Try to leave a light on when I'm gone.
written: 2:31 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2008

David's new single is out.

My honest opinion? It sounds like Daughtry. I even thought of Nickelback when I was first listening to it. Daughtry and Nickelback are the two acts that I valiantly and fervently defended David against during his Idol run (meaning: DAVID SOUNDED NOTHING LIKE THEM OMG ARE YOU DEAF YOU IDIOT) and I really thought that he was above that kind of generic pop-rock nonsense.

Then I found out that David didn't write the song, that the song was produced by the same guy that produces Green Day and Kid Rock, and it all made sense.

And yet, despite the Daughtry similarities, I can't hate the song. In fact? I even like it. Actually? I'd go as far as to say that I flove it. David has what Daughtry doesn't: A strong, powerful voice that can sell you (me) anything, even the most generic, run-of-the-mill pop-rock shit like Light On unfortunately is. The first thing that I loved about David wasn't his music, but his voice; it just so happened that I completely loved his music, too. I honestly don't know what I was expecting from his first post-Idol, non-Idol single because I haven't been thinking about David for a while now, so now that it's finally here...I'll take it, thanks.

Oh, I just read that Chris Cornell co-wrote it. WTF? And I never knew that Soundgarden/Chris Cornell can ever belong in the same sentence as Nickelback.

Oh help me. Stereophonics has spoiled me. It's time I got caught up with American rock.

On second thought - no. Just...no.

In other wonderful news, I totally bought my tickets for the exhibition match. I'm waiting for confirmation now. Hopefully nothing screws up or I'll be very, very angry.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010