David's Music of the Night.
written: 10:59 p.m. on Wednesday, Apr. 23, 2008

(Um, read the previous two entries too.)



Let your darkest side give in to the power of this music that I write.

DAVID COOK? I HAVE GIVEN IN A LONG TIME AGO. I DIDN'T THINK I COULD GIVE IN ANY MORE - BUT AFTER WHAT YOU DID WITH MUSIC OF THE NIGHT? I AM BEYOND GIVING IN. I AM COMPLETELY FLOORED BY YOUR UTTER BRILLIANCE AND I SWEAR I'M NEVER GOING TO RECOVER FOR AND FROM THIS.

You know how I was totally excited when I found out that he sang this song, and how, basically, I've wanted him to sing this song since forever, and how I've envisioned in my head how he'd sound singing this song which was why I was convinced that he had to do it?

Well, the real deal was just infinitely better than what existed in my head.

I was grinning like a FOOL throughout the entire thing and halfway through I was almost moved to tears. I honestly wanted to cry. It was so tender, so moving, so sincere, I truly believed that I was the most gorgeous woman he's ever seen and that he was singing to me. His voice is perfect, there is absolutely nothing in this world that he can't sing, and now I want to hear him sing the previously-untouchable Dakota. I just KNEW that he'd kill Music of the Night because his voice has the same rich tenor tone to it that makes this song an immensely listenable (not a word but pretend it is please) musical song (remember: I hate musicals), that makes it moving and heartfelt the way it wouldn't be otherwise.

I absolutely LOVE it. For me, it was one of his best performances ever. I couldn't stop grinning and when he finished I was FREAKING OUT. His voice is amazing. He is amazing.

He's so amazing that I haven't even mentioned how hot he looked. HE LOOKED FUCKING HOT.

And dammit, I need a video of the recap! He did the half-smile during the dress rehearsal which he (thankfully) didn't do for the live performance. And he stared into the camera more during the rehearsal too. (They use clips from rehearsals for the recap, by the way.)

OMG DAVID COOK FOR THE MOTHEREFFING WIN.

I'm so proud of my darling Cookie that he knew who Andrew Lloyd Webber is. Actually, that's totally unsurprising, considering he was on a musical theatre scholarship to college which he quit after a year. Maybe he decided that musicals aren't his thing 'cause apparently dancing isn't his thing. But honestly, he would've excelled in his musical theatre degree. He's just amazing. AMAZING. I wasn't worried any more than usual for him this week because I knew about his background in theatre, and of course I know he can sing anything.

He's amazing OMG I need to marry him NOWWWWW.

On a non-Cookie related note, I was really surprised by the number of people who don't know Andrew Lloyd Webber, and when I say "number of people" I'm really talking about Jason Castro. Where the hell is he from anyway? Who doesn't know ALW? (David referred to him as Lord Andrew - OMG LOVE.) He's like the McDonalds' of musical theatre, seriously. I really find it quite shocking that Jason Castro might actually be representative of the average American viewer of the episode, because to me, ALW is a household name, even if you have no interest in musicals.

Jason absolutely murdered Memory, however. It's another rare musical song that I like so the entire time was just painful, painful, painful. I really think that he can't sing. He has the weakest voice of everyone left and I just don't see what he's doing musically that has apparently won ten million people over. If he hadn't, he would've left a long time ago, perhaps on the week he did "Michelle" and made me want to kill myself to end the torture.

And once again I'm worried about Carly. I don't know what the judges were listening to, because I thought the entire song was WAY too high for her. She didn't even sing the whole chorus, precisely because she couldn't reach the "who do you think you are" line. Surprisingly, after admitting that I like her, I don't find her screechy anymore, but boy was she shouty. I really do like her voice now but, ugh. The whole thing just wasn't very pleasant to listen to at all. I hope she doesn't leave this week because Syesha is still around and Jason did way worse than her, but I'm worried because DialIdol has her on the bottom. But DialIdol has been wrong since David had his bad week with Innocent when they predicted him to hit bottom 3 but he didn't.

But if DialIdol is right, David had the most number of votes this week and is definitely safe, omg.

Oh my god I can't believe I'm gonna get a STUDIO RECORDING of David singing Music of the Night tomorrowwwww!

And I'm sorry, I think it was incredibly stupid of Simon to say that he didn't like this side of David and that he preferred Edgy David. What did he expected David to do, rock up Music of the Night? If he'd done that Simon would've called him 'predictable' and 'indulgent'. I, for one, am DAMN ECSTATIC that David sang the song straight (i.e. didn't rock it up) and that he sang it beautifully.

Having said all of that, I must admit that my favourite version of the song is still this one:


Brad Little played the Phantom when the musical came to Singapore last year. My mom and I went to watch it and I TOTALLY fell in love with his voice. I mean, seriously, Phantom of the Opera (the song) and Music of the Night were the only moments in the entire production that were worth watching. The guy was phenomenal, my mom bought his CD, and there was a period of time when she played his Music of the Night over and over again in the car. And I didn't mind, because it's really quite beautiful.

David, though, was easily the best of the night, hands down, and I'd say it even if I weren't a rabid Cookie fangirl. I also realised that it was the first time EVER he performed without the mic stand, oh my god.


*dies*

Lastly, DAVID'S TUMMY ISN'T GONE! This shouldn't make me happy, but it does. :)

***

Edited to add:

I just realised that David called ALW "Lord Andrew". I mean, I knew that he called him Lord Andrew (okay technically it should be Lloyd-Webber but that's not the point), but it just registered in my head that he said LORD and not Sir. Wasn't ALW a 'sir'? Well, he was, until 1997 when he became "The Rt Hon. The Lord Lloyd-Webber".

How does David know these things? I can't believe how effing educated he is.

He is PERFECTION. PURE PERFECTION. All the other males in the world have absolutely NO HOPE of coming anywhere close to the level of Amazing that is David Cook. I am not a musical fan, but I definitely like it better than Nickelback and Chris Daughtry, no contest, and for David to seem so familiar with the genre is just...ARGH.

If it transpires that he likes classical music and that he knows the difference between a Bach piece and a Chopin piece, I promise everyone right now I will go to the USA, track him down and propose to him. That might be the clincher for me, the only thing left that's still keeping my rabid desire to have gorgeous Chinese/Caucasian babies with David Cook in check.

But seriously, he has all these qualities that I've wanted in a guy since forever. Artistry, a penchant for words, hotness, gorgeous eyes, an extremely kissable mouth, intelligence, humility, confidence that doesn't spill into arrogance, self-awareness, and a wicked sense of humour that doesn't thrive on stupid sexual humour. Is it my fault that I'm so totally enamoured with him? I don't think so. First he uses words like "euphoric", "enamoured", "conglomerate" and "epitome" in his interviews, then he goes and says "attest" in a results show for absolutely no reason (the average person would say "as my mom can tell you" as opposed to "as my mom can attest to"), and now he called ALW "Lord" Andrew. Like I said, if he comes out and says that he loves Chopin, I am definitely going to propose to him.

His musicality knows no bounds. I really, really love how he sang the song straight and injected so much emotions and tenderness into it in all right places. Talk about a sharp contrast to ArchuBot who treated Think of Me in the exact same way he's treated all his other songs. David Cook deserves to win the competition. He's shown pure talent and versatility that no other contestants has shown, and he's shown that he's, quite simply, good at everything. I think he's one of the best contestants the show has ever had, and for me personally? He's already made.

I need to marry him. Maybe I'll Facebook my marriage proposal to Andrew and hope that he can pass it along to his brother. HAHAHA. Right, I'd much rather chop off my boobs before I do something like that.

***

Edit #2:

It's 2 a.m. and I'm super sleepy but I can't go to bed because I can't stop watching David's performance.

I think it's officially become my favourite performance of his, hands down.

I can't believe my favourite performance from my rocker boy is Music of the Night, but there you go. That's David Cook: unpredictable, versatile, amazing on every single level.

I love love love love LOVE it. You know how some girls burst into tears when they watch their favourite singers/bands/whatever perform on stage, or just perform, period? I've never understood the tidal wave of passion that must hit those girls in order for them to cry. I didn't even react that way when I was face-to-face with Jay Chou for five seconds, and I was at the height of my obsession with him.

But when David sang "only then can you belong to me" after his first glory note, I felt, for honestly the first time in my life, that incredible amount of...passion and overwhelming excitement and, yes, love that those girls must feel in order to burst into tears. Of course I didn't cry, but I must say that I got pretty damn close. In fact, I got pretty damn close to crying every single time I watch it and I can't even keep track of the number of times I've repeated it anymore.

I love this man so much. There is no rational basis for it, no logical explanation. He's moved me and touched me in a way that no one has in a very, very long time, and I don't freaking know the guy. He has melted my cold, cold heart, and with him singing a song that I actually like, which is a first for me, and singing it so amazingly well, I feel like I don't know what to do with myself. I'm sleepy but I don't wanna go to bed 'cause I can't tear myself away from my laptop.

He's so amazing. SO. AMAZING. I really don't know what I'm gonna do when the stupid show ends and I won't get my twice-weekly Cookie fix anymore. I'm honestly really tempted to blow off everything, start saving a huge pile of money, and go to the States to watch the Idol tour, and I don't care about anyone else there but David. I don't even care that the tour is sometime around the second or third week of the new semester.

Okay, I'm going into MotN withdrawals so I'm going to watch it for the ten millionth last time before I go to bed.

***

Edit #3:

It's 2.17 a.m., and I know the performance is only 2 minutes long at most, but every single time he gets to the "let your darkest side give in to the power of the music that I write" part, I actually forget that it's about to end soon, because I'm just so absorbed in the song and his voice that everything else literally fades away into the background.

IT'S TOO DAMN SHORT, I CAN'T GET ENOUGH, MUST WATCH AGAIN. And hopefully this is the last edit 'cause I really want to sleep and dream sweet Cookie dreams!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010