Where did you go to find?" He was all, "Oh, you know, the night market."

NIGHT MARKET, DAD? I was like, "GO TO TAIPEI 101 LAH! Or Eslite!"

But he fell sick over the weekend and so I told him yesterday not to bother if he's still sick.

I wanted to ask him to help me buy this other Taiwanese gay flick but then I thought that it wouldn't be very nice to ask him to buy TWO gay films for me, considering he's very...traditional when it comes to the issue of homosexuality. Hahahaha. I'm helping him save face, see? Can you imagine what the cashier would think when a grown man buys two gay films? Hilarious.

I love my dad. Can you tell? He's awesome.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010