In a funk.
written: 10:50 p.m. on Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2008

First, I'd like to go on record saying that I'm pissed that not a single local channel is airing the gold medal tennis match of the Olympics. Why do I care, right? Because I like looking at Roger Federer and it's almost a given that he's going to make it to the finals. AND I WANT TO WATCH. The match is finally not on a weekday, so initially I was all stoked thinking I'd get to watch it...BUT I CAN'T. What the fuck am I paying StarHub for? Six channels dedicated to the Olympics, NOT A SINGLE ONE SHOWING THE MEN'S TENNIS FINALS.

WHAT THE FUCK IS THIS FUCKERY. He's ROGER FEDERER, thank you very much, and he's pretty and I want to watch omggggg.

As for HD5 and MediaCorp, I won't even bother with their shit.

Honestly, who watches table tennis? Apart from the whole Singapore is competing thing (which...no, I don't care, she's not Singaporean), it's just utterly boring and not interesting to watch - at all. The same can be said for tennis, which is why I'm only interested in Roger's matches. Since he's World #1 as of right now (I think? When's Nadal taking over? So sad omg), it should only make sense to air his matches! Unbelievable, this fuckery is.

If they screw me over for the basketball finals, I'm going be so pissed, StarHub totally wouldn't know what has hit it.

I didn't even plan on watching the Olympics at first, but my mom just had to subscribe to the channels 'cause I allegedly said that I wanted to watch the opening ceremony; and now I actually want to watch some of it...AND I CAN'T. I hate this.

Must watch athletics though. I hope Liu Xiang takes gold again for hurdles, though it's quite unlikely. Sigh.

**

On another note, I don't seem to have comprehended, at all, the fact that school has started. I haven't prepared for a single class so far, which is (as far as memory serves) unprecedented for my time in law school so far. Maybe it's the taking two intensive modules thing (which means having classes from 6.30 p.m. to 9.30 p.m. every day); by the time I get home, I'm tired and drained that I literally don't want to do anything but sit in front of the TV and stare at it.

But then, I did two intensives last semester too, and I remember making some effort to prepare for classes last semester. It's been 3 days of school and I haven't been motivated to prepare for classes at all.

And now my head hurts and I don't feel like continuing with this entry 'cause there's really not much else to say. I could talk about how I keep forgetting to think about whether or not to do my extra four credits this semester or the next semester, but...yeah, I keep forgetting to think about it, and I'm too tired to go into great lengths about the stupid thorny issue.

Well, there is ONE semi-interesting thing to say. In State Building today Prof C was talking about nation building and the difference between a state and a nation, and invariably he mentioned the National Day Parade. He asked what the purpose of NDP is. Someone said it was to show our former colonial masters (I prefer the word 'rulers'; I cannot stand the subjugation and subservience implicit in the word 'master'. Have I mentioned I hate, HATE colonialism? Hated it, still hate it, will always hate it) our military prowess and our ability to defend ourselves. Prof C accepted the point, then asked if there was any other purpose to the NDP.

I was all, "It's meant to foster a sense of patriotism...um, among those who...watch the NDP."

The hesitation in my answer wasn't me trying to think of an answer; it was me stopping myself before I said what was actually in my head, namely, "It's meant to foster a sense of patriotism amongst those of us stupid enough to buy into this bullshit."

He accepted the patriotism thing, talked about how it might sometimes spiral into dangerous nationalism (citing China, of course), then asked what people thought of the NDP.

It was all I could do not to open my mouth and say, "It's hilarious. I used to watch it for the laugh factor; now I can't be bothered because it's so generic and predictable that it's failing to amuse anymore - which is sad."

Eventually a foreign Masters student answered and said that it was 'fascinating'. How cute.

In all honesty, I only answered that question because I hadn't done my readings and I didn't want to risk being called on to answer questions later on in the class - which was what happened to me on Monday during UN Law (same professor). It was about whether we'd pass the July 08 UN resolution on Darfur. I had no idea what the fuck to say so I said some shit which was shit and it was shit.

I hate class participation omg.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010