My impossible daydream(s?).
written: 9:51 p.m. on Sunday, Jul. 27, 2008

David Cook is playing in the Philippines in January next year. Oh my god. OH MY GOD. It's one thing not going to the Idols tour, considering it's...the Idols tour, and in the United States, which will cost a freaking bomb to travel to. But the Philippines? It's just across a stretch of water. IT'S IN SOUTHEAST ASIA. First, as a matter of principle, he really shouldn't do the Philippines and not Singapore, considering we're fucking SINGAPORE; but in the very likely event that he doesn't give a shit about our market because we're freaking small-ass Singapore, this basically means that I need to go to the Philippines. Because it's in Southeast Asia. And he's David Cook.

SHIT WHY WHY WHY DO YOU HAVE TO DO THIS TO ME.

Okay, I feel better now, getting that off my chest. But it's like his first post-Idol solo gig and it's in the Philippines. I'm quite pleased that he's aware of how popular he is over there 'cause I was kind of getting the vibe that he didn't really acknowledge his international fans very much, which would suck greatly; but obviously that was utterly ill-conceived on my part and for once, I'm so glad to be proven wrong.

UGH NEED TO GO TO THE PHILIPPINES. I'd totally blow off school for Cookie, thanks.

Stereophonics played in Hong Kong a few days ago and I really wanted to go but of course I didn't. How terrible. I now know all their songs (okay, maybe minus the songs on the Just Enough Education to Perform CD which I don't really like as the vibe is all weird and folks-y) which I didn't when I went to their gig in April, so if I'd gone to the Hong Kong one, it would've been SOOOO much better than the Singapore experience. SO SADZ. I don't even know when they're going to tour again. :(

See? I need to move to London, stat.

**

In other news, I went to look at some flats in Tanjong Pagar with my folks today. Two HDB flats, and the condominium Icon, right next to Tanjong Pagar MRT station.

I think it's pretty obvious why I was interested enough to go. My mom has been looking at flats for investment purposes for a while but I never really gave a shit because...well, I don't really care. But Tanjong Pagar? Sign me up please, because the thought of cramming with the whole of Singapore just to get to work each morning makes me want to do many, many suicidal things. It's not just squeezing with the whole of Singapore plus half the world and thereby subjecting myself to the inevitable body odour and the various diseases and germs that people carry with them; it's also about waking up at 6.45 a.m., just to reach the stupid MRT station at 7.30 a.m. and get to work 45 minute early, all in the name of avoiding cramming in one puny MRT carriage (okay, so our MRT carriages are bigger than the London and Paris ones, but whatever) with the whole of Singapore and 3/4 of the world. Any later than 7.30, and there will be NO WAY IN HELL I'll get to work at all. Seriously.

And don't even talk to me about taking the bus. I took 75 to Shenton Way once and it took an hour, and that was under normal traffic conditions. I just...can't. Can't.

Ergo, having my parents own a shelter in Tanjong Pagar will benefit me greatly. If it all pans out, I'll stay in the Tanjong Pagar house on weekdays and go home on weekends (I still really like my house despite my never-ending bitching about its fucking remote location), and I won't have to cram with ten trillion smelly people every morning. Isn't that great? I think so too, except...

I WANT TO STAY IN THE ICON. IT'S FUCKING NICE. IT'S SWANK IN A WAY THAT I'VE NEVER IMAGINED WAS EVER POSSIBLE IN SINGAPORE, I CAN SEE MY FUTURE WORKPLACE FROM THE HIGH FLOORS, AND IT'S DAMN NICE. The pool is a rooftop pool, the lifts reminded me of those at UOB Plaza, (or is it OUB Plaza? I can't remember), the whole place is just freaking swank. Best of all, I can wake up at 8.30 and still reach the office on time!

The HDB flats are about 8 minutes away from the MRT station and there's nothing wrong with the HDB flats, apart from how they were quite dark and dingy. But I want the Icon. It's damn nice. It's also 2.3 million dollars.

Yep, my parents can totally afford that.

If I had 2.3 million dollars randomly stashed away, I really don't think I'd be living in Singapore right now. In fact, if my parents had that kind of money, I would've made them finance my education in London, way back when I still had the option of quitting law school. I wouldn't even have to stay in the yucky hostel! I could've totally had my own London apartment and got my own King's College London education. ARGHHH.

Well, on the bright side, the Icon agent was really, really cute. He was this Indonesian dude who had very nice dimples, which is definitely not common in pretty much anybody. He spoke English kind of weird though. And I pointed out my future workplace to him while he was showing us an empty apartment on the 40th floor.

Ohmygad I want to stay there. It'd be quite nice if 2 million dropped from the sky and landed in my house right now, which is, yeah, really gonna happen.

Lastly, I am damn fat. I need to swim regularly and stop being lazy. I'm also extremely sick of, like, my entire wardrobe. Yup.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010