So worried, apparently, that I can't sleep.
written: 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, May. 08, 2008

Ugh I can't believe this. The original plan was to wake up at 10 in time to check this week's results without suffering through the agony of waiting for it, but I woke up at 8 instead, and that was despite sleeping at 2 this morning. Worse? The show has just started in the East Coast so I gotta wait ONE AGONISING HOUR to find out if Cookie is safe this week.

I am so scared right now that I kind of can't breathe and can't eat and can't do anything but sit here and freak out.

Ugh, I hate this. And Cookie's single this week is Hungry Like the Wolf, NOT Baba O'Riley. What the fuck. I re-watched Baba O'Riley ten million times before I slept and each time it just got shorter and shorter and I just wanted more of that awesome This Is A Teenage Wasteland! song and I was really looking forward to getting a full-length recording of the song - but no.

Why? Why? I don't even like Hungry Like the Wolf. The more I watched it, the more awful it got. I think it was easily his worst performance of the season, even worse than Innocent, which I didn't think was that bad. Sure his voice sounded great on Wolf and he was all Rock Stah, but there was this strange disconnect between him and the song, and ugh, the song just sucks. Why Duran Duran, David? You could've picked The Clash, even freaking BUDDY HOLLY, but you picked Duran Duran.

I probably downloaded the HQ video of the East Coast feed that apparently had some sound issues that was fixed in the West Coast feed. In fact, I'm guessing Singapore got the West Coast version, which is probably why when I watched the video I downloaded, it sounded strangely different. As in the band? Completely non-existent. David was singing a capella on that song, not on Baba O'Riley.

SORRY I DON'T LIKE HUNGRY LIKE THE WOLF AND I DON'T FEEL LIKE SPENDING US$0.99 ON THAT SHIT SONG WITHOUT A PROPER CHORUS AND I WANT MY BABA O'RILEY. BABA O'RILEY IS THE ONLY COVER DAVID IS ALLOWED TO PUT ON HIS ALBUM BECAUSE I WANT TO HEAR IT.

And yet, I know I'll be downloading the single anyway. UGH. Last week's I'm Alive disappointment was only mitigated by the fact that David sounded awesome on that song. I'm not sure if this week's shitty choice of single even has a chance in hell of being mitigated when the other song is so much better, so much more intense, and just, basically, so much less insipid.

Right, so I just downloaded it and blahhhh I don't like it. David sounds great, but the song just sucks. It has like, four lines of melody and it's only 2:48! It's his shortest studio recording to date. Day Tripper should've been 2:48; it just went on and on. But wow, I think I like Hungry Like the Wolf even less than Day Tripper, which was my least favourite David recording (but one of my favourite live performances; he was just soooooo solid and sexy), but now with this stupid Wolf song, Day Tripper at least has that weight off its shoulders.

UGH I WANT BABA O'RILEY. Do I really have to get the original song? I've never heard it obviously but apparently Cookie slowed down the tempo or whatever, and I really, really liked the way he built up the song...that eventually led to not much because he cut a 5-minute song down to a 90-second one. WHICH IS WHY I REALLY WANT THE STUDIO RECORDING OF IT. Damn whoever decides which song to release as a single! (Unless it's David himself, in which case...why? *falls to her knees and cries* I don't have the heart to ever scold David.)

OKAY great no ArchuBot shock boot this week. Ugh. David!!!!! I'm so worried oh my god.

***

Edit at 9.25 a.m.:

DAVID IS SAFE.

So relieved right now I haven't got the words for it.

I bet Castro is going home.

This is the LAST TIME I'm ever getting sick with worry over an American Idol contestant. I DON'T CARE. NO MORE IDOL AFTER DAVID COOK.

**

Edit #2 at 10.03 a.m.:

I just watched this week's Ford video to see what people were talking about when they used the words "David Cook", "lime green" and "spandex" in the same sentence.

I BURST OUT LAUGHING. The face is gorgeous, but someone with a body like his should never, EVER be put in Spandex. EVER. Especially not lime green spandex.

But oh my god, this is probably the closest I'd ever get to hearing David sing Johnny Cash, and I had CHILLS. His voice was the only one that could be heard and it was so pretty! Argh, David should've sung Cash's Folsom Prison Blues this week, not fucking Duran Duran!!!!!!!!

Johnny Cash's voice was like, so low! Joaquin Phoenix talked about how his vocal coaches had to get his voice to work in the lowest of his low register when he recorded Cash's songs for "Walk the Line", and David just sang it like it was a walk in the park. DAVID, YOU SHOULD'VE DONE JOHNNY CASH!!!

Also, this was definitely the feed I got in Singapore last night:

UGH I NEED THAT IN HIGH DEFINITION, NOT THE MESSED UP SOUND THE EAST COASTERS GOT!!!

Oh yeah I have the iTunes. But the quality of iTunes videos isn't even THAT great; my pirated HQ TV episodes look so much clearer when I full-screen them. Stupid iTunes.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010