Roger Federer continues to be a great source of distraction.
written: 5:36 p.m. on Monday, Sept. 08, 2008

So Andy really did it. He beat Rafa to meet my darling Roger in the final. They're playing at 5 p.m. EST which converts to Tuesday 5 a.m. and I have already decided to sleep immediately after I watch the Murray/Nadal match and wake up at 5 to watch Roger clinch his fifth consecutive US Open title.

At the same time, I must say that I'm really nervous for him. Andy Murray apparently has a knack for alternating drop shots and long shots and confusing the shit out of his opponent, and the fact that he beat Rafael Nadal (who has defeated Roger 5 out of 6 times, most notably in this year's Wimbledon final. BOO! HOW DEPRESSING! TMF could've had six Wimbledons, dammit!) shows that he's definitely a force to be reckoned with. On the one hand, I'm glad it's not Nadal 'cause I don't think I can bear TMF losing to him again; but on the other, I have a feeling that Murray isn't going to be as easy an opponent as I expected him to be. Therefore, I'm watching the Murray/Nadal match to size up the competition, even if it's a tad late for that.

I just might scare myself with thoughts of Roger losing to Andy though. Roger has so much at stake here! His only Grand Slam win of the year (in contrast to him winning three Grand Slams the previous few years), his 13th Grand Slam title which would make him one short of the record, 14, and his fifth consecutive US Open! He may be the only person to have five Wimbledons and US Opens (citation needed)!

Also? This must be the longest list, like, ever.

I still can't believe it isn't a Federer v. Nadal final I'll be watching. NO WAI!

I feel bad for Nadal though. It must suck to lose to the sixth seed when you're the first seed. It must suck to lose, period, when you exude fighting spirit and determination the way Rafael Nadal does. He's actually the same age as me and I can't imagine what it's like to be in a position where you effectively took away the title of World #1 from the World #1, then went on to lose in the US Open semi-finals against some British upstart who doesn't have the same accomplishments as you.

Andy's only 21 actually, and so is Djokovic, so Roger's the oldest semi-finalist. But he's the most experienced, and he's the one they've been calling the best tennis player ever. Andy may have a few tricks up his sleeve, but so does Roger. I'm quite confident that, as long as he keeps a lid on those unforced errors and plays the way he did against Djokovic, but even better, as long as he continues to serve the way he does and fire those aces across the court, I'm quite confident that he can, and will, win.

***

In other news, I'm currently very sleepy and I hate Mondays. Today has been largely melancholic bordering on depressing.

I have come to realise that I have a tendency to escape from my problems and the things that I really need to face and focus all my energy and attention on subsidiary interests and fancies. Right now it's Roger Federer, tennis and the US Open; when that ends, I don't know what I'll have anymore. I'll be left alone with my thoughts, without a formidable and wholly absorbing distraction. And I quite honestly don't know what I'd do then.

Oh well, it's 6 p.m. Time to size up FedEx's competition!

(PS. TMF = The Man Fed.)

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010